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CHAPTER 75 
 

H.P. 292 - L.D. 372 
 

Resolve, to Improve Community Safety and Sex Offender 
Accountability 

 
 
 Emergency preamble.  Whereas, Acts and resolves of the Legislature do 
not become effective until 90 days after adjournment unless 
enacted as emergencies; and 
 
 Whereas, completion of the study established in this resolve to 
review policies affecting sentencing, registration, release and 
placement of sex offenders is of vital interest to the citizens 
of this State and must be completed as soon as possible; and 
 
 Whereas, immediate passage of this resolve is necessary to 
provide for full consideration of these important issues, timely 
completion of the study and submission of recommendations for 
consideration by the Second Regular Session of the 121st 
Legislature; and 
 
 Whereas, in the judgment of the Legislature, these facts create 
an emergency within the meaning of the Constitution of Maine and 
require the following legislation as immediately necessary for 
the preservation of the public peace, health and safety; now, 
therefore, be it 
 
 Sec. 1.  Commission established.  Resolved:  That the Commission to Improve 
Community Safety and Sex Offender Accountability, referred to in 
this resolve as "the commission," is established; and be it 
further 
 



 
 Sec. 2.  Commission membership.  Resolved:  That the commission consists of 
the following 18 members: 
 
 1.  One member of the Senate, appointed by the President of 
the Senate; 
 
 2.  Two members of the House of Representatives, appointed by 
the Speaker of the House; 
 
 3.  One representative of the Department of Corrections, 
appointed by the Commissioner of Corrections; 
 
 4.  One representative of the Department of Public Safety's 
Sex Offender Registry Office, appointed by the Commissioner of 
Public Safety; 
 
 5.  One representative of the Office of the Attorney General, 
appointed by the Attorney General; 
 
 6.  Five members appointed by the President of the Senate as 
follows: 
 

A.  One representative of a statewide coalition advocating 
for victims of sexual assault; 

 
B.  One representative of people who provide direct support 
services to victims of sexual assault; 

 
C.  One representative of people who provide direct services 
for sex offenders; 

 
D.  One representative of the Maine Civil Liberties Union; 
and 

 
E.  One representative of the Maine Chiefs of Police 
Association; and 

 
 7.  Six  members appointed by the Speaker of the House of 
Representatives as follows: 
 

A.  One representative of the Maine Association of Criminal 
Defense Lawyers; 

 
B.  One representative of the Maine Prosecutors Association; 

 
C.  One representative of victims of sexual assault; 

 
D.  One representative of psychologists or psychiatrists who 
treat sex offenders; 



 
E.  One representative of the Maine Council of Churches; and 

 
F.  One representative of the Maine Sheriffs' Association. 

 
 The Chief Justice of the Supreme Judicial Court is invited to 
designate a judge or a justice to serve on the commission as a 
member; and be it further 
 
 Sec. 3.  Appointments; chairs; meetings.  Resolved:  That all appointments 
must be made no later than 30 days following the effective date 
of this resolve.  The appointing authorities shall notify the 
Executive Director of the Legislative Council once the 
appointments have been completed.  The Senate member is the 
Senate chair and the first-named House of Representatives member 
is the House chair.  The chairs shall call and convene the first 
meeting of the commission no later than 15 days after 
appointments of all members.  The commission may hold a total of 
4 meetings, one of which may be a public hearing; and be it 
further 
 
 Sec. 4.  Duties.  Resolved:  That the commission shall invite the 
participation of experts and interested parties, gather 
information and request necessary data from public and private 
entities to examine and recommend any changes to current laws 
governing the sentencing, registration, release and placement of 
sex offenders. 
 
 In conducting its study, the commission shall: 
 
 1.  Define and establish minimum standards for notification 
and guidelines concerning notification of sex offenders to the 
public; 
 
 2.  Examine matters concerning the management of offenders, 
including the risk assessment that is currently used to assess 
offenders upon release, the necessity of prerelease discharge 
plans and the benefits of treatment while in corrections 
facilities; and 
 
 3.  Examine issues regarding registration, including the 
current time period allowed offenders before they must register 
with local law enforcement agencies. 
 
 The commission's study may include any other issues the 
commission determines appropriate; and be it further 
 
 Sec. 5.  Staff assistance.  Resolved:  That upon approval of the 
Legislative Council, the Office of Policy and Legal Analysis 



shall provide necessary staffing services to the commission; and 
be it further 
 



 
 Sec. 6.  Compensation.  Resolved:  That the members of the commission who 
are Legislators are entitled to the legislative per diem, as 
defined in the Maine Revised Statutes, Title 3, section 2, and 
reimbursement for necessary expenses incurred for their attendance 
at authorized meetings of the commission.  Other members of the 
commission who are not otherwise compensated by their employers or 
other entities that they represent are entitled to receive 
reimbursement of necessary expenses incurred for their attendance 
at authorized meetings and, upon a demonstration of financial 
hardship, a per diem equal to the legislative per diem for their 
attendance at authorized meetings of the commission; and be it 
further 
 
 Sec. 7.  Funding.  Resolved:  That the commission may seek and accept 
outside funds to support the study.  Prompt notice of 
solicitation and acceptance of funds must be sent to the 
Legislative Council.  All funds accepted must be forwarded to the 
Executive Director of the Legislative Council along with an 
accounting record that includes the amount of funds, date the 
funds were received, from whom the funds were received and the 
purpose and any limitation on the use of the funds.  The 
Executive Director of the Legislative Council administers any 
funds received; and be it further 
 
 Sec. 8.  Report.  Resolved:  That the commission shall submit a report 
that includes its findings and recommendations, including 
suggested legislation, to the Second Regular Session of the 121st 
Legislature no later than December 3, 2003.  If the commission 
requires an extension of time to complete its report, it may 
apply to the Legislative Council, which may grant the extension. 
Following review of the report, the Joint Standing Committee on 
Criminal Justice and Public Safety may report out a bill related 
to the study to the Second Regular Session of the 121st 
Legislature; and be it further 
 
 Sec. 9.  Budget.  Resolved:  That the cochairs of the commission, with 
assistance from the commission's staff, shall administer the 
commission's budget.  Within 10 days after its first meeting, the 
commission shall present a work plan and proposed budget to the 
Legislative Council for approval.  The commission may not incur 
expenses that would result in the commission's exceeding its 
approved budget.  Upon request from the commission, the Executive 
Director of the Legislative council shall promptly provide the 
commission chairs and staff with a status report on the 
commission's budget, expenditures incurred and paid and available 
funds; and be it further 
 
 



 Sec. 10.  Appropriations and allocations.  Resolved:  That the following 
appropriations and allocations are made. 
 
LEGISLATURE 
 
Commission to Improve Community Safety 
and Sex Offender Accountability 
 
Initiative:  Provides a base allocation to authorize expenditures 
from the anticipation of collecting outside funds. 
 
