
Annual List of Rulemaking Activity 
Rules Adopted January 1, 2023 to December 31, 2023 

Prepared by the Secretary of State pursuant to 5 MRS §8053-A(5) 
 

Agency name: Department of Professional and Financial Regulation, 
Bureau of Consumer Protection 

Umbrella-Unit: 02-030 
Statutory authority: 32 M.R.S. §§ 6133(3) and 6133(4) 
Chapter number/title:  Ch. 701, Establishment of License and Renewal Fees for Maine’s 

Check Cashier/Currency Exchanger Registration and Requirement 
for Registration Through the Nationwide Multi-State Licensing 
System (NMLS) 

Filing number: 2023-091 
Effective date:  6/25/2023 
Type of rule: Routine Technical 
Emergency rule:  No 
 
Principal reason or purpose for rule: 
The rule is proposed to effectuate recent changes to 32 M.R.S. §6131 et seq. allowing the 
Bureau of Consumer Credit Protection to require registration of check cashers and foreign 
currency exchangers through the Nationwide Multistate Licensing System (NMLS), to 
establish, by rule, fees for initial registration and renewal of such registrations and to 
establish by rule the requirements for application. The Bureau needs to establish the fees by 
this rule as recent changes to the Act removed statutorily established fees. 
  
Basis statement: 
The purpose of this Chapter is to permit the State of Maine to utilize NMLS for registration of 
all check casher/currency exchangers. NMLS is a platform established by the Conference of 
State Bank Supervisors (CSBS) and the American Association of Residential Mortgage 
Regulators (AARMR) in response to the mortgage crisis in 2009. The system has grown from 
licensing mortgage loan originators and mortgage lenders to licensing a variety of business 
types which operate on a national or regional basis. Use of the system will provide improved 
oversight over the activities of the companies, will simplify recordkeeping, and will standardize 
processes for all check casher/currency exchangers registered in Maine. 
 
Fiscal impact of rule:  
There will be a minor impact on the Bureau in that revenues from fees should increase slightly 
as license and renewal fees for the principal license will increase by $50 per year. The fee for 
additional business locations will remain unchanged. 
 
Licensees will be impacted by the $50 per year increase in principal location licensing fees and 
annual fees charged by NMLS for licensing through the system. The NMLS fees are currently 
$100 for the principal license and $20 for each additional location. 
 
  



Annual List of Rulemaking Activity 
Rules Adopted January 1, 2023 to December 31, 2023 

Prepared by the Secretary of State pursuant to 5 MRS §8053-A(5) 
 

Agency name: Department of Professional and Financial Regulation, 
Bureau of Consumer Protection 

Umbrella-Unit: 02-030 
Statutory authority: 32 MRS. § 14053 
Chapter number/title:  Ch. 702, Establishment of Registration and Renewal Fees and 

Application Requirements for Maine’s Employee Leasing Company 
Registration and Requirement for Registration Through the 
Nationwide Multistate Licensing System (NMLS) 

Filing number: 2023-137 
Effective date:  9/2/2023 
Type of rule: Routine Technical 
Emergency rule:  No 
 
Principal reason or purpose for rule: 
The rule is proposed to effectuate recent changes to 32 M.R.S. $14051 et seq, allowing the 
Bureau of Consumer Credit Protection to require registration of employee leasing companies 
through the Nationwide Multistate Licensing System (NMLS), to set registration requirements, 
and to establish, by rule, fees for initial registration and renewal of such registrations. 
 
Basis statement: 
This Chapter makes the modifications necessary to transition registration of all employee 
leasing companies currently registered by the State of Maine to a multi-state system 
administered by the Nationwide Multistate Licensing System (NMLS). As authorized by law, 
this Chapter establishes an annual registration effective from January I through December 31 
of each year and sets application fees, renewal fees, and application requirements for employee 
leasing companies. The rule requires applicants for new registrations to apply to NMLS as of 
the effective date of this rule and requires employee leasing companies currently registered in 
Maine to transition to NMLS. 
 
Use of the system will provide improved oversight over the activities of the registered 
companies, will simplify recordkeeping, and standardize processes for all employee leasing 
companies registered in Maine. 
 
