
Annual List of Rule-Making Activity 

Rules Adopted January 1, 2016 to December 31, 2016 

Prepared by the Secretary of State, pursuant to 5 MRS §8053-A sub-§5 

 
Agency name: Department of Agriculture, Conservation and Forestry 
Umbrella-Unit: 01-001 
Statutory authority: 7 MRS §3906-B, PL ch. 223 (LD 1023), 127th Maine State 

Legislature, An Act To Revise the Animal Welfare Laws 
Chapter number/title:  Ch. 701, Rules Governing Animal Welfare 
Filing number: 2016-035 
Effective date:  3/12/2016 
Type of rule: Routine Technical 
Emergency rule:  No 
 
Principal reason or purpose for rule: 
 Much needed updates to animal care in animal shelters. 
 

Basis statement: 
 Over the past few years there have been changes to the way animals are kept in 
shelters. New advances in shelter medicine and animal behavior have changed how the 
different problems are solved within the shelter system. These rule changes reflect these 
improvements.  

 Creates new definitions for: Housing facilities, impervious surfaces and 
Veterinarian of Reference 

 Requires all facilities to use their license number on advertisements 

 Improves record keeping for fostering agreements, pharmaceutical records and 
importation records 

 Prevents dangerous animals that are a risk to public safety from being adopted out 

 Changes a solid type of material to an impervious surface 

 Improves controlled substances controls  

 Ensures proper medical waste disposal  

 Ensures isolation areas for imported animals 

 Removes the veterinarian exemption for the rules of animal shelters and boarding 
kennels 

 
Fiscal impact of rule:  
 None. 
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Rules Adopted January 1, 2016 to December 31, 2016 

Prepared by the Secretary of State, pursuant to 5 MRS §8053-A sub-§5 

 
Agency name: Department of Agriculture, Conservation and Forestry 
Umbrella-Unit: 01-001 
Statutory authority: 7 MRS §3154 
Chapter number/title:  Ch. 61, Maine Milk Pool Cost of Administration 
Filing number: 2016-046 
Effective date:  4/11/2016 
Type of rule: Routine Technical 
Emergency rule:  No 
 
Principal reason or purpose for rule: 
 The principal reason for this rule-making is to amend the cost of administering the 
Maine Milk Pool to recover current costs. 
 

Basis statement: 
 Costs incurred for the Maine Milk Pool for personnel services and for operation was 
approximately $59,000 in 2015. Based on the last twelve months expenses, it is estimated 
that the Pool costs for similar expenses for 2016 will be about $59,000.  
 The total pounds in the Pool for the last twelve months (December 2015 - November 
2015) were 591,242,002. It is estimated that the total pounds in the Pool for 2016 will be 
approximately the same.  
 Based on the above projected costs and pounds the Pool Administrator sets the rate per 
hundredweight of milk for the cost of administering the Pool for calendar year 2016 at 
$0.01/cwt.  
 
Fiscal impact of rule:  
 None. 
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Prepared by the Secretary of State, pursuant to 5 MRS §8053-A sub-§5 

 
Agency name: Department of Agriculture, Conservation and Forestry 
Umbrella-Unit: 01-001 
Statutory authority: 7 MRS §2231 
Chapter number/title:  Ch. 274 (New), Rules for Growing Industrial Hemp 
Filing number: 2016-058 
Effective date:  4/4/2016 
Type of rule: Routine Technical 
Emergency rule:  No 
 
Principal reason or purpose for rule: 
 The reason for this rule is that the Department of Agriculture, Conservation & Forestry 
was required to promulgate this rule based on amendments to 7 MRS ch. 406-A §2231 passed 
during the last legislative session. The amendment made it legal to grow hemp in Maine and 

required the Department to establish a program in rule. 
 
Basis statement: 
 In June 2015 changes to Title 7 MRS ch. 406-A §2231, Industrial Hemp, instructed the 
Department to adopt rules establishing guidelines for monitoring the growth and harvest of 
industrial hemp and an application fee, license fee and per acre fees for monitoring, sampling 
and testing industrial hemp crops. The rule presented here was written to comply with this 
legislation. 
 
Fiscal impact of rule:  
 The fiscal impact will depend on the level of participation. This program is required to 
be self- funded, so the intention is to collect adequate fees to run the program. If enough 
growers participate there should be minimal fiscal impact; if not there will be a fiscal impact 
on the Department. 
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Rules Adopted January 1, 2016 to December 31, 2016 

Prepared by the Secretary of State, pursuant to 5 MRS §8053-A sub-§5 

 
Agency name: Department of Agriculture, Conservation and Forestry 
Umbrella-Unit: 01-001 
Statutory authority: 7 MRS ch. 401 §§ 2101-2105; ch. 1 §12; ch. 411 §2352 
Chapter number/title:  Ch. 252, Rules Governing Certification of Seed Potatoes in the State 

of Maine 
Filing number: 2016-097 
Effective date:  5/29/2016 
Type of rule: Routine Technical 
Emergency rule:  No 
 
Principal reason or purpose for rule: 
 The principal reasons for amending this rule are 1) decrease the Field Year eligibility of 
seed to be certified 2) to modify the potato seed certification program’s visual field tolerances 
for blackleg 3) allow the state to do a lab test when conducting the post-harvest test. It will 
also decrease by one Field Year the eligibility of seed to be recertified, but will make it 
allowable for that year’s seed to be sold for table stock or processing use. This change will also 
bring Maine’s program more in line with other states’ programs and improve the chances of 
removing from the system any possible high disease seed related to Pectobacterium spp. or 
Dickeya spp. One additional visual field inspection is proposed focusing on blackleg symptoms 
in an effort to flush out any blackleg diseases, including Dickeya spp., from the system. One 
change would allow for lab testing of post-harvest samples as an alternative to the winter grow 
out in Florida.  
 
Basis statement: 
 This rule change for Ch. 252 - 7 MRS ch. 401 §§ 2101-2105, 7 MRS ch. 1 §12, and 
7 MRS ch. 411 §2352 - came about from input from the Executive Seed Council of the Maine 
Potato board and other industry members in order to address crop losses from the potato 
disease blackleg in the 2014 and 2015 growing seasons in Maine and other states that import 
Maine seed potatoes for the commercial market.  

The changes, including adding a tolerance and third field reading for Blackleg were 
added since the department did not have the authority to regulate this disease under the 
current Ch. 252 rules. Other changes including eliminating field year 6 (FY6) generation 
potatoes from recertification was done to flush out seed more quickly, as seed borne Blackleg 
tends to increase as the seed generations increase.  

Potato disease Y or (PVY) continues to challenge seed growers and affect commercial 
potato production with reduced crop yields. Phasing out the Florida post-harvest test which is 
a visual field test used to identify seed lots for virus and replacing it with a laboratory test in 
the department’s certification lab will produce better, more consistent results for the industry.  
 
Fiscal impact of rule:  

 The Department does not anticipate any significant fiscal impact from the adoption of 
this amendment. 
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Agency name: Department of Agriculture, Conservation and Forestry, Maine Milk 

Commission 
Umbrella-Unit: 01-015 
Statutory authority: 5 MRS §8054; 7 MRS §2954 
Chapter number/title:  Ch. 3, Schedule of Minimum Prices, Order #02-16 
Filing number: 2016-011 
Effective date:  1/31/2016 
Type of rule: Routine Technical 
Emergency rule:  Yes 
 
Principal reason or purpose for rule: 
 The principal reason for this rule is the need to respond to Federal Order changes and 
to certain other conditions affecting prevailing Class I, II and III milk prices in Southern New 

England in accordance with 7 MRS §2954.  
 The final February 2016 minimum Class I price is $16.89/cwt. plus $1.45/cwt. for 
Producer margins and a $1.53/cwt. that reflects premiums being offered and prevailing in 
Southern New England and $4.19/cwt. handling fee for a total of $24.26/cwt., which includes 
a processor assessment of $0.20/cwt. Thus the minimum retail price of a gallon of whole milk 
is set at $3.75.  
 
Basis statement: 
 Pursuant to 5 MRS §8054 and 7 MRS §2954 the Maine Milk Commission conducted an 
emergency rule-making hearing to determine whether or not the minimum price payable to 
producers for milk should be immediately changed due to developments in milk pricing in 
southern New England.  
  
 Federal Order One Northeast Market Administrator announced a Class III price of 
$14.44/cwt. and a Class IV price of $15.52/cwt. for December 2015.  

 
The Class II price for December 2015 is $16.71/cwt. as announced by the 
Federal Order One Northeast Market Administrator.  

  
 The Commission, in setting their minimum prices, recognized the Federal Order Class I 
price of $16.89/cwt. plus $1.45/cwt. for cost of production and an over-order premium 
of $1.53/cwt. as being prevailing in southern New England based on the evidence 
presented at the Commission hearing on January 22, 2016 and therefore should be 
passed on in minimum prices effective January 31, 2016. These prices also include a 
handling fee of $4.19/cwt.  
 The schedule of prices listed herein reflects the latest Class I, Class II, Class III and 
Class IV prices plus the minimum dealer, producer and retail margins adopted by the 

Commission's Orders (DM) Dealer Margins, (PM) Producer Margins, and (RM) Retail Margins. 
The Class I prices reflect a Processor Assessment of $.20/cwt. as authorized by Commission 
Order #93-MPF. Any change in prices at any level from last month reflects the action taken 
today by the Commission for Class I, Class II, Class III and Class IV and Butterfat prices.  
 