Other Special Revenue Funds 2003-04 2004-05 
 
 All Other   $500 $0 
     ____   
 Other Special Revenue Funds Total $500 $0 
 

 Emergency clause.  In view of the emergency cited in the preamble, this 
resolve takes effect when approved.  
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TITLE:  AN ACT TO IMPLEMENT THE RECOMMENDATIONS OF THE COMMISSION TO IMPROVE 

COMMUNITY SAFETY AND SEX OFFENDER ACCOUNTABILITY 
 

PART A 
 
 Sec. A-1.  17 MRSA §2922, sub-§1 as amended by PL 2003, c. 452, Part I, §47 is 
amended to read: 
  
 1.  Offense. A person is guilty of sexual exploitation of a minor if:  
 

A.  Knowing or intending that the conduct will be photographed, the person intentionally 
or knowingly employs, solicits, entices, persuades, uses or compels another person, not 
that person’s spouse, who is in fact a minor, to engage in sexually explicit conduct; or.  
Violation of this paragraph is a Class B crime; 

  
A-1.  The person violates paragraph A and, at the time of the offense, has one or more 
prior convictions for violating this section;.  Violation of this paragraph is a Class A crime; 

 
 A-2.  The person violates paragraph A, and the victim has not in fact attained the age of 

12 years.  Violation of this paragraph is a Class A crime; 
 
 A-3.  The person violates paragraph A and, at the time of the offense, the person has one 

or more prior convictions for violating this section, and the victim has not in fact attained 
the age of 12 years.  Violation of this paragraph is a Class A crime; 

 
B.  Being a parent, legal guardian or other person having care or custody of another 
person, who is in fact a minor, that person knowingly or intentionally permits that minor 
to engage in sexually explicit conduct, knowing or intending that the conduct will be 
photographed; or.  Violation of this paragraph is a Class B crime; 

 
B-1.  The person violates paragraph B, and the victim has not in fact attained the age of 
12 years.  Violation of this paragraph is a Class A crime; 
 
C.  The person violates paragraph B and, at the time of the offense, has one or more prior 
convictions for violating this section.  Violation of this paragraph is a Class A crime; or 
 

 C-1.   The person violates paragraph B and, at the time of the offense, the person has one 
or more prior convictions for violating this section, and the victim has not in fact attained 
the age of 12 years.  Violation of this paragraph is a Class A crime. 
 
Sec. A-2.  17 MRSA §2922, sub-§2, as amended by PL 2003, c. 452, Part I, §48 is 

repealed. 
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Sec. A-3.  17 MRSA §2922, sub-§3 is enacted to read: 
 
3.  Mandatory minimum terms of imprisonment.  The following mandatory minimum 

terms of imprisonment apply to sexual exploitation of a minor. 
 
A.  A court shall impose upon a person convicted under subsection 1, paragraphs A-1 or 
C a sentencing alternative involving a term of imprisonment of at least 10 years. 

 
B.  A court shall impose upon a person convicted under subsection 1, paragraphs A or B a 
sentencing alternative involving a term of imprisonment of at least 5 years. 
 

The court may not suspend a minimum term of imprisonment imposed under paragraph A or B 
unless it sets forth in detail, in writing, the reasons for suspending the sentence.  The court shall 
consider the nature and circumstances of the crime, the physical and mental well-being of the 
minor and the history and character of the defendant and may only suspend the minimum term if it 
is of the opinion that exceptional features of the case justify the imposition of another sentence.  
Title 17-A, section 9-A governs the use of prior convictions when determining a sentence. 

 
Sec. A-4.  17 MRSA §2923, sub-§1, as amended by PL 2003, c. 452, Part I, §49 is 

amended to read: 
 
1. Offense.  A person is guilty of dissemination of sexually explicit material if: 
 
A.  The person intentionally or knowingly disseminates or possesses with intent to 
disseminate any book, magazine, print, negative, slide, motion picture, videotape, 
computer data file or other mechanically, electronically or chemically reproduced visual 
image or material that depicts any minor, who the person knows or has reason to know is a 
minor, engaging in sexually explicit conduct; or.  Violation of this paragraph is a Class C 
crime; 
 
B.  The person violates paragraph A and, at the time of the offense, has one or more prior 
convictions for violating this section.  Violation of this paragraph is a Class B crime; 

 
C.  The person intentionally or knowingly disseminates or possesses with intent to 
disseminate any book, magazine, print, negative, slide, motion picture, videotape, 
computer data file or other mechanically, electronically or chemically reproduced visual 
image or material that depicts any person who is less than 12 years of age, who the person 
knows or has reason to know is a person less than 12 years of age, engaging in sexually 
explicit conduct.  Violation of this paragraph is a Class B crime; or 
 
D.  The person violates paragraph C and, at the time of the offense, has one or more prior 
convictions for violating this section.  Violation of this paragraph is a Class A crime. 
 



PROPOSED LEGISLATION  
COMMISSION TO IMPROVE COMMUNITY SAFETY AND SEX OFFENDER ACCOUTNABILITY 

 
 

Prepared by Office of Policy & Legal Analysis                                                                                                                        p. 
3 
 

Title 17-A, section 9-A governs the use of prior convictions when determining a sentence.  
 

Sec. A-4.  17 MRSA §2923, sub-§3, as amended by PL 2003, c. 452, Part I, §49 is 
repealed. 
 

Sec. A-5.  17 MRSA §2924, sub-§2-A, as amended by PL 2003, c. 452, Part I, §52 is 
amended to read: 

 
2-A.  Offense.  A person is guilty of possession of sexually explicit material if that person: 
 
A.  Intentionally or knowingly transports, exhibits, purchases or possesses any book, 
magazine, print, negative, slide, motion picture, computer data file, videotape or other 
mechanically, electronically or chemically reproduced visual image or material that the 
person knows or should know depicts another person engaging in sexually explicit 
conduct, and: 

 
(1)  The other person has not in fact attained the age of 14 years; or   

 
(2)  The person knows or has reason to know that the other person has not attained 
the age of 14 years; or .  

 
Violation of this paragraph is a Class D crime; 

 
B.  Violates paragraph A and, at the time of the offense, has one or more prior convictions 
for violating this section.  Violation of this paragraph is a Class C crime; 

 
C.  Intentionally or knowingly transports, exhibits, purchases or possesses any book, 
magazine, print, negative, slide, motion picture, computer data file, videotape or other 
mechanically, electronically or chemically reproduced visual image or material that the 
person knows or should know depicts another person engaging in sexually explicit 
conduct, and: 

 
(1)  The other person has not in fact attained the age of 12 years; or   

 
(2)  The person knows or has reason to know that the other person has not 
attained the age of 12 years. 