Fiscal impact of rule:  
There will be a minor impact on the Bureau in that revenues from fees should increase slightly as 
renewal fees will increase by $100 per year. The fee for initial registration will remain unchanged. 
Registrants will be impacted by the $100.00 per year increase in renewal fees and an annual fee 
charged by NMLS for registration through the system. The annual NMLS fee is currently $100.00. 
  



Annual List of Rulemaking Activity 
Rules Adopted January 1, 2023 to December 31, 2023 

Prepared by the Secretary of State pursuant to 5 MRS §8053-A(5) 
 

Agency name: Department of Professional and Financial Regulation, 
Bureau of Consumer Protection 

Umbrella-Unit: 02-030 
Statutory authority: 10 M.R.S. § 1396(2) 
Chapter number/title:  Ch. 703, Establishment of Fees and Application Requirements for 

Maine’s Exchange Facilitator Licensing 
Filing number: 2023-138 
Effective date:  9/2/2023 
Type of rule: Routine Technical 
Emergency rule:  No 
 
Principal reason or purpose for rule: 
The rule is proposed to effectuate recent changes to 10 M.R.S. §1395 et seq. allowing the 
Bureau of Consumer Credit Protection to establish, by rule, fees for initial licensing and 
renewal of such licenses and to amend the license term. The rule also establishes the 
application requirements for such license. 
  
Basis statement: 
The purpose of this Chapter is to change the license term for exchange facilitators in order to 
standardize licensing terms for activities licensed by the Bureau, to set fees for initial and 
renewal licensing, and to establish the requirements for applications. This Chapter establishes 
by rule licensing and application requirements which were previously established by statute 
and order. 
 
Fiscal impact of rule:  
There will be a minor impact on the Bureau in that revenues from fees should increase slightly 
as renewal fees for the principal license will increase by $50 per year. The fee for additional 
business locations will remain unchanged. 
 
Licensees will be impacted by the $50 per year increase in principal location licensing fees. 
  



Annual List of Rulemaking Activity 
Rules Adopted January 1, 2023 to December 31, 2023 

Prepared by the Secretary of State pursuant to 5 MRS §8053-A(5) 
 

Agency name: Department of Professional and Financial Regulation, 
Bureau of Consumer Protection 

Umbrella-Unit: 02-030 
Statutory authority: 10 M.R.S. § 1310-A(G) 
Chapter number/title:  Ch. 704, Establishment of License and Renewal Fees and Licensing 

Requirements for Maine’s Fair Credit Reporting Act Licensing and 
Requirement of Licensing Through the Nationwide Multistate 
Licensing System (NMLS) 

Filing number: 2023-092 
Effective date:  6/25/2023 
Type of rule: Routine Technical 
Emergency rule:  No 
 
Principal reason or purpose for rule: 
See basis statement. 
   
Basis statement: 
The purpose of this Chapter is to permit the State of Maine to utilize the Nationwide Multistate 
Licensing System (NMLS) for registration of all Credit Reporting Agencies (CRAs). NMLS is a 
platform established by the Conference of State Bank Supervisors and the American 
Association of Residential Mortgage Regulators in response to the mortgage crisis in 2009. The 
system has grown from licensing mortgage loan originators and mortgage lenders to licensing 
and registering a variety of business types which operate on a national or regional basis. Use 
of the system will provide improved oversight over the activities of the companies, will simplify 
recordkeeping, and will standardize processes for all Credit Reporting Agencies registered in 
Maine. 
 
Fiscal impact of rule:  
There will be no impact on the Bureau in that fees will be unchanged. 
 
Licensees will be impacted by the annual fee charged by NMLS for licensing through the 
system, currently $100. 
 