Fiscal impact of rule:  
 None. 
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Rules Adopted January 1, 2016 to December 31, 2016 

Prepared by the Secretary of State, pursuant to 5 MRS §8053-A sub-§5 

 
Agency name: Department of Agriculture, Conservation and Forestry, 

Maine Milk Commission 
Umbrella-Unit: 01-015 
Statutory authority: 5 MRS §8054; 7 MRS §2954 
Chapter number/title:  Ch. 3, Schedule of Minimum Prices, Order #03-16 
Filing number: 2016-027 
Effective date:  2/28/2016 
Type of rule: Routine Technical 
Emergency rule:  Yes 
 
Principal reason or purpose for rule: 
 The principal reason for this rule is the need to respond to Federal Order changes and 
to certain other conditions affecting prevailing Class I, II and III milk prices in Southern New 

England in accordance with 7 MRS §2954.  
 The final March 2016 minimum Class I price is $17.03/cwt. plus $1.45/cwt. for 
Producer margins and a $1.53/cwt. that reflects premiums being offered and prevailing in 
Southern New England and $3.72/cwt. handling fee for a total of $23.93/cwt., which includes 
a processor assessment of $0.20/cwt. Thus the minimum retail price of a gallon of whole milk 
is set at $3.70.  
 
Basis statement: 
 Pursuant to 5 MRS §8054 and 7 MRS §2954 the Maine Milk Commission conducted an 
emergency rule-making hearing to determine whether or not the minimum price payable to 
producers for milk should be immediately changed due to developments in milk pricing in 
southern New England.  
  
 Federal Order One Northeast Market Administrator announced a Class III price of 
$13.72/cwt. and a Class IV price of $13.31/cwt. for January 2016.  
 

The Class II price for January 2016 is $14.19/cwt. as announced by the Federal Order 
One Northeast Market Administrator.  

  
 The Commission, in setting their minimum prices, recognized the Federal Order Class I 
price of $17.03/cwt. plus $1.45/cwt. for cost of production and an over-order premium 
of $1.53/cwt. as being prevailing in southern New England based on the evidence 
presented at the Commission hearing on February 19, 2016 and therefore should be 
passed on in minimum prices effective February 28, 2016. These prices also include a 
handling fee of $3.72/cwt.  
  
 The schedule of prices listed herein reflects the latest Class I, Class II, Class III and 

Class IV prices plus the minimum dealer, producer and retail margins adopted by the 
Commission's Orders (DM) Dealer Margins, (PM) Producer Margins, and (RM) Retail Margins. 
The Class I prices reflect a Processor Assessment of $.20/cwt. as authorized by Commission 
Order #93-MPF. Any change in prices at any level from last month reflects the action taken 
today by the Commission for Class I, Class II, Class III and Class IV and Butterfat prices.  
 
Fiscal impact of rule:  
 None. 
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Rules Adopted January 1, 2016 to December 31, 2016 

Prepared by the Secretary of State, pursuant to 5 MRS §8053-A sub-§5 

 
Agency name: Department of Agriculture, Conservation and Forestry, 

Maine Milk Commission 
Umbrella-Unit: 01-015 
Statutory authority: 5 MRS §8054; 7 MRS §2954 
Chapter number/title:  Ch. 3, Schedule of Minimum Prices, Order #04-16 
Filing number: 2016-051 
Effective date:  4/3/2016 
Type of rule: Routine Technical 
Emergency rule:  Yes 
 
Principal reason or purpose for rule: 
 The principal reason for this rule is the need to respond to Federal Order changes and 
to certain other conditions affecting prevailing Class I, II and III milk prices in Southern New 

England in accordance with 7 MRS §2954.  
 The final April 2016 minimum Class I price is $16.99/cwt. plus $1.45/cwt. for Producer 
margins and a $1.53/cwt. that reflects premiums being offered and prevailing in Southern 
New England and $4.19/cwt. handling fee for a total of $24.36/cwt., which includes a 
processor assessment of $0.20/cwt. Thus the minimum retail price of a gallon of whole milk is 
set at $3.74.  
 
Basis statement: 
 Pursuant to 5 MRS §8054 and 7 MRS §2954 the Maine Milk Commission conducted an 
emergency rule-making hearing to determine whether or not the minimum price payable to 
producers for milk should be immediately changed due to developments in milk pricing in 
southern New England.  
  
 Federal Order One Northeast Market Administrator announced a Class III price of 
$13.80/cwt. and a Class IV price of $13.49/cwt. for February 2016.  

 
The Class II price for February 2016 is $14.30/cwt. as announced by the Federal 
Order One Northeast Market Administrator.  

  
 The Commission, in setting their minimum prices, recognized the Federal Order Class I 
price of $16.99/cwt. plus $1.45/cwt. for cost of production and an over-order premium 
of $1.53/cwt. as being prevailing in southern New England based on the evidence 
presented at the Commission hearing on March 24, 2016 and therefore should be passed 
on in minimum prices effective April 3, 2016. These prices also include a handling fee of 
$4.19/cwt.  
 The schedule of prices listed herein reflects the latest Class I, Class II, Class III and 
Class IV prices plus the minimum dealer, producer and retail margins adopted by the 

Commission's Orders (DM) Dealer Margins, (PM) Producer Margins, and (RM) Retail Margins. 
The Class I prices reflect a Processor Assessment of $.20/cwt. as authorized by Commission 
Order #93-MPF. Any change in prices at any level from last month reflects the action taken 
today by the Commission for Class I, Class II, Class III and Class IV and Butterfat prices.  
 
Fiscal impact of rule:  
 None. 



Annual List of Rule-Making Activity 

Rules Adopted January 1, 2016 to December 31, 2016 

Prepared by the Secretary of State, pursuant to 5 MRS §8053-A sub-§5 

 
Agency name: Department of Agriculture, Conservation and Forestry, 

Maine Milk Commission 
Umbrella-Unit: 01-015 
Statutory authority: 5 MRS §8054; 7 MRS §2954 
Chapter number/title:  Ch. 3, Schedule of Minimum Prices, Order #05-16 
Filing number: 2016-071 
Effective date:  5/1/2016 
Type of rule: Routine Technical 
Emergency rule:  Yes 
 
Principal reason or purpose for rule: 
 The principal reason for this rule is the need to respond to Federal Order changes and 
to certain other conditions affecting prevailing Class I, II and III milk prices in Southern New 

England in accordance with 7 MRS §2954.  
 The final May 2016 minimum Class I price is $16.95/cwt. plus $1.45/cwt. for 
Producer margins and a $1.53/cwt. that reflects premiums being offered and prevailing in 
Southern New England and $4.19/cwt. handling fee for a total of $24.32/cwt., which 
includes a processor assessment of $0.20/cwt. Thus the minimum retail price of a gallon of 
whole milk is set at $3.74.  
 
Basis statement: 
 Pursuant to 5 MRS §8054 and 7 MRS §2954 the Maine Milk Commission conducted an 
emergency rule-making hearing to determine whether or not the minimum price payable to 
producers for milk should be immediately changed due to developments in milk pricing in 
southern New England.  
  
 Federal Order One Northeast Market Administrator announced a Class III price of 
$13.74/cwt. and a Class IV price of $12.74/cwt. for March 2016.  

 
The Class II price for March 2016 is $13.57/cwt. as announced by the Federal Order 
One Northeast Market Administrator.  

  
 The Commission, in setting their minimum prices, recognized the Federal Order Class I 
price of $16.95/cwt. plus $1.45/cwt. for cost of production and an over-order premium 
of $1.53/cwt. as being prevailing in southern New England based on the evidence 
presented at the Commission hearing on April 21, 2016 and therefore should be passed 
on in minimum prices effective May 1, 2016. These prices also include a handling fee of 
$4.19/cwt.  
  
 The schedule of prices listed herein reflects the latest Class I, Class II, Class III and 

Class IV prices plus the minimum dealer, producer and retail margins adopted by the 
Commission's Orders (DM) Dealer Margins, (PM) Producer Margins, and (RM) Retail Margins. 
The Class I prices reflect a Processor Assessment of $.20/cwt. as authorized by Commission 
Order #93-MPF. Any change in prices at any level from last month reflects the action taken 
today by the Commission for Class I, Class II, Class III and Class IV and Butterfat prices.  
 
Fiscal impact of rule:  
 None. 
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Rules Adopted January 1, 2016 to December 31, 2016 

Prepared by the Secretary of State, pursuant to 5 MRS §8053-A sub-§5 

 
Agency name: Department of Agriculture, Conservation and Forestry, 

Maine Milk Commission 
Umbrella-Unit: 01-015 
Statutory authority: 5 MRS §8054; 7 MRS §2954 
Chapter number/title:  Ch. 3, Schedule of Minimum Prices, Order #06-16 
Filing number: 2016-096 
Effective date:  5/29/2016 
Type of rule: Routine Technical 
Emergency rule:  Yes 
 
Principal reason or purpose for rule: 
 The principal reason for this rule is the need to respond to Federal Order changes and 
to certain other conditions affecting prevailing Class I, II and III milk prices in Southern New 

England in accordance with 7 MRS §2954.  
 The final June 2016 minimum Class I price is $16.39/cwt. plus $1.58/cwt. for 
Producer margins and a $1.53/cwt. that reflects premiums being offered and prevailing in 
Southern New England and $4.65/cwt. handling fee for a total of $24.35/cwt., which 
includes a processor assessment of $0.20/cwt. Thus the minimum retail price of a gallon of 
whole milk is set at $3.74.  
 