 
Violation of this paragraph is a Class C crime; or 
 
D.  Violates paragraph C and, at the time of the offense, has one or more prior convictions 
for violating this section.  Violation of this paragraph is a Class B crime. 
 
Title 17-A, section 9-A governs the use of prior convictions when determining a sentence. 
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Sec. A-6.  17 MRSA §2924, sub-§5, as amended by PL 2003, c. 452, Part I, §53 is 
repealed. 

 
Sec. A-7.  17-A MRSA §253, sub-§1, ¶¶ C is enacted to read: 

 
C.  The other person, not the actor’s spouse, has not in fact attained the age of 12 years.  
Violation of this paragraph is a Class A crime.  
 
Sec. A-8. 17-A MRSA §255-A, sub-§1, ¶¶¶¶E-1 and F-1 is amended to read: 
 
1.  A person is guilty of unlawful sexual contact if the actor intentionally subjects another 

person to any sexual contact and: 
 

E-1.  The other person, not the actor's spouse, is in fact less than 12 years of age and the 
actor is at least 3 years older.  Violation of this paragraph is a Class B crime; 

 
F-1.  The other person, not the actor's spouse, is in fact less than 12 years of age and the 
actor is at least 3 years older and the sexual contact includes penetration.  Violation of this 
paragraph is a Class A crime; 
 
Sec. A-9.  17-A MRSA §256, 1 is amended to read: 
 
1.  A person is guilty of visual sexual aggression against a child if, for the purpose of 

arousing or gratifying sexual desire or for the purpose of causing affront or alarm, the actor, 
having in fact attained 18 years of age, exposes the actor's genitals to another person or causes the 
other person to expose that person's genitals to the actor and the other person, not the actor's 
spouse, has not in fact attained 14 years of age.  Violation of this subsection is a Class D crime. 

 
Sec. A-10.  17-A MRSA §256, 1-A is enacted to read: 
 
1-A.  A person is guilty of visual sexual aggression against a child if, for the purpose of 

arousing or gratifying sexual desire or for the purpose of causing affront or alarm, the actor, 
having in fact attained 18 years of age, exposes the actor's genitals to another person or causes the 
other person to expose that person's genitals to the actor and the other person, not the actor's 
spouse, has not in fact attained 12 years of age.  Violation of this subsection is a Class C crime. 
 
 Sec. A-11.  17-A MRSA §256, sub-§2 is repealed. 
  
 Sec. A-12.  17-A MRSA 258, sub-§1 is amended to read: 
 
 1.  A person is guilty of sexual misconduct with a child under 14 years of age if that 
person, having in fact attained 18 years of age knowingly displays any sexually explicit materials 
to another person, not the actor's spouse, who has not in fact attained the age of 14 years, with 
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the intent to encourage the other person to engage in a sexual act or sexual contact.  Violation of 
this subsection is a Class D crime. 
 
 Sec. A-13.  17-A MRSA §258, sub-§1-A is enacted to read: 
 
 1-A.  A person is guilty of sexual misconduct with a child under 12 years of age if that 
person, having in fact attained 18 years of age knowingly displays any sexually explicit materials 
to another person, not the actor's spouse, who has not in fact attained the age of 12 years, with 
the intent to encourage the other person to engage in a sexual act or sexual contact.  Violation of 
this subsection is a Class C crime. 
 
 Sec. A-14.  17-A MRSA  §258, sub-§3 is repealed. 
 
 Sec. A-15.  17-A MRSA §259, sub-§1-A is amended to read: 
 

1-A.  A person is guilty of soliciting a child by a computer to commit a prohibited act if: 
 

A.  The actor: 
 

(1)  Uses a computer knowingly to solicit, entice, persuade or compel another 
person to meet with the actor; 

 
(2)  Is at least 16 years of age; 
 
(3)  Knows or believes that the other person is less than 14 years of age; and 

 
(4)  Is at least 3 years older than the expressed age of the other person; and   

 
B.  The actor has the intent to engage in any one of the following prohibited acts with the 
other person: 

 
(1)  A sexual act as defined in section 251, subsection 1, paragraph C; 

 
(2)  Sexual contact as defined in section 251, subsection 1, paragraph D; or 

 
(3)  Sexual exploitation of a minor pursuant to Title 17, section  2922.    

 
 Violation of this subsection is a Class D crime. 
 
 Sec. A-16.  17-A MRSA §259, sub-§1-B is enacted to read: 
 

1-B.  A person is guilty of soliciting a child by a computer to commit a prohibited act if: 
 

A.  The actor: 
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(1)  Uses a computer knowingly to solicit, entice, persuade or compel another 
person to meet with the actor; 

 
(2)  Is at least 16 years of age; 

 
(3)  Knows or believes that the other person is less than 12 years of age; and 

 
(4)  Is at least 3 years older than the expressed age of the other person; and   

 
B.  The actor has the intent to engage in any one of the following prohibited acts with the 
other person: 

 
(1)  A sexual act as defined in section 251, subsection 1, paragraph C; 

 
(2)  Sexual contact as defined in section 251, subsection 1, paragraph D; or 

 
(3)  Sexual exploitation of a minor pursuant to Title 17, section  2922. 

 
Violation of this subsection is a Class C crime.   
 
Sec. A-17.  17-A MRSA §259, sub-§3 is repealed. 
 
Sec. A-18.  17-A MRSA §511, sub-§1 is amended to read: 
 
1.  A person is guilty of violation of privacy if, except in the execution of a public duty or 

as authorized by law, that person intentionally:  
 
A.  Commits a civil trespass on property with the intent to overhear or observe any person 
in a private place.  Violation of this paragraph is a Class D crime;   

 
B.  Installs or uses in a private place without the consent of the person or persons entitled 
to privacy in that place, any device for observing, photographing, recording, amplifying or 
broadcasting sounds or events in that place.  Violation of this paragraph is a Class D 
crime;   

 
C.  Installs or uses outside a private place without the consent of the person or persons 
entitled to privacy therein, any device for hearing, recording, amplifying or broadcasting 
sounds originating in that place that would not ordinarily be audible or comprehensible 
outside that place; or .  Violation of this paragraph is a Class D crime. 

 
D.  Engages in visual surveillance in a public place by means of mechanical or electronic 
equipment with the intent to observe or photograph, or record, amplify or broadcast an 
image of any portion of the body of another person present in that place when that portion 
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of the body is in fact concealed from public view under clothing and a reasonable person 
would expect it to be safe from surveillance.  Violation of this paragraph is a Class D 
crime; or  

 
E.  Engages in visual surveillance in a public place by means of mechanical or electronic 
equipment with the intent to observe or photograph, or record, amplify or broadcast an 
image of any portion of the body of another person present in that place when that portion 
of the body is in fact concealed from public view under clothing and a reasonable person 
would expect it to be safe from surveillance and the person or persons entitled to privacy 
in that place are under 12 years of age.  Violation of this paragraph is a Class C crime. 
 