 

  



Annual List of Rulemaking Activity 
Rules Adopted January 1, 2023 to December 31, 2023 

Prepared by the Secretary of State pursuant to 5 MRS §8053-A(5) 
 

 
Agency name: Department of Professional and Financial Regulation, 

Bureau of Consumer Protection 
Umbrella-Unit: 02-030 
Statutory authority: 32 M.R.S. §11031(2) 
Chapter number/title:  Ch. 705, Establishment of License and Renewal Fees and 

Application Requirements for Maine’s Debt Collector Licensing and 
Requirement of Licensing Through the Nationwide Multistate 
Licensing System (NMLS) 

Filing number: 2023-093 
Effective date:  6/25/2023 
Type of rule: Routine Technical 
Emergency rule:  No 
 
Principal reason or purpose for rule: 
The rule is proposed to effectuate recent changes to 32 M.R.S. §11001 et seq. allowing the 
Bureau of Consumer Credit Protection to require licensing of debt collectors through the 
Nationwide Multistate Licensing System (NMLS) and to establish, by rule, fees for initial 
licensing and renewal of such licenses. 
and to establish application requirements. 
 
   
Basis statement: 
The purpose of this Chapter is to permit the State of Maine to utilize NMLS for licensing of all 
debt collectors. NMLS is a platform established by the Conference of State Bank Supervisors 
and the American Association of Residential Mortgage Regulators in response to the mortgage 
crisis in 2009. The system has grown from licensing mortgage loan originators and mortgage 
lenders to licensing a variety of business types which operate on a national or regional basis. 
Use of the system will provide improved oversight over the activities of the companies, will 
simplify recordkeeping, and will standardize processes for all debt collectors licensed in Maine. 
 
Fiscal impact of rule:  
There will be a minor impact on the Bureau in that revenues from fees should increase as license 
and renewal fees for the principal license will increase by $100 per year. The fee for branch 
locations will increase by $50 per year. 
 
Licensees will be impacted by the $100 per year increase in principal location licensing fees, the 
$50 per year increase in branch location fees, and the annual fee charged by the NMLS for 
licensing through the system, currently $100 for the principal license and $20 for each 
additional location. 
 
  



Annual List of Rulemaking Activity 
Rules Adopted January 1, 2023 to December 31, 2023 

Prepared by the Secretary of State pursuant to 5 MRS §8053-A(5) 
 

Agency name: Department of Professional and Financial Regulation, 
Bureau of Consumer Protection 

Umbrella-Unit: 02-030 
Statutory authority: 32 M.R.S. § 6173 
Chapter number/title:  Ch. 706, Establishment of Registration and Renewal Fees and 

Application Requirements for Maine’s Debt Management Service 
Provider Registration and Requirements for Registration Through 
the Nationwide Multistate Licensing System (NMLS) 

Filing number: 2023-139 
Effective date:  9/2/2023 
Type of rule: Routine Technical 
Emergency rule:  No 
 
Principal reason or purpose for rule: 
The rule is proposed to effectuate recent changes to 32 M.RS. $ 6171 et seq. allowing the 
Bureau of Consumer Credit Protection to require registration of debt management service 
providers through the Nationwide Multistate Licensing System (NMLS) and to establish, by 
rule, fees for initial registration and renewal of such registrations and the application 
requirements. 
 
Basis statement: 
This Chapter makes the modifications necessary to transition registration of all debt 
management service providers currently registered by the State of Maine to a multi-state 
system administered by the Nationwide Multi-state Licensing System (NMLS). As authorized by 
law, this Chapter establishes an annual registration effective from January 1 through 
December 31 of each year and sets application and renewal fees and application requirements 
for debt management service providers. The rule requires applicants for new registrations to 
apply to NMLS as of November 1, 2023 and requires debt management service providers 
currently registered in Maine to transition to NMLS. 
 
Use of the system will provide improved oversight over the activities of the companies, will 
simplify recordkeeping, and will standardize processes for all debt management service 
providers registered in Maine. 
 
Fiscal impact of rule:  
There should be no impact on the Bureau in that fees will remain unchanged. 
 
Registrants will be impacted by the annual fee charged by NMLS for registration through the 
system. currently $100.00 for a main office and $20,00 per year for branch offices. 
  