Basis statement: 
 Pursuant to 5 MRS §8054 and 7 MRS §2954 the Maine Milk Commission conducted an 
emergency rule-making hearing to determine whether or not the minimum price payable to 
producers for milk should be immediately changed due to developments in milk pricing in 
southern New England.  
  
 Federal Order One Northeast Market Administrator announced a Class III price of 
$13.63/cwt. and a Class IV price of $12.68/cwt. for April 2016.  

 
The Class II price for April 2016 is $13.54/cwt. as announced by the Federal Order 
One Northeast Market Administrator.  

  
 The Commission, in setting their minimum prices, recognized the Federal Order Class I 
price of $16.39/cwt. plus $1.58/cwt. for cost of production and an over-order premium 
of $1.53/cwt. as being prevailing in southern New England based on the evidence 
presented at the Commission hearing on May 19, 2016 and therefore should be passed 
on in minimum prices effective May 29, 2016. These prices also include a handling fee 
of $4.65/cwt.  
  
 The schedule of prices listed herein reflects the latest Class I, Class II, Class III and 

Class IV prices plus the minimum dealer, producer and retail margins adopted by the 
Commission's Orders (DM) Dealer Margins, (PM) Producer Margins, and (RM) Retail Margins. 
The Class I prices reflect a Processor Assessment of $.20/cwt. as authorized by Commission 
Order #93-MPF. Any change in prices at any level from last month reflects the action taken 
today by the Commission for Class I, Class II, Class III and Class IV and Butterfat prices.  
 
Fiscal impact of rule:  
 None. 
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Rules Adopted January 1, 2016 to December 31, 2016 

Prepared by the Secretary of State, pursuant to 5 MRS §8053-A sub-§5 

 
Agency name: Department of Agriculture, Conservation and Forestry, 

Maine Milk Commission 
Umbrella-Unit: 01-015 
Statutory authority: 5 MRS §8054; 7 MRS §2954 
Chapter number/title:  Ch. 3, Schedule of Minimum Prices, Order #07-16 
Filing number: 2016-111 
Effective date:  7/3/2016 
Type of rule: Routine Technical 
Emergency rule:  Yes 
 
Principal reason or purpose for rule: 
 The principal reason for this rule is the need to respond to Federal Order changes and 
to certain other conditions affecting prevailing Class I, II and III milk prices in Southern New 

England in accordance with 7 MRS §2954.  
 The final July 2016 minimum Class I price is $16.95/cwt. plus $1.58/cwt. for 
Producer margins and a $1.53/cwt. that reflects premiums being offered and prevailing in 
Southern New England and $4.19/cwt. handling fee for a total of $24.45/cwt., which 
includes a processor assessment of $0.20/cwt. Thus the minimum retail price of a gallon of 
whole milk is set at $3.75.  
 
Basis statement: 
 Pursuant to 5 MRS §8054 and 7 MRS §2954 the Maine Milk Commission conducted an 
emergency rule-making hearing to determine whether or not the minimum price payable to 
producers for milk should be immediately changed due to developments in milk pricing in 
southern New England.  
  
 Federal Order One Northeast Market Administrator announced a Class III price of 
$12.76/cwt. and a Class IV price of $13.09/cwt. for May 2016.  
 

The Class II price for May 2016 is $13.53/cwt. as announced by the Federal Order 
One Northeast Market Administrator.  

  
 The Commission, in setting their minimum prices, recognized the Federal Order Class I 
price of $16.95/cwt. plus $1.58/cwt. for cost of production and an over-order premium 
of $1.53/cwt. as being prevailing in southern New England based on the evidence 
presented at the Commission hearing on June 23, 2016 and therefore should be passed 
on in minimum prices effective July 3, 2016. These prices also include a handling fee of 
$4.19/cwt.  
  
 The schedule of prices listed herein reflects the latest Class I, Class II, Class III and 

Class IV prices plus the minimum dealer, producer and retail margins adopted by the 
Commission's Orders (DM) Dealer Margins, (PM) Producer Margins, and (RM) Retail Margins. 
The Class I prices reflect a Processor Assessment of $.20/cwt. as authorized by Commission 
Order #93-MPF. Any change in prices at any level from last month reflects the action taken 
today by the Commission for Class I, Class II, Class III and Class IV and Butterfat prices.  
 
Fiscal impact of rule:  
 None. 
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Rules Adopted January 1, 2016 to December 31, 2016 

Prepared by the Secretary of State, pursuant to 5 MRS §8053-A sub-§5 

 
Agency name: Department of Agriculture, Conservation and Forestry, 

Maine Milk Commission 
Umbrella-Unit: 01-015 
Statutory authority: 5 MRS §8054; 7 MRS §2954 
Chapter number/title:  Ch. 3, Schedule of Minimum Prices, Order #08-16 
Filing number: 2016-127 
Effective date:  7/31/2016 
Type of rule: Routine Technical 
Emergency rule:  Yes 
 
Principal reason or purpose for rule: 
 The principal reason for this rule is the need to respond to Federal Order changes and 
to certain other conditions affecting prevailing Class I, II and III milk prices in Southern New 

England in accordance with 7 MRS §2954.  
 The final August 2016 minimum Class I price is $18.32/cwt. plus $1.58/cwt. for 
Producer margins and a $1.53/cwt. that reflects premiums being offered and prevailing in 
Southern New England and $2.79/cwt. handling fee for a total of $24.42/cwt., which 
includes a processor assessment of $0.20/cwt. Thus the minimum retail price of a gallon of 
whole milk is set at $3.75.  
 
Basis statement: 
 Pursuant to 5 MRS §8054 and 7 MRS §2954 the Maine Milk Commission conducted an 
emergency rule-making hearing to determine whether or not the minimum price payable to 
producers for milk should be immediately changed due to developments in milk pricing in 
southern New England.  
  
 Federal Order One Northeast Market Administrator announced a Class III price of 
$13.22/cwt. and a Class IV price of $13.77/cwt. for June 2016.  
 

The Class II price for June 2016 is $14.12/cwt. as announced by the Federal Order 
One Northeast Market Administrator.  

  
 The Commission, in setting their minimum prices, recognized the Federal Order Class I 
price of $18.32/cwt. plus $1.58/cwt. for cost of production and an over-order premium 
of $1.53/cwt. as being prevailing in southern New England based on the evidence 
presented at the Commission hearing on July 21, 2016 and therefore should be passed 
on in minimum prices effective July 31, 2016. These prices also include a handling fee 
of $2.79/cwt.  
  
 The schedule of prices listed herein reflects the latest Class I, Class II, Class III and 

Class IV prices plus the minimum dealer, producer and retail margins adopted by the 
Commission's Orders (DM) Dealer Margins, (PM) Producer Margins, and (RM) Retail Margins. 
The Class I prices reflect a Processor Assessment of $.20/cwt. as authorized by Commission 
Order #93-MPF. Any change in prices at any level from last month reflects the action taken 
today by the Commission for Class I, Class II, Class III and Class IV and Butterfat prices.  
 
Fiscal impact of rule:  
 None. 
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Rules Adopted January 1, 2016 to December 31, 2016 

Prepared by the Secretary of State, pursuant to 5 MRS §8053-A sub-§5 

 
Agency name: Department of Agriculture, Conservation and Forestry, 

Maine Milk Commission 
Umbrella-Unit: 01-015 
Statutory authority: 5 MRS §8054; 7 MRS §2954 
Chapter number/title:  Ch. 3, Schedule of Minimum Prices, Order #09-16 
Filing number: 2016-143 
Effective date:  9/4/2016 
Type of rule: Routine Technical 
Emergency rule:  Yes 
 
Principal reason or purpose for rule: 
 The principal reason for this rule is the need to respond to Federal Order changes and 
to certain other conditions affecting prevailing Class I, II and III milk prices in Southern New 

England in accordance with 7 MRS §2954.  
 The final September 4, 2016 minimum Class I price is $19.81/cwt. plus $1.53/cwt. 
for Producer margins and a $1.53/cwt. that reflects premiums being offered and prevailing in 
Southern New England and $1.40/cwt. handling fee for a total of $24.47/cwt., which 
includes a processor assessment of $0.20/cwt. Thus the minimum retail price of a gallon of 
whole milk is set at $3.77.  
 
Basis statement: 
 Pursuant to 5 MRS §8054 and 7 MRS §2954 the Maine Milk Commission conducted an 
emergency rule-making hearing to determine whether or not the minimum price payable to 
producers for milk should be immediately changed due to developments in milk pricing in 
southern New England.  
  
 Federal Order One Northeast Market Administrator announced a Class III price of 
$15.24/cwt. and a Class IV price of $14.84/cwt. for July 2016.  
 

The Class II price for July 2016 is $15.16/cwt. as announced by the Federal Order 
One Northeast Market Administrator.  

  
 The Commission, in setting their minimum prices, recognized the Federal Order Class I 
price of $19.81/cwt. plus $1.53/cwt. for cost of production and an over-order premium 
of $1.53/cwt. as being prevailing in southern New England based on the evidence 
presented at the Commission hearing on August 18, 2016 and therefore should be 
passed on in minimum prices effective September 4, 2016. These prices also include a 
handling fee of $1.40/cwt.  
  