Sec. A-19.  17-A MRSA §511, sub-§3 is repealed. 

 
 Sec. A-20.  17-A MRSA §1152, sub-§2-C is amended to read: 

 
2-C.  As part of a At the time the court imposes a sentence, the court shall order every 
natural person who is a convicted sex offender of a sex offense or a sexually violent 
offense sexually violent predator, as defined under Title 34-A, section 11203 to satisfy all 
requirements set forth in the Sex Offender Registration and Notification Act of 1999. 
 
Sec. A-21.  17-A MRSA §1202, sub-§ 1-A, ¶A is repealed and replaced with the 

following: 
 
A.  If the State pleads and proves that at the time of the crime the victim had not attained 
12 years of age, the period of probation for a person convicted under chapter 11 or Title 
17, chapter 93-B may not exceed: 

 
(1)  18 years for a Class A crime; 
 
(2)  12 years for a Class B crime; and 
 
(3)  6 years for a Class C crime; 

 
 Sec. A-22.  17-A MRSA §1202, sub-§1-A, ¶B is amended to read: 

B.  The period of probation for a person sentenced as a dangerous repeat sexual assault 
offender pursuant to under section 1252, subsection 4-B is any term of years.; and   

 
 Sec. A-23.   17-A MRSA §1202, sub-§1-A, ¶C is enacted to read: 
 

C.  The period of probation for a person sentenced under section 1252, subsection 5-C 
may not exceed 18 years. 

 
 Sec. A-24.  17-A MRSA §1203, §1-A, ¶B is amended to read: 



PROPOSED LEGISLATION  
COMMISSION TO IMPROVE COMMUNITY SAFETY AND SEX OFFENDER ACCOUTNABILITY 

 
 

Prepared by Office of Policy & Legal Analysis                                                                                                                        p. 
8 
 

 
B.  The court may revoke probation if, during the initial unsuspended portion of the term 
of imprisonment, a person sentenced as a dangerous repeat sexual assault offender, 
pursuant to under section 1252, subsection 4-B, refuses to actively participate in a sex 
offender treatment program in accordance with the expectations and judgment of the 
treatment providers, when requested to do so by the Department of Corrections.   

 
Sec. A-25.  17-A MRSA §1231, sub-§2, ¶A is amended to read: 

 
A.  Any period of years for a person sentenced as a dangerous repeat sexual assault 
offender pursuant to under section 1252, subsection 4-B; and   

 
 Sec. A-26.  17-A MRSA §1252, sub-§4-B is amended to read: 
 
 4-B.  If the State pleads and proves that the defendant is a dangerous repeat sexual assault 
offender, the court, notwithstanding subsection 2, may set a definite period of imprisonment for 
any term of years. 
 

A.  As used in this section, "dangerous repeat sexual assault offender" means a person 
who commits a new gross sexual assault after having been convicted previously and 
sentenced for any of the following: 

 
(1)  Gross sexual assault, formerly denominated as gross sexual misconduct; 

 
(2)  Rape; 

 
(3)  Attempted murder accompanied by sexual assault; 

 
(4)  Murder accompanied by sexual assault; or 

 
(5)  Conduct substantially similar to a crime listed in subparagraph (1), (2), (3) or  
(4) that is a crime under the laws of the United States or any other state. 

 
The date of sentencing is the date of the oral pronouncement of the sentence by the trial 
court, even if an appeal is taken.   

 
B.  "Accompanied by sexual assault" as used with respect to attempted murder, murder 
and crimes involving substantially similar conduct in other jurisdictions is satisfied if the 
sentencing court at the time of sentence imposition makes such a finding.   

 
Sec. A-27.  17-A MRSA §1252, sub-§§5-C and 5-D are enacted to read: 

 
 5-C.  In using a sentencing alternative involving a term of imprisonment for a person 
convicted of a Class A crime of gross sexual assault who, at the time the crime was committed, 
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had previously been convicted and sentenced for a Class B or Class C crime of unlawful sexual 
contact, or an essentially similar crime in another jurisdiction, the court may impose a maximum 
period of incarceration in excess of 20 years based on the prior conviction. 
 
 5-D.  In using a sentencing alternative involving a term of imprisonment for a person 
convicted under section 253, subsection 1, paragraph C or Title 17, section 2922, subsection 1, 
paragraphs A-2, A-3, B-1 or C-1, the court may impose a maximum period of incarceration in 
excess of 20 years based on the fact that the victim had not attained 12 years of age. 

 
 

PART B 
 
Sec. B-1.  34-A MRSA §11201 is amended to read: 
 

§11201. Short title 
 
 This chapter may be known and cited as the "Sex Offender Registration and Notification 
Act of 1999."  The purpose of this chapter is to protect the public from potentially dangerous sex 
offenders and sexually violent predators registrants by enhancing access to information concerning 
sex offenders and sexually violent predators registrants. 

 
Sec. B-2.  34-A MRSA §11202 is repealed and replaced with the following: 

 
§11202. Application 
 
 This chapter applies to a person defined as a 10-year registrant or lifetime registrant who 
has been sentenced on or after June 30, 1992. 
 

Sec. B-3.  34-A MRSA §11203 is amended to read: 
  

1.  Bureau.  "Bureau" means the State Bureau of Identification. 
 

1-A.  Conditional release.  "Conditional release" means supervised release of a sex 
offender or a sexually violent predator registrant from institutional confinement for placement on 
probation, parole, intensive supervision, supervised community confinement, home release 
monitoring or release under Title 15, section 104-A or Title 17-A, chapter 50. 
 
 1-B.  Discharge.  "Discharge" means unconditional release and discharge of a sex 
offender or a sexually violent predator registrant from institutional confinement upon the 
expiration of a sentence or upon discharge under Title 15, section 104-A. 
 

2.  Domicile.  "Domicile" means the place where a person lives, resides or dwells.  
 
 3. FBI.  "FBI" means the Federal Bureau of Investigation. 
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 4.  Law enforcement agency having jurisdiction.  "Law enforcement agency having 
jurisdiction" means the chief of police in the municipality where a sex offender registrant expects 
to be or is domiciled.  If the municipality does not have a chief of police, "law enforcement agency 
having jurisdiction" means the sheriff of the county were the municipality is located.  "Law 
enforcement agency having jurisdiction" also means the sheriff of the county in an unorganized 
territory. 
 
 4-A.  Risk assessment instrument.  "Risk assessment instrument" means an instrument 
created and modified as necessary by reviewing and analyzing precursors to a sex offense, victim 
populations of a sex offender or a sexually violent predator registrant, living conditions and 
environment of a sex offender or a sexually violent predator registrant and other factors 
predisposing a person to become a sex offender, repeat sex offender or sexually violent registrant, 
for the ongoing purpose of identifying risk factors used to provide notification of a sex offender’s 
or a sexually violent predator’s registrant’s conditional release or discharge from a state 
correctional facility to law enforcement agencies and to the public. 
 