Annual List of Rulemaking Activity 
Rules Adopted January 1, 2023 to December 31, 2023 

Prepared by the Secretary of State pursuant to 5 MRS §8053-A(5) 
 

Agency name: Department of Professional and Financial Regulation, 
Bureau of Consumer Protection 

Umbrella-Unit: 02-030 
Statutory authority: 9-A M.R.S. § 10-201(4), 9-A M.R.S. § 6-105-A(l) 
Chapter number/title:  Ch. 707, Establishment of License and Renewal Fees 

and Application Requirements for Maine's Loan 
Broker Licensing and Requirement for Licensing 
Through the Nationwide Multistate Licensing System 
(NMLS) 

Filing number: 2023-140 
Effective date:  9/2/2023 
Type of rule: Routine Technical 
Emergency rule:  No 
 
Principal reason or purpose for rule: 
The rule is proposed to effectuate recent changes to 9-A M.R.S. § 10-101 et seq. allowing the 
Bureau of Consumer Credit Protection to require licensing of all loan brokers through the 
Nationwide Multistate Licensing System (NMLS) and to establish, by rule, fees for initial 
licensing and renewal of such licenses and application requirements. 
 
Basis statement: 
This Chapter will allow the State of Maine to utilize NMLS for the licensing of all loan brokers. 
Many companies are licensed in more than one state. Use of the system will provide improved 
oversight over the activities of the companies, simplify recordkeeping, and standardize 
processes for all loan brokers licensed in Maine. This Chapter also establishes requirements 
for application for licensing and sets fees for initial and renewal licensing. 
 
Fiscal impact of rule:  
There will be a minor impact on the Bureau in that revenues from fees should increase slightly 
as renewal fees for the principal license will increase by $50 per year and by $25 per year for a 
branch. 
 
Licensees will be impacted by the increase in renewal fees and the annual fee charged by NMLS 
for licensing through the system, currently $100 for the principal license and $20 for each 
additional location. 
  



Annual List of Rulemaking Activity 
Rules Adopted January 1, 2023 to December 31, 2023 

Prepared by the Secretary of State pursuant to 5 MRS §8053-A(5) 
 

Agency name: Department of Professional and Financial Regulation, 
Bureau of Consumer Protection 

Umbrella-Unit: 02-030 
Statutory authority: 9-A M.R.S. §13-103, §13-104, §13-110, §13-119 
Chapter number/title:  Ch. 708, Amendment of License and Renewal Fees for Maine’s 

Mortgage Loan Originator Licensing Through the Nationwide 
Multistate Licensing System (NMLS) 

Filing number: 2023-094 
Effective date:  6/25/2023 
Type of rule: Routine Technical 
Emergency rule:  No 
 
Principal reason or purpose for rule: 
The rule is proposed to establish, by rule, amended fees for initial licensing and renewal of 
licenses as a mortgage loan originator. The current fees are unchanged since 2013 and a fee of 
$20 per year does not adequately cover the expense involved in granting the initial license, 
renewing the license yearly and dealing with changes required by filings during the year. 
   
Basis statement: 
The purpose of this Chapter is to amend the current licensing and renewal fees for mortgage 
loan originators to reflect the cost of processing to the Bureau. The original fee of $20.00 was 
set when Article 13 was added to Title 9-A M.R.S., the Maine Consumer Credit Code. That fee 
does not adequately cover the cost to the Bureau for processing applications or renewals and 
information reported or changed during the license period. 
 
Fiscal impact of rule:  
There will be a significant impact on the Bureau in that revenues from fees should increase as 
license and renewal fees for the principal license will increase from $20 to $80 per year. 
Licensees will be impacted by the $60 per year increase in licensing fees. 
 
 
  



Annual List of Rulemaking Activity 
Rules Adopted January 1, 2023 to December 31, 2023 

Prepared by the Secretary of State pursuant to 5 MRS §8053-A(5) 
 

Agency name: Department of Professional and Financial Regulation, 
Bureau of Consumer Protection 

Umbrella-Unit: 02-030 
Statutory authority: 32 M.R.S. §6103(4) 
Chapter number/title:  Ch. 709, Establishment of License and Renewal Fees and 

Application Requirements for Maine’s Money Transmitter Licensing 
and Requirements for Licensing Through the Nationwide Multistate 
Licensing System (NMLS) 

Filing number: 2023-095 
Effective date:  6/25/2023 
Type of rule: Routine Technical 
Emergency rule:  No 
 
Principal reason or purpose for rule: 
The rule is proposed to effectuate recent changes to 32 M.R.S. $6101 et seq. allowing the 
Bureau of Consumer Credit Protection to require licensing of money transmitters through the 
Nationwide Multistate Licensing System (NMLS) and to establish, by rule, fees for initial 
licensing and renewal of such licenses and to establish by rule the requirements for 
application. 
 