 The schedule of prices listed herein reflects the latest Class I, Class II, Class III and 

Class IV prices plus the minimum dealer, producer and retail margins adopted by the 
Commission's Orders (DM) Dealer Margins, (PM) Producer Margins, and (RM) Retail Margins. 
The Class I prices reflect a Processor Assessment of $.20/cwt. as authorized by Commission 
Order #93-MPF. Any change in prices at any level from last month reflects the action taken 
today by the Commission for Class I, Class II, Class III and Class IV and Butterfat prices.  
 
Fiscal impact of rule:  
 None. 
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Rules Adopted January 1, 2016 to December 31, 2016 

Prepared by the Secretary of State, pursuant to 5 MRS §8053-A sub-§5 

 
Agency name: Department of Agriculture, Conservation and Forestry, 

Maine Milk Commission 
Umbrella-Unit: 01-015 
Statutory authority: 5 MRS §8054; 7 MRS §2954 
Chapter number/title:  Ch. 3, Schedule of Minimum Prices, Order #10-16 
Filing number: 2016-159 
Effective date:  10/2/2016 
Type of rule: Routine Technical 
Emergency rule:  Yes 
 
Principal reason or purpose for rule: 
 The principal reason for this rule is the need to respond to Federal Order changes and 
to certain other conditions affecting prevailing Class I, II and III milk prices in Southern New 

England in accordance with 7 MRS §2954.  
 The final October 2016 minimum Class I price is $19.85/cwt. plus $1.48/cwt. for 
Producer margins and a $1.53/cwt. that reflects premiums being offered and prevailing in 
Southern New England and $1.40/cwt. handling fee for a total of $24.46/cwt., which 
includes a processor assessment of $0.20/cwt. Thus the minimum retail price of a gallon of 
whole milk is set at $3.76.  
 
Basis statement: 
 Pursuant to 5 MRS §8054 and 7 MRS §2954 the Maine Milk Commission conducted an 
emergency rule-making hearing to determine whether or not the minimum price payable to 
producers for milk should be immediately changed due to developments in milk pricing in 
southern New England.  
  
 Federal Order One Northeast Market Administrator announced a Class III price of 
$16.91/cwt. and a Class IV price of $14.65/cwt. for August 2016.  

 
The Class II price for August 2016 is $15.21/cwt. as announced by the Federal Order 
One Northeast Market Administrator.  

  
 The Commission, in setting their minimum prices, recognized the Federal Order Class I 
price of $19.85/cwt. plus $1.48/cwt. for cost of production and an over-order premium 
of $1.53/cwt. as being prevailing in southern New England based on the evidence 
presented at the Commission hearing on September 22, 2016 and therefore should be 
passed on in minimum prices effective October 2, 2016. These prices also include a 
handling fee of $1.40/cwt.  
  
 The schedule of prices listed herein reflects the latest Class I, Class II, Class III and 

Class IV prices plus the minimum dealer, producer and retail margins adopted by the 
Commission's Orders (DM) Dealer Margins, (PM) Producer Margins, and (RM) Retail Margins. 
The Class I prices reflect a Processor Assessment of $.20/cwt. as authorized by Commission 
Order #93-MPF. Any change in prices at any level from last month reflects the action taken 
today by the Commission for Class I, Class II, Class III and Class IV and Butterfat prices.  
 
Fiscal impact of rule:  
 None. 



Annual List of Rule-Making Activity 

Rules Adopted January 1, 2016 to December 31, 2016 

Prepared by the Secretary of State, pursuant to 5 MRS §8053-A sub-§5 

 
Agency name: Department of Agriculture, Conservation and Forestry, 

Maine Milk Commission 
Umbrella-Unit: 01-015 
Statutory authority: 5 MRS §8054; 7 MRS §2954 
Chapter number/title:  Ch. 3, Schedule of Minimum Prices, Order #11-16 
Filing number: 2016-180 
Effective date:  10/29/2016 
Type of rule: Routine Technical 
Emergency rule:  Yes 
 
Principal reason or purpose for rule: 
 The principal reason for this rule is the need to respond to Federal Order changes and 
to certain other conditions affecting prevailing Class I, II and III milk prices in Southern New 

England in accordance with 7 MRS §2954.  
 The final November 2016 minimum Class I price is $18.03/cwt. plus $1.58/cwt. for 
Producer margins and a $1.53/cwt. that reflects premiums being offered and prevailing in 
Southern New England and $2.79/cwt. handling fee for a total of $24.13/cwt., which 
includes a processor assessment of $0.20/cwt. Thus the minimum retail price of a gallon of 
whole milk is set at $3.73.  
 
Basis statement: 
 Pursuant to 5 MRS §8054 and 7 MRS §2954 the Maine Milk Commission conducted an 
emergency rule-making hearing to determine whether or not the minimum price payable to 
producers for milk should be immediately changed due to developments in milk pricing in 
southern New England.  
  
 Federal Order One Northeast Market Administrator announced a Class III price of 
$16.39/cwt. and a Class IV price of $14.25/cwt. for September 2016.  
 

The Class II price for September 2016 is $14.66/cwt. as announced by the Federal 
Order One Northeast Market Administrator.  

  
 The Commission, in setting their minimum prices, recognized the Federal Order Class I 
price of $18.03/cwt. plus $1.58/cwt. for cost of production and an over-order premium 
of $1.53/cwt. as being prevailing in southern New England based on the evidence 
presented at the Commission hearing on October 20, 2016 and therefore should be 
passed on in minimum prices effective October 30, 2016. These prices also include a 
handling fee of $2.79/cwt.  
  
 The schedule of prices listed herein reflects the latest Class I, Class II, Class III and 

Class IV prices plus the minimum dealer, producer and retail margins adopted by the 
Commission's Orders (DM) Dealer Margins, (PM) Producer Margins, and (RM) Retail Margins. 
The Class I prices reflect a Processor Assessment of $.20/cwt. as authorized by Commission 
Order #93-MPF. Any change in prices at any level from last month reflects the action taken 
today by the Commission for Class I, Class II, Class III and Class IV and Butterfat prices.  
 
Fiscal impact of rule:  
 None. 



Annual List of Rule-Making Activity 

Rules Adopted January 1, 2016 to December 31, 2016 

Prepared by the Secretary of State, pursuant to 5 MRS §8053-A sub-§5 

 
Agency name: Department of Agriculture, Conservation and Forestry, 

Maine Milk Commission 
Umbrella-Unit: 01-015 
Statutory authority: 5 MRS §8054; 7 MRS §2954 
Chapter number/title:  Ch. 3, Schedule of Minimum Prices, Order #12-16 
Filing number: 2016-204 
Effective date:  12/4/2016 
Type of rule: Routine Technical 
Emergency rule:  Yes 
 
Principal reason or purpose for rule: 
 The principal reason for this rule is the need to respond to Federal Order changes and 
to certain other conditions affecting prevailing Class I, II and III milk prices in Southern New 

England in accordance with 7 MRS §2954.  
 The final December 2016 minimum Class I price is $20.13/cwt. plus $1.58/cwt. for 
Producer margins and a $1.53/cwt. that reflects premiums being offered and prevailing in 
Southern New England and $0.93/cwt. handling fee for a total of $24.37/cwt., which 
includes a processor assessment of $0.20/cwt. Thus the minimum retail price of a gallon of 
whole milk is set at $3.74.  
 
Basis statement: 
 Pursuant to 5 MRS §8054 and 7 MRS §2954 the Maine Milk Commission conducted an 
emergency rule-making hearing to determine whether or not the minimum price payable to 
producers for milk should be immediately changed due to developments in milk pricing in 
southern New England.  
  
 Federal Order One Northeast Market Administrator announced a Class III price of 
$14.82/cwt. and a Class IV price of $13.66/cwt. for October 2016.  
 

The Class II price for October 2016 is $14.09/cwt. as announced by the Federal Order 
One Northeast Market Administrator.  

  
 The Commission, in setting their minimum prices, recognized the Federal Order Class I 
price of $20.13/cwt. plus $1.58/cwt. for cost of production and an over-order premium 
of $1.53/cwt. as being prevailing in southern New England based on the evidence 
presented at the Commission hearing on November 23, 2016 and therefore should be 
passed on in minimum prices effective December 4, 2016. These prices also include a 
handling fee of $0.93/cwt.  
  
 The schedule of prices listed herein reflects the latest Class I, Class II, Class III and 

Class IV prices plus the minimum dealer, producer and retail margins adopted by the 
Commission's Orders (DM) Dealer Margins, (PM) Producer Margins, and (RM) Retail Margins. 
The Class I prices reflect a Processor Assessment of $.20/cwt. as authorized by Commission 
Order #93-MPF. Any change in prices at any level from last month reflects the action taken 
today by the Commission for Class I, Class II, Class III and Class IV and Butterfat prices.  
 
Fiscal impact of rule:  
 None. 