 4-B.  Sentence.  "Sentence," in addition to any punishment alternatives, includes an 
involuntary commitment under Title 15, section 103, or similar statute from another jurisdiction, 
following a verdict of not criminally responsible by reason of mental disease or defect or similar 
verdict in another jurisdiction. 
 
 5.  Sex offender 10-year registrant.  "Sex offender" “10-year registrant” means a person 
who is an adult convicted and sentenced or a juvenile convicted and sentenced as an adult of a sex 
offense. 
 
 6.  Sex offense.  "Sex offense" means a conviction for one of the following offenses or for 
an attempt or solicitation of one of the following offenses if the victim was less than 18 years of 
age at the time of the criminal conduct: 
 

A.  A violation under Title 17, section 2922, 2923 or 2924; 
 

B.  A violation under Title 17-A, section 253, subsection 2, paragraph E, F, G, H, I or J; 
Title 17-A, section 254; former Title 17-A section 255, subsection 1, paragraph A, B, D, 
E, F, I or J, if the crime was not elevated a class under Title 17-A, section 255, subsection 
3; Title 17-A, section 255-A, subsection 1, paragraph A, B, C, G, I, J, K, L, M, N, Q, R, 
S or T; Title 17-A, section 256; Title 17-A, section 258; Title 17-A, section 259; Title 17-
A, section 301, unless the actor is a parent of the victim; Title 17-A, section 302; Title 17-
A, section 511, subsection 1, paragraph D; Title 17-A, section 556; Title 17-A, section 
852, subsection 1, paragraph B; or Title 17-A, section 855; or    

 
C.  A violation of an offense in another jurisdiction, including, but not limited to, a state, 
federal, military or tribal court, that includes the essential elements of an offense listed in 
paragraph A or B.    
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 7.  Sexually violent offense.  "Sexually violent offense" means: 
 

A.  A conviction for one of the offenses or for an attempt to commit one of the offenses 
under former Title 17-A, section 252; Title 17-A, section 253, subsection 1; Title 17-A, 
section 253, subsection 2, paragraph A, B, C or D; former Title 17-A, section 255, 
subsection 1, paragraph C or H or paragraph A, B, D, E, F, G, I or J if the crime was 
elevated a class under Title 17-A, section 255, subsection 3; or Title 17-A, section 255-A, 
subsection 1, paragraph C, D, E, F, G, H, O or P; or  

 
B.  A conviction for an offense or for an attempt to commit an offense of the law in 
another jurisdiction, including, but not limited to, a state, federal, military or tribal court, 
that includes the essential elements of an offense listed in paragraph A.   

 
 8.  Sexually violent predator Lifetime registrant.  "Sexually violent predator" “Lifetime 
registrant” means a person who is an adult convicted and sentenced or a juvenile convicted and 
sentenced as an adult of a: 
 

A.  Sexually violent offense; 
 

B.  Sex offense when the person has a prior conviction for or an attempt to commit an 
offense that includes the essential elements of a sex offense or sexually violent offense.    

 
9.  Another state.  “Another state” means the 49 states other than Maine, the District of 

Columbia, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, the Virgin Islands, American Samoa, Guam and 
the Northern Mariana Islands. 
 

10.  Jurisdiction.  “Jurisdiction” means the federal government, including the military; 
this State or another state or tribe. 
 

11.  Registrant.  “Registrant” means a 10-year registrant or a lifetime registrant or, where 
appropriate, both a 10-year registrant and a lifetime registrant. 

 
 12.  Tribe.  “Tribe” means the Passamaquoddy tribe or the Penobscot Nation. 

 
Sec. B-4.  34-A MRSA §11221, sub-§§1, 2, 6, 9 and 10 are amended to read: 

 
 1.  Maintenance of registry.  The bureau shall establish and maintain a registry of 
persons required to register pursuant to this subchapter.  The registry must include the following 
information on each registrant: 
 

A.  The sex offender's or sexually violent predator's registrant’s name, aliases, date of 
birth, sex, race, height, weight, eye color, mailing address, home address or expected 
domicile;    
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B.  Place of employment and college or school being attended, if applicable, and the 
corresponding address and location;  

 
C.  Offense history;    

 
D.  Notation of any treatment received for a mental abnormality or personality disorder;    

 
E.  A photograph and set of fingerprints;  

 
F.  A description of the offense for which the sex offender or sexually violent predator 
registrant was convicted, the date of conviction and the sentence imposed; and    

 
G.  Any other information the bureau determines important. 

 
 2.  National or regional registry.  The bureau is authorized to make the registry available 
to and accept files from a national or regional registry of sex offenders registrants for the purpose 
of sharing information. 
 
 6.  Distribution of information to department and law enforcement agencies.  The 
bureau shall distribute information described in subsection 1 to the department and law 
enforcement agencies having jurisdiction over the address and location of the sex offender's or 
sexually violent predator's registrant’s domicile, place of employment and college or school being 
attended. 
 
 9.  Public access to information.  The bureau shall provide information to the public as 
follows. 
 

A.  The bureau shall post on the Internet for public inspection the following information 
concerning a sex offender or sexually violent predator registrant: 

 
(1)  The sex offender's or sexually violent predator's registrant’s name, date of 
birth and photograph; 

 
(2)  The sex offender's or sexually violent predator's registrant’s city or town of 
domicile; 

 
(3)  The sex offender's or sexually violent predator's registrant’s place of 
employment and college or school being attended, if applicable, and the 
corresponding address and location; and 

 
(4)  The statutory citation and name of the offense for which the sex offender or 
sexually violent predator registrant was convicted  
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B.  Upon receiving a written request that includes the name and date of birth of a sex 
offender or sexually violent predator registrant, the bureau shall provide the following 
information concerning a sex offender or sexually violent predator registrant to the 
requestor: 

 
(1)  The sex offender's or sexually violent predator's registrant’s name, aliases, date 
of birth, sex, race, height, weight, eye color, mailing address and home address or 
domicile; 

 
(2)  The sex offender's or sexually violent predator's registrant’s place of 
employment and college or school being attended, if applicable, and the 
corresponding address and location; 

 
(3)  A description of the offense for which the sex offender or sexually violent 
predator registrant was convicted, the date of conviction and the sentence 
imposed; and 

 
(4)  The sex offender's or sexually violent predator's registrant’s photograph.  
 

 10.  Sex offender or sexually violent predator Registrant access to information.  
Pursuant to Title 16, section 620, the bureau shall provide all information described in subsection 
1 to a sex offender or sexually violent predator registrant who requests that person's own 
information. 
 