   
Basis statement: 
The purpose of this Chapter is to permit the State of Maine to use NMLS for licensing of all 
money transmitters. NMLS is a platform established by the Conference of State Bank 
Supervisors and the American Association of Residential Mortgage Regulators in response to 
the mortgage crisis in 2009. The system has grown from licensing mortgage loan originators 
and mortgage lenders to licensing a variety of business types which operate on a national or 
regional basis. Use of the system will provide improved oversight over the activities of the 
companies and will simplify recordkeeping and standardize processes for all money 
transmitters licensed in Maine. 
 
Fiscal impact of rule:  
There will be no impact on the Bureau in that fees will be unchanged. Licensees not currently 
using the NMLS voluntarily will be impacted by the annual fee charged by the NMLS for 
licensing through the system, currently $100. 
  



Annual List of Rulemaking Activity 
Rules Adopted January 1, 2023 to December 31, 2023 

Prepared by the Secretary of State pursuant to 5 MRS §8053-A(5) 
 

Agency name: Department of Professional and Financial Regulation, 
Bureau of Consumer Protection 

Umbrella-Unit: 02-030 
Statutory authority: 10 M.R.S. § 1495-D(1-A) 
Chapter number/title:  Ch. 710, Establishment of License and Renewal Fees and 

Application Requirements for Maine’s Payroll Processor Licensing 
and Requirement for Licensing Through the Nationwide Multistate 
Licensing System (NMLS) 

Filing number: 2023-141 
Effective date:  9/2/2023 
Type of rule: Routine Technical 
Emergency rule:  No 
 
Principal reason or purpose for rule: 
The rule is proposed to effectuate recent changes to 10 MR.S. $ 1495 et seq. allowing the Bureau 
of Consumer Credit Protection to require licensing of payroll processors through the Nationwide 
Multistate Licensing System (NMLS) and to establish, by rule, fees for initial licensing and 
renewal of such licenses and the requirements for application. 
  
Basis statement: 
The purpose of this Chapter is to permit the State of Maine to use the NMLS for licensing of all 
payroll processors. Use of the system will provide improved oversight over the activities of the 
licensed companies and will simplify recordkeeping and standardize processes for all payroll 
processors licensed in Maine. This Chapter does not modify the standards for licensing or the 
applicability of the provisions of the Maine Payroll Processor Act, but rather sets forth the 
licensing provisions to be utilized henceforth by the Bureau. 
 
Fiscal impact of rule:  
There will be a minor impact on the Bureau in that revenues from fees should increase 
slightly, as license and renewal fees for the license will increase by $100.00 per year. 
 
Licensees will be impacted by the $100 per year increase in licensing fees and the annual fee 
charged by the NMLS for licensing through the system, currently $100.00. 
  



Annual List of Rulemaking Activity 
Rules Adopted January 1, 2023 to December 31, 2023 

Prepared by the Secretary of State pursuant to 5 MRS §8053-A(5) 
 

Agency name: Department of Professional and Financial Regulation, 
Bureau of Consumer Protection 

Umbrella-Unit: 02-030 
Statutory authority: 9-A M.R.S. § 2-302(1); 9-A M.R.S. § 6-105-A 
Chapter number/title:  Ch. 711, Establishment of License and Renewal Fees and 

Application Requirements for Maine’s Supervised Lenders and 
Requirement for Licensing of all Supervised Lenders Through the 
Nationwide Multistate Licensing System (NMLS) 

Filing number: 2023-142 
Effective date:  9/2/2023 
Type of rule: Routine Technical 
Emergency rule:  No 
 
Principal reason or purpose for rule: 
The rule is proposed to effectuate recent changes to 9-A M.R.S. $ 2-301 et seq. allowing the 
Bureau of Consumer Credit Protection to require licensing of all supervised lenders through 
the Nationwide Multistate Licensing System (NMLS) and to establish, by rule, fees for initial 
licensing and renewal of such licenses. It also establishes by rule the requirements for 
application. 
 