Annual List of Rule-Making Activity 

Rules Adopted January 1, 2016 to December 31, 2016 

Prepared by the Secretary of State, pursuant to 5 MRS §8053-A sub-§5 

 
Agency name: Department of Agriculture, Conservation and Forestry, 

Maine Milk Commission 
Umbrella-Unit: 01-015 
Statutory authority: 5 MRS §8054; 7 MRS §2954 
Chapter number/title:  Ch. 3, Schedule of Minimum Prices, Order #01-17 
Filing number: 2016-230 
Effective date:  12/17/2016 
Type of rule: Routine Technical 
Emergency rule:  Yes 
 
Principal reason or purpose for rule: 
 The principal reason for this rule is the need to respond to Federal Order changes and 
to certain other conditions affecting prevailing Class I, II and III milk prices in Southern New 

England in accordance with 7 MRS §2954.  
 The final January 2017 minimum Class I price is $20.70/cwt. plus $1.53/cwt. for 
Producer margins and a $1.53/cwt. that reflects premiums being offered and prevailing in 
Southern New England and $0.93/cwt. handling fee for a total of $24.89/cwt., which 
includes a processor assessment of $0.20/cwt. Thus the minimum retail price of a gallon of 
whole milk is set at $3.79.  
 
Basis statement: 
 Pursuant to 5 MRS §8054 and 7 MRS §2954 the Maine Milk Commission conducted an 
emergency rule-making hearing to determine whether or not the minimum price payable to 
producers for milk should be immediately changed due to developments in milk pricing in 
southern New England.  
  
 Federal Order One Northeast Market Administrator announced a Class III price of 
$16.76/cwt. and a Class IV price of $13.76/cwt. for November 2016.  
 

The Class II price for November 2016 is $14.60/cwt. as announced by the Federal 
Order One Northeast Market Administrator.  

  
 The Commission, in setting their minimum prices, recognized the Federal Order Class I 
price of $20.70/cwt. plus $1.58/cwt. for cost of production and an over-order premium 
of $1.53/cwt. as being prevailing in southern New England based on the evidence 
presented at the Commission hearing on December 22, 2016 and therefore should be 
passed on in minimum prices effective January 1, 2017. These prices also include a 
handling fee of $0.93/cwt.  
  
 The schedule of prices listed herein reflects the latest Class I, Class II, Class III and 

Class IV prices plus the minimum dealer, producer and retail margins adopted by the 
Commission's Orders (DM) Dealer Margins, (PM) Producer Margins, and (RM) Retail Margins. 
The Class I prices reflect a Processor Assessment of $.20/cwt. as authorized by Commission 
Order #93-MPF. Any change in prices at any level from last month reflects the action taken 
today by the Commission for Class I, Class II, Class III and Class IV and Butterfat prices.  
 
Fiscal impact of rule:  
 None. 



Annual List of Rule-Making Activity 

Rules Adopted January 1, 2016 to December 31, 2016 

Prepared by the Secretary of State, pursuant to 5 MRS §8053-A sub-§5 

 
Agency name: Department of Agriculture, Conservation and Forestry, 

Maine State Harness Racing Commission 
Umbrella-Unit: 01-017 
Statutory authority: 8 MRS §§ 263-A, 268, 279-A, 279-B, 281 
Chapter number/title:  Ch. 11, Medication and Testing 
Filing number: 2016-229 
Effective date:  12/26/2016 
Type of rule: Routine Technical 
Emergency rule:  No 
 
Principal reason or purpose for rule: 
 The amendment updates Ch. 11 to remove the responsibility of the Commission to 
prove that a substance was in excess of the normal concentration if it affects the performance 

of a horse. The amendment also clarifies that the substances listed in the Uniform Guidelines 
for Foreign Substances published by the Association of Racing Commissioners International 
are prohibited.  
 
Basis statement: 
 The Commission amends Section 4, subsection 4 of Ch. 11 in order to update the rule 
to adopt by reference the Alphabetical Substance List contained in the April 8, 2016 Uniform 
Classification Guidelines for Foreign Substances published by the Association of Racing 
Commissioners International, Inc. Further, the amendment removes the responsibility for 
proving that a substance is performance enhancing from the Commission.  
 
Fiscal impact of rule:  
 The amendment should not have a fiscal impact. 



Annual List of Rule-Making Activity 

Rules Adopted January 1, 2016 to December 31, 2016 

Prepared by the Secretary of State, pursuant to 5 MRS §8053-A sub-§5 

 
Agency name: Department of Agriculture, Conservation and Forestry, Bureau of 

Forestry (Maine Forest Service) 
Umbrella-Unit: 01-669 
Statutory authority: 12 MRS ch. 805 sub-ch. 3-A, as amended by PL 2013 ch. 412; 

Resolves 2015 ch. 58 
Chapter number/title:  Ch. 30, Prior Approval Process and Stop Work Orders 
Filing number: 2016-103 
Effective date:  7/15/2016 
Type of rule: Major Substantive 
Emergency rule:  No 
 
Principal reason or purpose for rule: 
 See §8057-A (l) (A) &(C)] Legislative direction. This rule establishes standards for Maine 

Forest Service approval of timber harvesting activities by any person who has been convicted 
of two or more violations of Title 17 §2510 sub-§1.  
 
Basis statement: 
 The statutory authority for this rule is 12 MRS §8869-A, as enacted by PL 2013 ch. 412.  
 The law requires the Commissioner of Agriculture, Conservation and Forestry, 
through the Bureau of Forestry, aka the Maine Forest Service (MFS), "establish a prior 
approval process for harvesting trees by a person that has committed 2 violations of 
unlawful cutting of trees pursuant to Title 17, section 2510, subsection 1."  
 Process involved in developing this rule  
 Following enactment of the law, a MFS senior staff person drafted rule. Because the 
statutory direction was clear, the MFS determined that an extensive public process was not 
necessary. The MFS consulted with the Attorney General's Office prior to undertaking rule-
making.  
 The MFS released the draft rule for public comment in July 2015. A public hearing 
was conducted in July 2015. No one attended. The MFS received two sets of comments on 
this proposal.  
 Economic impact of the rule  
 Multiple sections of the law governing state rule-making (5 MRS ch. 375 sub-ch. 2) 
require agencies to conduct economic impact analyses of proposed rules, including, but not 
limited to, effects on small businesses, fiscal impact (on the state treasury), and any effects 
on municipalities and counties. Agencies may, within existing resources, also conduct a 
cost-benefit analysis of proposed rules.  
 The MFS has determined that the operation of this rule will not have a fiscal impact 
on the state treasury, municipalities, or counties.  
 Further, the MFS has determined that this rule will have no discernible impact on 
small businesses or the regulated community. Only a small handful of loggers meet the 

criteria necessary to be regulated by this rule.  
 The MFS has lost several enforcement related positions in recent years due to budget 
reductions. The positions lost include ten Forest Ranger III positions in Forest Protection. 
The MFS may need to redirect staff priorities away from existing programs and initiatives to 
absorb additional enforcement work within existing resources.  
 
Fiscal impact of rule:  
 None.  MFS will reassign priorities as needed to accomplish with existing resources. 
 



Annual List of Rule-Making Activity 

Rules Adopted January 1, 2016 to December 31, 2016 

Prepared by the Secretary of State, pursuant to 5 MRS §8053-A sub-§5 

 
Agency name: Department of Agriculture, Conservation and Forestry, Land Use 

Planning Commission 
Umbrella-Unit: 01-672 
Statutory authority: 12 MRS §§ 685-A(7-A), 689 
Chapter number/title:  Ch. 10, Land Use Guidance Maps (Amended Zoning Maps), 

Zoning Petition ZP 757: Big Moose Twp. - Piscataquis County 
Filing number: 2016-010 
Effective date:  1/19/2016 
Type of rule: Routine Technical 
Emergency rule:  No 
 
Principal reason or purpose for rule: 
 This memo and attachment is to notify your office of Commission actions to amend 

certain Land Use Guidance Maps, and that notice of said changes has been published. A 
current copy of the map has been placed on file as required.  
 
Basis statement: 
 Pursuant to 12 MRS §§ 685-A (7-A) and 689, the Maine Land Use Planning 
Commission hereby gives notice of its approval of certain amendments to official Land Use 
Guidance Maps and that these changes have been placed on file with the appropriate 
County Registry of Deeds:  
 
 ZONING PETITION PETITIONER OR LOCATION  

COPETITIONER 
 ZP 757 OFLC, Inc. Big Moose Twp. 
   Piscataquis County 
 
Fiscal impact of rule:  
 N/A 



Annual List of Rule-Making Activity 

Rules Adopted January 1, 2016 to December 31, 2016 

Prepared by the Secretary of State, pursuant to 5 MRS §8053-A sub-§5 

 
Agency name: Department of Agriculture, Conservation and Forestry, 

Land Use Planning Commission 
Umbrella-Unit: 01-672 
Statutory authority: 12 MRS §§ 685-A(3), 685-A(7-A), 685-C(5) 
Chapter number/title:  Ch. 10, Land Use Districts and Standards: 10.02, Definitions 

(“Rural Business”); 10.21(I), Rural Business Development 
Subdistrict (D-RB); 10.25(Q)(6), Subdivision and Lot Creation: 
Subdivision Filing with Registry of Deeds and Sale of Lots; 
10.27(R), Rural Businesses 

Filing number: 2016-073 
Effective date:  5/9/2016 
Type of rule: Routine Technical 
Emergency rule:  No 

 
Principal reason or purpose for rule: 
 The Maine Land Use Planning Commission sought public comment on proposed 
amendments to Ch. 10, Land Use Districts and Standards, regarding a proposed new 
subdistrict developed for certain areas in Aroostook County in partnership with Northern 
Maine Development Commission (NMDC) through the Commission's Community Guided 
Planning and Zoning program. This regional planning effort implements the directive in 
PL 2011 ch. 682 §34, for the Commission to initiate prospective zoning in the unorganized and 
deorganized parts of the state. The purpose of the new Rural Business Development 
Subdistrict (D-RB) is to encourage an appropriate range of business development in rural 
areas, and locate development in or at the edge of existing development and in concentrated 
areas along appropriate portions of major transportation corridors. The locations for the D-RB 
are selected to maintain the rural character of the region and avoid significant visual, natural 
resource, and fiscal impacts of unplanned growth. The D-RB subdistrict would include areas 
to accommodate a range of small commercial, light manufacturing, and institutional facilities 
and businesses that are generally compatible with, and complementary to, natural resource-
based land uses but may create some adverse impacts to residential uses, recreation uses, or 
resource protection.  
 