Sec. B-5.  34-A MRSA §11222 is amended to read: 
 

§11222. Duty of sex offender or sexually violent predator registrant to register 
 
 1.  Determination by court.  The court shall determine at the time of sentencing if a 
defendant is a sex offender 10-year registrant or sexually violent predator lifetime registrant.  A 
person who the court determines is a sex offender 10-year registrant or sexually violent predator 
lifetime registrant shall register according to this subchapter. 
 
 1-A.  When duty to register must be exercised.  Following determination by the court 
under subsection 1, a sex offender or sexually violent predator registrant shall register as follows. 
 

A.  If the sex offender or sexually violent predator registrant is sentenced to a wholly 
suspended sentence with probation or to a punishment alternative not involving 
imprisonment, the duty to register is triggered at the time the person commences an actual 
execution of the wholly suspended sentence or at the time of sentence imposition when no 
punishment alternative involving imprisonment is imposed, unless the court orders a stay 
of execution, in which event the duty is triggered by the termination of the stay.   
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B.  If the sex offender or sexually violent predator registrant is sentenced to a straight 
term of imprisonment or to a split sentence, the duty to register is triggered by discharge 
or conditional release.  

 
C.  If the sex offender or sexually violent predator registrant is committed under Title 15, 
section 103, the duty to register is triggered by discharge or conditional release under Title 
15, section 104-A.  

 
 2.  Responsibility of ensuring initial registration.  The department, the county jail or 
the state mental health institute that has custody of a sex offender or sexually violent predator 
registrant required to register under this subchapter shall inform the sex offender or sexually 
violent predator registrant, prior to discharge or conditional release, of the duty to register.  If a 
sex offender or sexually violent predator registrant does not serve a period of institutional 
confinement, the court shall inform the sex offender or sexually violent predator registrant at the 
time of sentencing of the duty to register.  The department, county jail, state mental health 
institute or court shall: 
 

A.  Inform the sex offender or sexually violent predator registrant of the duty to register 
and obtain the information required for the initial registration;    

 
B.  Inform the sex offender or sexually violent predator registrant that if the sex offender 
or sexually violent predator registrant changes domicile, place of employment or college 
or school being attended, the sex offender or sexually violent predator registrant shall give 
the new address to the bureau in writing within 10 days;  

 
C.  Inform the sex offender or sexually violent predator registrant that if that sex offender 
or sexually violent predator registrant changes domicile to another state, the sex offender 
or sexually violent predator registrant shall register the new address with the bureau and if 
the new state has a registration requirement, the sex offender or sexually violent predator 
registrant shall register with a designated law enforcement agency in the new state not 
later than 10 days after establishing domicile in the new state;    

 
D.  Inform the sex offender or sexually violent predator registrant that if that sex offender 
or sexually violent predator registrant has part-time or full-time employment in another 
state, with or without compensation, for more than 14 consecutive days or for an 
aggregate period exceeding 30 days in a calendar year or if that sex offender or sexually 
violent predator registrant enrolls in any type of school in another state on a part-time or 
full-time basis, the sex offender or sexually violent predator registrant shall give the bureau 
the registrant's place of employment or school to be attended in writing within 10 days 
after beginning work or attending school and if the other state has a registration 
requirement, shall register with the designated law enforcement agency in the other state;    

 
E.  Obtain fingerprints and a photograph of the sex offender or sexually violent predator 
registrant or the court may order the sex offender or sexually violent predator registrant to 
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submit to the taking of fingerprints and a photograph at a specified law enforcement 
agency within 3 days if the fingerprints and photograph have not already been obtained in 
connection with the offense that necessitates registration; and  

 
F.  Enforce the requirement that the sex offender or sexually violent predator registrant 
read and sign a form provided by the bureau that states that the duty of the sex offender or 
sexually violent predator registrant to register under this section has been explained. 

 
 2-A.  Duty of sex offender or sexually violent predator registrant sentenced from 
June 30, 1992 to September 17, 1999 to register.  Notwithstanding subsection 1 and except as 
provided in subsection 2-B, a person coming within the definition of a 10-year registrant or a 
lifetime registrant, who has been sentenced on or after June 30, 1992 but before September 18, 
1999 for a sex offense or a sexually violent offense shall register either as a sex offender or 
sexually violent predator 10-year registrant or a lifetime registrant, whichever is applicable, with 
the bureau by September 1, 2002 if the duty to register has been triggered under subsection 1-A, 
paragraph A, B or C, unless sooner notified in writing of a duty to register under subsection 1-A, 
paragraph A, B or C by the bureau, the department or a law enforcement officer, in which case 
the person shall register with the bureau within 10 days of notice. 
 
 2-B.  Duty to register for new crimes.  For a person otherwise subject to subsection 2-A 
who has been sentenced for a crime added by amendment made to the definition of sex offense or 
sexually violent offense since September 1, 2002, if the duty to register has been triggered under 
subsection 1-A, paragraph A, B or C, that person shall register as a 10-year registrant or a lifetime 
registrant, whichever is applicable, with the bureau by June 1, 2005, unless sooner notified in 
writing of a duty to register under subsection 1-A, paragraph A, B or C by the bureau, the 
department or a law enforcement officer, in which case the person shall register with the bureau 
within 10 days of notice. 
 
 3.  Transfer of initial registration information to bureau and FBI.  The department, 
county jail, state mental health institute or court within 3 days of receipt of the information 
described in subsection 2 shall forward the information to the bureau.  If the court orders the sex 
offender or sexually violent predator registrant to submit to the taking of fingerprints and a 
photograph at a specified law enforcement agency, the law enforcement agency shall submit the 
fingerprints and photograph to the bureau within 3 days.  The bureau shall immediately enter the 
information into the registration system, notify the law enforcement agency having jurisdiction 
where the sex offender or sexually violent predator registrant expects to be domiciled and transmit 
the information to the FBI for inclusion in the national FBI sex offender database. 
 4.  Verification.  During the period a sex offender or sexually violent predator registrant 
is required to register, the bureau shall verify a sex offender’s or sexually violent predator’s 
registrant’s domicile.  The bureau shall verify the domicile of a sex offender 10-year registrant on 
each anniversary of the sex offender’s 10-year registrant’s initial registration date and shall verify 
a sexually violent predator’s lifetime registrant’s domicile every 90 days after that sexually violent 
predator’s lifetime registrant’s initial registration date.  Verification of the domicile of a sex 
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offender 10-year registrant or sexually violent predator a lifetime registrant occurs as set out in 
this subsection. 
 

A.  At least 10 days prior to the required verification date, the bureau shall mail a 
nonforwardable verification form to the last reported mailing address of the sex offender 
or sexually violent predator registrant.  

 
B.  The verification form must state that the sex offender or sexually violent predator 
registrant still resides at the address last reported to the bureau.    

 
C.  The sex offender or sexually violent predator registrant shall take the completed 
verification form and a photograph to the law enforcement agency having jurisdiction 
within 10 days of receipt of the form.    