Basis statement: 
This Chapter will permit the State of Maine to utilize NMLS for the licensing of all supervised 
lenders. Use of the system will provide improved oversight over the activities of the companies 
and will simplify recordkeeping and standardize processes for all supervised lenders licensed 
in Maine. This chapter also establishes application requirements and fees for initial and 
renewal licensing. 
 
Fiscal impact of rule:  
There will be a minor impact on the Bureau in that fees will remain unchanged. 
 
Licensees not currently licensed through NMLS will be impacted by the annual fee charged by 
NMLS for licensing through the system, currently $100.00 for the principal license and $20.00 
for each additional location. 
  



Annual List of Rulemaking Activity 
Rules Adopted January 1, 2023 to December 31, 2023 

Prepared by the Secretary of State pursuant to 5 MRS §8053-A(5) 
 

Agency name: Department of Professional and Financial Regulation, 
Bureau of Consumer Protection 

Umbrella-Unit: 02-030 
Statutory authority: 32 M.R.S. § 6193 
Chapter number/title:  Ch. 712, Establishment of License and Renewal Fees and 

Application Requirements for Maine’s Foreclosure Purchaser 
Licensing 

Filing number: 2023-143 
Effective date:  9/2/2023 
Type of rule: Routine Technical 
Emergency rule:  No 
 
Principal reason or purpose for rule: 
The rule is proposed to effectuate recent changes to 32 M.R.S. § 6191 et seq. allowing the Bureau 
of Consumer Credit Protection to establish, by rule, fees for initial licensing and renewal of such 
licenses, the terms of such licenses, and the requirements for application. 
  
Basis statement: 
The purpose of this Chapter is to establish requirements for information and documentation to 
be submitted by applicants for a license and to set fees for new and renewal license 
applications. 
 
Fiscal impact of rule:  
There should be a no impact on the Bureau or licensees, in that fees will remain unchanged. 
  



Annual List of Rulemaking Activity 
Rules Adopted January 1, 2023 to December 31, 2023 

Prepared by the Secretary of State pursuant to 5 MRS §8053-A(5) 
 

Agency name: Department of Professional and Financial Regulation, 
Bureau of Consumer Protection 

Umbrella-Unit: 02-030 
Statutory authority: 10 M.R.S. § 1500-H(6-A) 
Chapter number/title:  Ch. 713, Establishment of Registration and Renewal Fees and 

Application Requirements for Maine’s Guaranteed Asset Protection 
Waiver Administrators and Requirement for Registration Through 
the Nationwide Multistate Licensing System (NMLS) 

Filing number: 2023-144 
Effective date:  9/2/2023 
Type of rule: Routine Technical 
Emergency rule:  No 
 
Principal reason or purpose for rule: 
The rule is proposed to effectuate recent changes to 10 M.R.S. § 1500-H allowing the Bureau of 
Consumer Credit Protection to establish, by rule, fees for initial registration and renewal of 
registrations for Maine guaranteed asset protection waiver administrators and to set requirements for 
registration application. It makes the modifications necessary to transition registration of all 
guaranteed asset protection waiver administrators currently registered by the State of Maine to a 
multi-state system administered by the Nationwide Multistate Licensing System (NMLS). It establishes 
an annual registration effective from January 1 through December 31 of each year and sets 
application and renewal fees and application requirements. The rule requires applicants for new 
registrations to apply to NMLS as of the effective date of this rule and requires guaranteed asset 
protection waiver administrators currently registered in Maine to transition to NMLS. 
  