Basis statement: 
 The Maine Land Use Planning Commission (LUPC) adopts rule changes to its Ch. 10, 
Land Use Districts and Standards, regarding a new subdistrict developed for certain areas in 
Aroostook County in partnership with Northern Maine Development Commission (NMDC) 
through the Commission's Community Guided Planning and Zoning ( CGPZ) program 1• This 
regional planning effort implements the directive in PL 2011 ch. 682 §34, for the Commission 
to initiate prospective zoning in the unorganized and deorganized parts of the state. The 
purpose of the new Rural Business Development Subdistrict (D-RB) is to encourage an 
appropriate range of business development in rural areas, and locate development in or at the 
edge of existing development and in concentrated areas along appropriate portions of major 
transportation corridors.  
 
Fiscal impact of rule:  
 There will be no measurable fiscal impact of these rule changes.  



Annual List of Rule-Making Activity 

Rules Adopted January 1, 2016 to December 31, 2016 

Prepared by the Secretary of State, pursuant to 5 MRS §8053-A sub-§5 

 
Agency name: Department of Agriculture, Conservation and Forestry, Land 

Use Planning Commission 
Umbrella-Unit: 01-672 
Statutory authority: 12 MRS §685-A(13), 350A MRS §3453-A(1), (3), (7) 
Chapter number/title:  Ch. 10, Land Use Districts and Standards: Appendix F, Expedited 

Wind Energy Development Area 
Filing number: 2016-074 
Effective date:  5/9/2016 
Type of rule: Routine Technical 
Emergency rule:  No 
 
Principal reason or purpose for rule: 
 (See Basis Statement) 
 
Basis statement: 
 The 123rd Legislature enacted, "An Act to Implement Recommendations of the Governor's 
Task Force on Wind Power Development," PL 2007 ch. 661, that became effective April 18, 2008. 
The Act established the expedited permitting area for wind energy development, encompassing all 
of the organized area of the State and a portion of the unorganized and deorganized areas now 
served by the Land Use Planning Commission (LUPC or Commission). As directed by that 
legislation, the Commission adopted through rule-making the description and map of the expedited 
permitting area located in the Commission's rules as Appendix F to Ch. 10, Land Use Districts and 
Standards.  

In 2015, the legislature enacted "An Act To Improve Regulatory Consistency within the 
Jurisdiction of the Maine Land Use Planning Commission," PL 2015 ch. 265, that became effective 
January 1, 2016. The statutory change creates a six month time window within which registered 
voters in a given town, township, or plantation within the Commission's jurisdiction may petition 
to have a place removed from the expedited area. Title 35-A §3453-A describes the mechanism by 
which the petition process is to take place, and provides the opportunity for any person to object to 
the removal of the specified place by requesting "substantive review" of the petition. Pursuant to 
the provisions of this section, when a valid petition is filed, the specified place automatically will be 
removed unless a person requests substantive review.  

Each of the petitions comply with the requirements of Title 35-A §3453-A(l) and (5). 
Specifically each individual petition:  

• Was received between January 1 and June 20, 2016;  
• Clearly states that the persons signing the petition are requesting the removal of the 

specified place from the expedited permitting area;  
• Is signed by at least 10% of the number of registered voters residing in the township, 

plantation, municipality or portion thereof that voted in the most recent gubernatorial 
election;  

• Is on a form provided by the Maine Land Use Planning Commission; and  
• Does not include any land area within:  

- the project boundary of an existing or proposed, legally permitted expedited wind energy 
development;  

- the project boundary of a proposed expedited wind energy development, as described in 
the development permit application, that has been accepted for processing by the 
Department of Environmental Protection; and  

- any specified place added by rule to the expedited permitting area in accordance with 
section 3453 prior to January 1, 2016.  

 

Fiscal impact of rule:  
 There will be no measurable fiscal impact of these rule changes.  



Annual List of Rule-Making Activity 

Rules Adopted January 1, 2016 to December 31, 2016 

Prepared by the Secretary of State, pursuant to 5 MRS §8053-A sub-§5 

 
Agency name: Department of Agriculture, Conservation and Forestry, 

Land Use Planning Commission 
Umbrella-Unit: 01-672 
Statutory authority: 12 MRS §§ 685-A(7-A), 689 
Chapter number/title:  Ch. 10, Land Use Guidance Maps (Amended Zoning Maps), 

Zoning Petition ZP 760: Maine Land Use Planning Staff; Stacie 
Beyer – Hancock and Knox Counties 

Filing number: 2016-075 
Effective date:  4/29/2016 
Type of rule: Routine Technical 
Emergency rule:  No 
 
Principal reason or purpose for rule: 

 This memo and attachment is to notify your office of Commission actions to amend 
certain Land Use Guidance Maps, and that notice of said changes has been published. 
A current copy of the map has been placed on file as required.  
 
Basis statement: 
 Pursuant to 12 MRS §§ 685-A (7-A) and 689, the Maine Land Use Planning 
Commission hereby gives notice of its approval of certain amendments to official Land Use 
Guidance Maps and that these changes have been placed on file with the appropriate 
County Registry of Deeds:  
 
 ZONING PETITION PETITIONER OR LOCATION  

COPETITIONER 
 ZP 760 Maine Land Use Hancock and Knox Counties 
 Planning Staff; 
 Stacie Beyer 
 
Fiscal impact of rule:  
 N/A 



Annual List of Rule-Making Activity 

Rules Adopted January 1, 2016 to December 31, 2016 

Prepared by the Secretary of State, pursuant to 5 MRS §8053-A sub-§5 

 
Agency name: Department of Agriculture, Conservation and Forestry, Land Use 

Planning Commission 
Umbrella-Unit: 01-672 
Statutory authority: 12 MRS §§ 685-A(7-A) 
Chapter number/title:  Ch. 10, Land Use District and Standards: Appendix E, FEMA Maps 

for the LUPC Jurisdiction 
Filing number: 2016-104 
Effective date:  5/9/2016 
Type of rule: Routine Technical 
Emergency rule:  No 
 
Principal reason or purpose for rule: 
 (See Basis Statement) 
 
Basis statement: 
 The LUPC repeals and replaces Appendix E to facilitate a reorganization of the list by 
county and by minor civil division. Other changes to the appendix include adding references to 
new county-wide Flood Insurance Rate Maps for Knox and Hancock Counties, removing 
asterisks indicating that base flood elevation data is available, and improving consistency in 
formatting. 
 
Fiscal impact of rule:  
 N/A 



Annual List of Rule-Making Activity 

Rules Adopted January 1, 2016 to December 31, 2016 

Prepared by the Secretary of State, pursuant to 5 MRS §8053-A sub-§5 

 
Agency name: Department of Agriculture, Conservation and Forestry, 

Land Use Planning Commission 
Umbrella-Unit: 01-672 
Statutory authority: 12 MRS §§ 685-A(7-A), 689 
Chapter number/title:  Ch. 10, Land Use Guidance Maps (Amended Zoning Maps): 

Zoning Petitions: ZP 674A: Michael Beaulieu, St. John Plt., 
N Aroostook County; ZP 753: ME Land Use Planning 
Commission Staff, & Jason Bouchard Family Trust, T9 R8 
WELS, S Aroostook County; ZP 754: Marianne McEnrue, T10 
R11 WELS, Piscataquis County; ZP 761: Peter Lee, Freeman 
Twp., Franklin County; ZP 762: ME Land Use Planning 
Commission Staff, & Norvest LLC, T4 R8 & T5 R8 WELS, 
Penobscot County 

Filing number: 2016-110 
Effective date:  6/28/2016 
Type of rule: Routine Technical 
Emergency rule:  No 
 
Principal reason or purpose for rule: 
 This memo and attachment is to notify your office of Commission actions to amend 
certain Land Use Guidance Maps, and that notice of said changes has been published. 
A current copy of the map has been placed on file as required.  
 