 
D.  The law enforcement agency having jurisdiction shall verify the sex offender’s or 
sexually violent predator’s registrant’s identity, have the sex offender or sexually violent 
predator registrant sign the verification form, take the sex offender’s or sexually violent 
predator' registrant’s fingerprints, complete the law enforcement portion of the verification 
form and immediately forward the fingerprints, photograph and form to the bureau  

 
 5.  Change of domicile, place of employment or college or school being attended.  A 
sex offender or sexually violent predator registrant shall notify the bureau in writing of a change 
of domicile, place of employment or college or school being attended within 10 days after that 
change. 
 

A.  If the sex offender or sexually violent predator registrant establishes a new domicile, 
place of employment or college or school being attended in the State, the bureau shall 
notify, within 3 days, both the law enforcement agency having jurisdiction where the sex 
offender or sexually violent predator registrant was formerly domiciled, employed or 
enrolled and the law enforcement agency having jurisdiction where the sex offender or 
sexually violent predator registrant is currently domiciled, employed or enrolled.    

 
B.  If the sex offender or sexually violent predator registrant establishes a domicile, place 
of employment or college or school being attended in another state, the bureau shall 
notify, within 3 days, the law enforcement agency having jurisdiction where the sex 
offender or sexually violent predator registrant was formerly domiciled, employed or 
enrolled and the law enforcement agency having jurisdiction where the sex offender or 
sexually violent predator registrant is currently domiciled, employed or enrolled.    

 
 For purposes of registration requirements pursuant to this subchapter, convictions that 
result from or are connected with the same act or result from offenses committed at the same time 
are considered as one conviction.   
 
 Sec. B-6.  34-A MRSA §11223 is amended to read: 
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§11223. Duty of person establishing domicile to register 
 
 A person required under another jurisdiction to register pursuant to that jurisdiction's sex 
offender registration statute or, who is convicted and sentenced of a sex offense or sexually 
violent offense that would require registration in this State if not so required, who has been 
convicted and sentenced for an offense that includes the essential elements of a sex offense or 
sexually violent offense, shall register as a sex offender 10-year registrant or sexually violent 
predator lifetime registrant, whichever is applicable, within 10 days of establishing domicile in this 
State.  The person shall contact the bureau, which shall provide the person with the registration 
form and direct the person to take the form and a photograph of the person to the law 
enforcement agency having jurisdiction.  The law enforcement agency shall supervise the 
completion of the form, take the person's fingerprints and immediately forward the form, 
photograph and fingerprints to the bureau.    
 
 Sec. B-7.  34-A MRSA §11224 is amended to read:   
 
§11224. Duty of person employed or attending college or school to register 
 
 A person who is required under another jurisdiction to register pursuant to that 
jurisdiction's sex offender registration statute because the person is domiciled in another state or, 
who is convicted and sentenced of a sex offense or sexually violent offense that would require 
registration in this State if not so required, who has been convicted and sentenced for an offense 
that includes the essential elements of a sex offense or sexually violent offense, shall register as a 
sex offender 10-year registrant or sexually violent predator lifetime registrant, whichever is 
applicable, within 10 days of beginning full-time or part-time employment, with or without 
compensation, for more than 14 consecutive days or for an aggregate period exceeding 30 days in 
a calendar year or beginning college or school on a full-time or part-time basis in this State.  The 
person shall contact the bureau, which shall provide the person with a registration form and direct 
the person to take the form and a photograph of the person to the law enforcement agency having 
jurisdiction.  The law enforcement agency shall supervise the completion of the form, take the 
person's fingerprints and immediately forward the form, photograph and fingerprints to the 
bureau. 
 
 
 
 Sec. B-8.  34-A MRSA §11225 is amended to read: 
 
§11225.  Duration of registration 
 
 1.  Sex offender 10-year registrant.  A sex offender person coming within the definition 
of a 10-year registrant shall register for a period of 10 years from the initial date of registration 
pursuant to this chapter, except that a sex offender 10-year registrant required to register because 
the sex offender that registrant established a domicile in this State subsequent to being declared a 
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sex offender required to register in another state or under another jurisdiction pursuant to another 
jurisdiction’s sex offender registration statute for a period of years other than life shall register for 
a maximum of 10 years from the date when the sex offender that registrant was first required to 
register in the other state or under another jurisdiction.  A sex offender person coming within the 
definition of a 10-year registrant who has been sentenced from June 30, 1992 to September 17, 
1999 shall register for a period of 10 years, to be calculated as follows. 
 

A.  If the sex offender 10-year registrant was sentenced to a wholly suspended sentence 
with probation or to a punishment alternative not involving imprisonment, the 10-year 
period is treated as having begun at the time the person commenced an actual execution of 
the wholly suspended sentence or at the time of sentence imposition when no punishment 
alternative involving imprisonment was imposed, unless the court ordered a stay of 
execution, in which event the 10-year period is treated as having begun at the termination 
of the stay.  

 
B.  If the sex offender 10-year registrant was sentenced to a straight term of imprisonment 
or to a split sentence, the 10-year period is treated as having begun at the time of 
discharge or conditional release.   

 
C.  If the sex offender 10-year registrant was committed under Title 15, section 103, the 
10-year period is treated as having begun at the time of discharge or conditional release 
under Title 15, section 104-A.   

 
D.  If the sex offender’s 10-year registrant’s duty to register has not yet been triggered, 
the 10-year period will commence upon registration by the person in compliance with 
section 11222, subsection 1-A, paragraphs A, B or C.  

 
 2.  Sexually violent predator Lifetime registrant.  A sexually violent predator person 
coming within the definition of a lifetime registrant who has been sentenced on or after June 30, 
1992 shall register for the duration of the sexually violent predator’s that registrant’s life.  A 
person who has established a domicile in this State subsequent to being required to register 
pursuant to another jurisdiction’s sex offender registration statute for a lifetime or who is a person 
coming within the definition of a lifetime registrant shall register for the duration of the 
registrant’s life. 
 
 2-A.  Periods when domiciled outside Maine.  Notwithstanding subsections 1 and 2, the 
bureau may suspend the requirement that a 10-year registrant or lifetime registrant register during 
any period in which the registrant leaves the State, establishes a domicile in another state and 
remains physically absent from the State. 
 
 3.  Periods of incarceration or civil confinement.  Notwithstanding subsections 1 and 2, 
the bureau may suspend the requirement that a sex offender or sexually violent predator 10-year 
registrant or lifetime registrant register during periods of incarceration or civil confinement. 
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 4.  Relief from duty to register.  If the underlying conviction for a sex offense or sexually 
violent offense is reversed, vacated or set aside, or if the registrant is pardoned for the offense, 
registration or continued registration as a sex offender or sexually violent predator 10-year 
registrant or lifetime registrant is no longer required. 
 