Basis statement: 
This Chapter will permit the State of Maine to use NMLS for registration of all guaranteed 
asset protection waiver administrators. Use of the system will provide improved oversight over 
the activities of the entities and will simplify recordkeeping and standardize processes for all 
guaranteed asset protection waiver administrators registered in Maine. This Chapter does not 
modify the standards for registration or the applicability of the provisions of the Maine 
Guaranteed Asset Protection Waivers Act, 10 M.R.S. $ 1500-HI, but rather sets forth the 
registration requirements to be utilized henceforth by the Bureau. 
 
Fiscal impact of rule:  
There will be a financial impact on the Bureau, in that revenues from fees should increase 
because application fees will increase from $20.00 to $200.00, and renewal fees will increase 
from $20.00 to $150.00. 
 
Registrants will be impacted by the increase in initial application and renewal fees, as well as 
the annual fee charged by NMLS for licensing through the system, currently $100.00. 
  



Annual List of Rulemaking Activity 
Rules Adopted January 1, 2023 to December 31, 2023 

Prepared by the Secretary of State pursuant to 5 MRS §8053-A(5) 
 

Agency name: Department of Professional and Financial Regulation, 
Bureau of Consumer Protection 

Umbrella-Unit: 02-030 
Statutory authority: 9-A M.R.S. § 12-106(2) 
Chapter number/title:  Ch. 714, Establishment of Registration and Renewal Fees and 

Registration Requirements for Maine Legal Funding Providers 
Filing number: 2023-145 
Effective date:  9/2/2023 
Type of rule: Routine Technical 
Emergency rule:  No 
 
Principal reason or purpose for rule: 
The rule is proposed to effectuate recent changes to 9-AMR.S. $12-101 et seq. allowing the 
Bureau of Consumer Credit Protection to establish, by rule, fees for initial registration and 
renewal of such registration, application requirements and to establish a registration term 
matching the term of registration for other entities registered by the Bureau. 
   
Basis statement: 
This Chapter sets by rule the registration provisions to be utilized henceforth by the Bureau 
and establishes fees for registration as a Legal Funding Provider. 
 
Fiscal impact of rule:  
There will be a no impact on the Bureau or registrants, in that foes will remain unchanged. 
 
  



Annual List of Rulemaking Activity 
Rules Adopted January 1, 2023 to December 31, 2023 

Prepared by the Secretary of State pursuant to 5 MRS §8053-A(5) 
 

Agency name: Department of Professional and Financial Regulation, 
Bureau of Consumer Protection 

Umbrella-Unit: 02-030 
Statutory authority: 10 M.R.S. § 1400-B(1) 
Chapter number/title:  Ch. 715, Establishment of Registration and Renewal Fees and 

Registration Requirements for Maine Residential Real Estate 
Settlement Agency Registration and Requirement for Registration 
Through the Multistate Licensing System (NMLS) 

Filing number: 2023-146 
Effective date:  9/2/2023 
Type of rule: Routine Technical 
Emergency rule:  No 
 
Principal reason or purpose for rule: 
The rule is proposed to effectuate recent changes to 10 M.R.S. $1400-A et seq. allowing the 
Bureau of Consumer Credit Protection to require registration of residential real estate 
settlement agencies through the Nationwide Multistate Licensing System (NMLS) and to 
establish, by rule, fees for initial registration and renewal of such registrations. It also 
establishes, by rule, the requirements for application. 
 
Basis statement: 
This Chapter will permit the State of Maine to utilize NMLS for the registration of all 
settlement agencies. Use of the system will provide improved oversight over the activities of the 
entities and will simplify recordkeeping and standardize processes for all settlement agencies 
registered in Maine. This Chapter sets forth the registration application requirements to be 
utilized henceforth by the Bureau and sets initial and renewal registration. 
fees. 
 
Fiscal impact of rule:  
There will be a minor impact on the Bureau, in that revenues from fees should increase slightly 
as renewal fees for main offices will increase by $75.00 per year and for branches will increase 
by $50.00 per year. Fees for initial applications will increase by $75.00 for the main license and 
$50.00 for branch licenses. 
 
Registrants will be impacted by the increase in the initial application fee and increase in renewal 
fees and the annual fee charged by NMLS for registration through the system, currently $100.00 
for main location and $20.00 for branch locations. 
 