Basis statement: 
 Pursuant to 12 MRS §§ 685-A (7-A) and 689, the Maine Land Use Planning 
Commission hereby gives notice of its approval of certain amendments to official Land Use 
Guidance Maps and that these changes have been placed on file with the appropriate 
County Registry of Deeds:  
 
 ZONING PETITION PETITIONER OR LOCATION  

COPETITIONER 
 

ZP 674A Michael Beaulieu St. John Plt., N Aroostook County 

ZP 753 ME Land Use Planning T9 R8 WELS, S Aroostook County 

 Commission Staff, & Jason 

 Bouchard Family Trust 
ZP 754 Marianne McEnrue T10 R11 WELS, Piscataquis County 

ZP 761 Peter Lee Freeman Twp., Franklin County 

ZP 762 ME Land Use Planning  T4 R8 & T5 R8 WELS, Penobscot County 

 Commission Staff, &  

 Norvest LLC 

 
Fiscal impact of rule:  
 N/A 



Annual List of Rule-Making Activity 

Rules Adopted January 1, 2016 to December 31, 2016 

Prepared by the Secretary of State, pursuant to 5 MRS §8053-A sub-§5 

 
Agency name: Department of Agriculture, Conservation and Forestry, Land 

Use Planning Commission 
Umbrella-Unit: 01-672 
Statutory authority: 12 MRS §685-A sub-§§ (3),(7-A), §685-C sub-§(5)(A) 
Chapter number/title:  Ch. 10, Land Use Districts and Standards: Road Setbacks and 

Accessory Structures 
Filing number: 2016-134 
Effective date:  8/9/2016 
Type of rule: Routine Technical 
Emergency rule:  No 
 
Principal reason or purpose for rule: 
 The Commission updates its rules to reduce the distance structures must be set back from 
the road to 30 feet in Residential Development (D-RS) and General Development (D-GN) 
subdistricts with corresponding reductions in vegetative buffers. The Commission also reduces the 
road setback requirement for residential structures on State and Federal Routes from 75 feet to 
either 50 or 30 feet, dependent on subdistrict. The Commission allows flexible road setbacks of no 
less than 20 feet from interior roads for non-residential development on a case by case basis 
according to performance criteria. The Commission also allows, under certain conditions, 
residential accessory structures to be placed on new or existing, nonconforming lots across the 
road from the residence. In addition, the Commission adopts edits to the accessory structure by 
standard use listing to clarify that accessory structures must be located in subdistricts which allow 
their associated principal use. Changes to the subdistrict use listings clarify that accessory 
structures may be allowed in LUPC jurisdiction by permit or special exception.  
 
Basis statement: 
 The primary objective of this rule-making is to revise the Commission's rules regarding road 
setbacks and the placement of residential accessory buildings.  

Often, in more densely developed areas, it is appropriate to permit structures closer to the 
road than has been allowed. This rule revision will reduce, for all structures, the required road 
setback and corresponding vegetative buffer to 30 feet in the more densely developed D-RS and D-
GN subdistricts. This will allow property owners in those subdistricts more choices in where to 
place their structures. Because the D-RS and D-GN subdistricts are more densely developed and 
because historical development in many locations within these subdistricts is close to the road, 
this change will not adversely affect the character of most areas within those subdistricts.  

Prior to this proposed rule revision, 75 foot road setbacks have been required for residential 
structures on Federal and State routes. While researching vehicular safety topics associated with 
road setbacks, Commission Staff found that there was not a public safety basis for this large 
setback requirement. Therefore, the proposed rule revisions would eliminate the road setback 
requirement specific to Federal and State routes. The effect of this will be to reduce the road 
setback requirement for residential structures on Federal and State routes to either 50 or 30 feet, 
dependent on subdistrict.  

On some internal roads in commercial developments, the required road setbacks are 
excessive to meet the Commission's goals. The rule revisions would allow flexible road setbacks of 
no less than 20 feet from interior roads in non-residential developments on a case by case basis 
according to performance criteria. The performance criteria are intended to ensure that effects on 
the scenic character are confined to those visiting the facility.  

In some locations the best place for a residential accessory structure is on a smaller sized 
lot across the road from the residence. In cases where the road is not owned by the applicant, it 
has been problematic to permit such accessory structures. The rule revision allows residential 
accessory structures to be permitted on new or existing nonconforming lots across the road from 
residences under certain conditions. These conditions include: that the residential and accessory 
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lots would be continuous except for the road between them; the residential and accessory lots are 
owned or leased in common; zoning and accessory use conditions are met; and the accessory lot 
and accessory structure meet certain dimensional requirements. The rule revision also requires an 
applicant to record the permit for such an accessory structure in the county registry of deeds along 
with the accessory lot deed. This provision is intended to help avoid future nonconforming uses or 
development of the accessory lot. The revision also spells out various options for when the 
accessory structure must be removed or when it may remain if the common ownership or lease of 
the two lots is terminated.  

Since the prior rule revision that added a separate "Accessory Structure" use listing to the 
"Without a Permit Subject to Standards" sections of some subdistricts, there has been some 
ambiguity about whether accessory structures are allowed with a permit. These rule revisions 
clarify that accessory structures may be allowed in LUPC jurisdiction by permit or special 
exception. In addition, the rule edits the accessory structure by standard use listing to clarify that 
accessory structures must be located in subdistricts which allow their associated principal use.  
 

Fiscal impact of rule:  
 There will be no measurable fiscal impact of these rule changes. 
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Agency name: Department of Agriculture, Conservation and Forestry, Land 

Use Planning Commission 
Umbrella-Unit: 01-672 
Statutory authority: 12 MRS §685-C(5)(A); 35-A MRS §3453-A 
Chapter number/title:  Ch. 10, Land Use Districts and Standards: Appendix F, Expedited 

Wind Energy Development Area 
Filing number: 2016-135 
Effective date:  8/9/2016 
Type of rule: Routine Technical 
Emergency rule:  No 
 
Principal reason or purpose for rule: 
 (See Basis Statement) 
 
Basis statement: 
 The 123rd Legislature enacted, "An Act to Implement Recommendations of the Governor's 
Task Force on Wind Power Development," Public Law 2007, Ch. 661 that became effective April 18, 
2008. The Act established the expedited permitting area for wind energy development, 
encompassing all of the organized' area of the State and a portion of the unorganized and 
deorganized areas now served by the Land Use Planning Commission (LUPC or Commission}. As 
directed by that legislation, the Commission adopted through rule-making the description and map 
of the expedited permitting area located in the Commission's rules as Appendix F to Ch. 10, Land 
Use Districts and Standards.  

In 2015, the legislature enacted "An Act To Improve Regulatory Consistency within the 
Jurisdiction of the Maine Land Use Planning Commission," Public Law 2015, Ch. 265 that became 
effective January 1, 2016. The statutory change creates a six month time window within which 
registered voters in a given town, township, or plantation within the Commission's jurisdiction may 
petition to have a place removed from the expedited area. Title 35-A, section 3453-A describes the 
mechanism by which the petition process is to take place, and provides the opportunity for any 
person to object to the removal of the specified place by requesting "substantive review" of the 
petition. Pursuant to the provisions of this section, when a valid petition is filed, the specified place 
automatically will be removed unless a person requests substantive review.  

Each of the petitions listed below comply with the requirements of Title 35-A, Section 3453-A(l) 
and (5). Specifically each individual petition:  

• Was received between January 1 and June 20, 2016;  
• Clearly states that the persons signing the petition are requesting the removal of the 

specified place from the expedited permitting area;  
• Is signed by at least 10% of the number of registered voters residing in the township, 

plantation, municipality or portion thereof that voted in the most recent gubernatorial 
election;  

• Is on a form provided by the Maine Land Use Planning Commission; and  
 • Does not include any land area within:  
  - the project boundary of an existing or proposed, legally permitted expedited wind 

energy development;  
  - the project boundary of a proposed expedited wind energy development, as described 

in the development permit application, that has been accepted for processing by the 
Department of Environmental Protection; and  

  - any specified place added by rule to the expedited permitting area in accordance with 
section 3453 prior to January 1, 2016.  

 

Fiscal impact of rule:  
 (No Fact Sheet included) 
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Agency name: Department of Agriculture, Conservation and Forestry, 

Land Use Planning Commission 
Umbrella-Unit: 01-672 
Statutory authority: 12 MRS §§ 685-A(7-A), 689 
Chapter number/title:  Ch. 10, Land Use Guidance Maps (Amended Zoning Maps): 

Zoning Petition ZP 265 (Wyman Twp., Franklin County) (petitioner 
Maine LUPC staff) (Supersedes 9-20-2016 filing (not accepted); later 
superseded by 2016-203) 

Filing number: 2016-183 
Effective date:  10/19/2016 
Type of rule: Routine Technical 
Emergency rule:  No 
 

Principal reason or purpose for rule: 
 This memo and attachment is to notify your office of Commission actions to amend 
certain Land Use Guidance Maps, and that notice of said changes has been published. 
A current copy of the map has been placed on file as required.  
 
Basis statement: 
 Pursuant to 12 MRS §§ 685-A (7-A) and 689, the Maine Land Use Planning 
Commission hereby gives notice of its approval of certain amendments to official Land Use 
Guidance Maps and that these changes have been placed on file with the appropriate 
County Registry of Deeds:  
 
 ZONING PETITION PETITIONER OR LOCATION  

COPETITIONER 

 ZP 265 Maine Land Use Wyman Twp., Franklin County 
 Planning Commission 

Staff 
 
Fiscal impact of rule:  
 N/A 
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Agency name: Department of Agriculture, Conservation and Forestry, Land 

Use Planning Commission 
Umbrella-Unit: 01-672 
Statutory authority: 12 MRS §§ 685-A(3), 685-A(7-A), 685-C(5) 
Chapter number/title:  Ch. 10, Land Use Districts and Standards (Miscellaneous Rule 

Revisions) 
Filing number: 2016-184 
Effective date:  11/18/2016 
Type of rule: Routine Technical 
Emergency rule:  No 
 
Principal reason or purpose for rule: 
 The Commission adopted miscellaneous rule revisions to Ch. 10, Land use Districts and 
Standards, in order to ensure that the rules are up-to-date, accurate, and as clear as possible. 
The revisions cover numerous general housekeeping matters, such as correcting citation and 
typographical errors, updating references, and clarifying certain provisions.  
 
Basis statement: 
 At its meeting on September 28th, 2016, the Commission adopted miscellaneous rule 
revisions to Ch. 10, Land use Districts and Standards, in order to ensure that the rules are up-to-
date, accurate, and as clear as possible. The revisions cover numerous general housekeeping 
matters, such as correcting citation and typographical errors, updating references, and clarifying 
certain provisions.  
  
Key changes to the rules include:  

• Clarification of certain provisions by adding or removing words or phrases to better 
communicate the intent of the rule. Clarifications include:  
o Replacing "and" with "or";  
o Removing the phrase "this section", and replacing it with the appropriate legal 

reference;  
o Adding simple diagrams;  
o Adding specific subdistricts to existing tables, including adding the Rural Business 

Development Subdistrict (D-RB) to Table 10.25,F-1 in the Noise and Lighting 
Standards (Section 10.25,F);  

o Adding, removing, or correcting legal references; and  
o Adding clarifying language or cross-references to certain provisions.  

• Correction of references to state and federal agencies, outside documents referred to in 
rule, and statutes. Corrections include:  
o Specific names of state and federal agencies;  
o Standardization of various references to outside documents referred to in rule; and  
o Standardization of statutory quotes and citations.  

• Updates to lake and Minor Civil Division (MCD) place names and outside documents that 
are referred to in rule. Updates include:  
o References to natural features, waterbodies, and MCDs to reflect changed place names;  
o References to outside documents referred to in rule to reflect the most current versions.  
The documents include:  

 Corps of Engineers Wetland Delineation Manual and the Regional Supplement to 
the Corps of Engineers Wetland Delineation Manual, North central and Northeast 
Region (U.S. Army Corps of Engineers);  

 Maine Stormwater Best Management Practices Manual, Volume II: Phosphorous 
Control in Lake Watersheds: A Technical Guide to Evaluating New Development 
(Maine Departments of Environmental Protection);  
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 "Maine Erosion and Sediment Control Practices Field Guide for Contractors" 

(Maine Department of Environmental Protection);  

 "Dealing with Unnumbered A Zones in Maine Floodplain Management" (Maine 
Floodplain Management Program); and  

 Coastal Construction Manual (Federal Emergency Management Agency).  
 

 Correction of typos and formatting. Corrections include misspelled words, punctuation, 
and holding section headings.  

 

Fiscal impact of rule:  
 There will be no measurable fiscal impact of these rule changes.  
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Agency name: Department of Agriculture, Conservation and Forestry, Land 

Use Planning Commission  
Umbrella-Unit: 01-672 
Statutory authority: 35 MRS §3453-A; 12 MRS §685-C(5)(A) 
Chapter number/title:  Ch. 10, Land Use Districts and Standards: Appendix F, Expedited 

Wind Energy Development Area (re: nine petitions) 
Filing number: 2016-185 
Effective date:  11/18/2016 
Type of rule: Routine Technical 
Emergency rule:  No 
 
Principal reason or purpose for rule: 
 (See Basis Statement) 
 
Basis statement: 
 The 123rd Legislature enacted An Act to Implement Recommendations of the Governor's Task 
Force on Wind Power Development, PL 2007 ch. 661 that became effective April 18, 2008. The Act 
established the expedited permitting area for wind energy development, encompassing all of the 
organized area of the State and a portion of the unorganized and deorganized areas now served by 
the Land Use Planning Commission (LUPC or Commission). As directed by that legislation, the 
Commission adopted through rule-making the description and map of the expedited permitting 
area located in the Commission's rules as Appendix F to Ch. 10, Land Use Districts and Standards.  
 In 2015, the legislature enacted An Act To Improve Regulatory Consistency within the 
Jurisdiction of the Maine Land Use Planning Commission, PL 2015 ch. 265, that became effective 
January 1, 2016. The statutory change creates a six month time window within which registered 
voters in a given town, township, or plantation within the Commission's jurisdiction may petition 
to have a place removed from the expedited area. Title 35-A §3453-A describes the mechanism by 
which the petition process is to take place, and provides the opportunity for any person to object to 
the removal of the specified place by requesting "substantive review" of the petition. Pursuant to 
the provisions of this section, when a valid petition is filed, the specified place automatically will be 
removed unless a person requests substantive review.  
 This rule adoption deals with nine relevant petitions. Each of the petitions complies with the 
requirements of Title 35-A §3453-A(1) and (5). Specifically each individual petition:  

• Was received between January 1 and June 20, 2016;  
• Clearly states that the persons signing the petition are requesting the removal of the 

specified place from the expedited permitting area;  
• Is signed by at least 10% of the number of registered voters residing in the township, 

plantation, municipality or portion thereof that voted in the most recent gubernatorial 
election;  

• Is on a form provided by the Maine Land Use Planning Commission; and  
• Does not include any land area within:  

- the project boundary of an existing or proposed, legally permitted expedited wind 
energy development;  

- the project boundary of a proposed expedited wind energy development, as described in 
the development permit application, that has been accepted for processing by the 
Department of Environmental Protection; and  

- any specified place added by rule to the expedited permitting area in accordance with 
§3453 prior to January 1, 2016.  

 

Fiscal impact of rule:  
 (No Fact Sheet included) 
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Agency name: Department of Agriculture, Conservation and Forestry, Land 

Use Planning Commission 
Umbrella-Unit: 01-672 
Statutory authority: 35 MRS §3453-A; 12 MRS §685-C(5)(A) 
Chapter number/title:  Ch. 10, Land Use Districts and Standards: Appendix F, Expedited 

Wind Energy Development Area (re: three petitions) 
Filing number: 2016-186 
Effective date:  11/18/2016 
Type of rule: Routine Technical 
Emergency rule:  No 
 
Principal reason or purpose for rule: 
 (See Basis Statement) 
 
Basis statement: 
 The 123rd Legislature enacted An Act to Implement Recommendations of the Governor's Task 
Force on Wind Power Development, PL 2007 ch. 661 that became effective April 18, 2008. The Act 
established the expedited permitting area for wind energy development, encompassing all of the 
organized area of the State and a portion of the unorganized and deorganized areas now served by 
the Land Use Planning Commission (LUPC or Commission). As directed by that legislation, the 
Commission adopted through rule-making the description and map of the expedited permitting 
area located in the Commission's rules as Appendix F to Ch. 10, Land Use Districts and Standards.  
 In 2015, the legislature enacted An Act To Improve Regulatory Consistency within the 
Jurisdiction of the Maine Land Use Planning Commission, PL 2015 ch. 265, that became effective 
January 1, 2016. The statutory change creates a six month time window within which registered 
voters in a given town, township, or plantation within the Commission's jurisdiction may petition 
to have a place removed from the expedited area. Title 35-A §3453-A describes the mechanism by 
which the petition process is to take place, and provides the opportunity for any person to object to 
the removal of the specified place by requesting "substantive review" of the petition. Pursuant to 
the provisions of this section, when a valid petition is filed, the specified place automatically will be 
removed unless a person requests substantive review.  
 This rule adoption deals with three relevant petitions. Each of the petitions complies with 
the requirements of Title 35-A §3453-A(1) and (5). Specifically each individual petition:  

• Was received between January 1 and June 20, 2016;  
• Clearly states that the persons signing the petition are requesting the removal of the 

specified place from the expedited permitting area;  
• Is signed by at least 10% of the number of registered voters residing in the township, 

plantation, municipality or portion thereof that voted in the most recent gubernatorial 
election;  

• Is on a form provided by the Maine Land Use Planning Commission; and  
• Does not include any land area within:  

- the project boundary of an existing or proposed, legally permitted expedited wind 
energy development;  

- the project boundary of a proposed expedited wind energy development, as described in 
the development permit application, that has been accepted for processing by the 
Department of Environmental Protection; and  

- any specified place added by rule to the expedited permitting area in accordance with 
§3453 prior to January 1, 2016.  

 

Fiscal impact of rule:  
 (No Fact Sheet included) 
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Agency name: Department of Agriculture, Conservation and Forestry, 

Land Use Planning Commission 
Umbrella-Unit: 01-672 
Statutory authority: 12 MRS §§ 685-A(7-A), 689 
Chapter number/title:  Ch. 10, Land Use Guidance Maps (Amended Zoning Maps): 

Zoning Petition ZP 265 (Wyman Twp., Franklin County) (petitioner 
Maine LUPC staff) (Supersedes 9-20-2016 filing (not accepted) and 
2016-183) 

Filing number: 2016-203 
Effective date:  11/29/2016 
Type of rule: Routine Technical 
Emergency rule:  No 
 

Principal reason or purpose for rule: 
 This memo and attachment is to notify your office of Commission actions to amend 
certain Land Use Guidance Maps, and that notice of said changes has been published. 
A current copy of the map has been placed on file as required.  
 
Basis statement: 
 Pursuant to 12 MRS §§ 685-A (7-A) and 689, the Maine Land Use Planning 
Commission hereby gives notice of its approval of certain amendments to official Land Use 
Guidance Maps and that these changes have been placed on file with the appropriate 
County Registry of Deeds:  
 
 ZONING PETITION PETITIONER OR LOCATION  

COPETITIONER 

 ZP 265 Maine Land Use Wyman Twp., Franklin County 
 Planning Commission 

Staff 
 
Fiscal impact of rule:  
 N/A 
 