 Sec. B-9.  34-A MRSA §11226 is amended to read: 
 
§11226. Fee 
 
 The bureau may charge a $25 35 annual fee to persons required to register under this 
chapter.  Sex offenders or sexually violent predators Registrants shall pay the fee at the time of 
initial registration and shall pay the fee on each anniversary of their initial registration.    
 
 The fee must be credited to the General Fund and the Highway Fund in an amount 
consistent with currently budgeted appropriations and allocations., except that the local law 
enforcement agency that takes and processes the offender’s fingerprints and picture must receive 
$10 of the total annual $35 fee. 
 
 Sec. B-10.  34-A MRSA §11227 as amended by PL 2003, c. 452, §S-1 is amended to 
read: 
 
 1.  Failure to register or update information.  A sex offender or sexually violent 
predator registrant who fails to register or update the information required under this chapter 
commits a Class D crime. 
 
 2.  Failure to register or update information; 2nd offense.  A sex offender or sexually 
violent predator registrant who has one prior conviction for failure to register or update the 
information required under this chapter commits a Class D crime. 
 
 3.  Failure to register or update information; 3rd or subsequent offense.  A sex 
offender or sexually violent predator registrant who fails to register or update the information 
required under this chapter when the sex offender or sexually violent predator 10-year registrant 
or lifetime registrant has 2 or more prior convictions in this State for violation of this chapter 
commits a Class C crime. 
 
 4.  Strict liability.  Violation of this section is a strict liability crime as defined in Title 17-
A, section 34, subsection 4-A. 
 
 5.  Prior conviction.  Title 17-A, section 9-A governs the use of prior conviction when 
determining a sentence. 
 
 6.  Affirmative defense.  It is an affirmative defense that the failure to register or update 
information resulted from just cause, except that sex offenders or sexually violent predators 
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registrants convicted from June 30, 1992 to September 17, 1999 may not raise a defense under 
just cause that they were not aware of the registration requirement. 
 
 Sec. B-11.  34-A MRSA §11253 is amended to read: 
 
§11253. Risk assessment 
 
 The department shall establish and apply a risk assessment instrument to each sex offender 
or sexually violent predator registrant under its jurisdiction for the purpose of notification to law 
enforcement agencies and to the public.    
 
 Sec. B-12.  34-A MRSA §11254 is amended to read: 
 
§11254. Mandatory notification of conditional release or discharge of sex offenders 
registrants 
 
 The department, county jails, state mental health institutes and the Department of Public 
Safety, State Bureau of Identification are governed by the following notice provisions when a sex 
offender or sexually violent predator registrant is conditionally released or discharged.    
 
 1.  Duties.  The department, a county jail or a state mental health institute shall give the 
Department of Public Safety, State Bureau of Identification notice of the following: 
 

A.  The address where the sex offender or sexually violent predator registrant will reside;   
 
B.  The address where the sex offender or sexually violent predator registrant will work 
and attend college or school, if applicable;    

 
C.  The geographic area to which a sex offender’s or sexually viole  10-year 
registrant’s or lifetime registrant’s conditional release is limited, if any; and    

 
D.  The status of the sex offender or sexually violent predator registrant when released as 
determined by the risk assessment instrument, the offender's or predator's registrant’s risk 
assessment score, a copy of the risk assessment instrument and applicable contact 
standards for the offender or predator registrant.    

 
 2.  Duties of the Department of Public Safety, State Bureau of Identification.  Upon 
receipt of the information concerning the conditional release or discharge of a sex offender or 
sexually violent predator registrant pursuant to subsection 1, the Department of Public Safety, 
State Bureau of Identification shall forward the information in subsection 1 to all law enforcement 
agencies that have jurisdiction in those areas where the sex offender or sexually violent predator 
registrant may reside, work or attend college or school. 
 
 Sec. B-13.  34-A MRSA §11255 is amended to read: 
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§11255. Public notification 
 
 1.  Department.  Upon the conditional release or discharge of a sex offender or sexually 
violent predator registrant from a state correctional institution, the department shall give notice of 
the information under section 11254, subsection 1 to members of the public the department 
determines appropriate to ensure public safety. 
  
 2.  Law enforcement agencies.  Upon receipt of the information concerning the 
conditional release or discharge of a sex offender or sexually violent predator registrant pursuant 
to section 11254, subsection 2, a law enforcement agency shall notify members of a municipality 
that the law enforcement agency determines appropriate to ensure public safety. 

 
Sec. B-14.  34-A MRSA §11256 is amended to read: 

 
§11256. Risk assessment assistance 
 
 Upon request, the department shall provide to law enforcement agencies technical 
assistance concerning risk assessment for purposes of notification to the public of a sex offender’s 
or sexually violent predator’s registrant’s conditional release or discharge. 
 
 B-15.  Retroactivity.  Part B of this Act applies retroactively to June 30, 1992. 
 

PART C 
 

Sec. C-1.  Research and report regarding potential offenders.  The Department of 
Behavioral and Developmental Services, the Department of Human Services, the Department of 
Corrections and the Department of Public Safety, in cooperation with the Child Abuse Action 
Network, shall:  

 
A.  Identify the subpopulation of potential offenders or young persons at risk for offending 
because they have been sexually abused or face a significant mental health disability, with 
recognition of the fact that over 95% of sex offenders are male; 
 
B.  Identify the types of prevention and treatment currently known to work with these 
young persons;  
 
C.  Coordinate prevention and education efforts with the goal of seeking coordinated 
services to transition at-risk youth to healthy adulthood; and  
 
D.  Report findings to the joint standing committees of the Legislature having jurisdiction 
over health and human services and criminal justice and public safety issues no later than 
January 30, 2005.  
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Sec. C-2.  Review and report of registerable sex offenses.  The Criminal Law Advisory 
Commission shall: 

 
A.  Review the Sex Offender Registration and Notification Act of 1999, as amended, to 
identify all crimes of gross sexual assault and unlawful sexual contact that currently do not 
require any registration; 
 
B.  Assess whether the current Maine crimes listed as sex offenses and sexually violent 
offenses are appropriate under the Federal Guidelines for the Jacob Wetterling Crimes 
Against Children and Sexually Violent Offender Registration Act, as amended; and  
 
C.  Report its findings and any proposed changes to the Joint Standing Committee on 
Criminal Justice and Public Safety by March 1, 2004.   

 
SUMMARY 

 

This bill is the recommendation of the Commission to Improve Community Safety and Sex 
Offender Accountability, which was created pursuant to Resolve 2003, chapter 75.  The 
commission was established to provide a legislative forum to review criminal sentencing laws for 
sex crimes and to review sex offender registration and notification laws and policies.  The purpose 
of this commission’s review was to take a thoughtful and comprehensive look at Maine’s sex 
offender laws and to identify areas in which immediate legislative and policy change is necessary 
to increase community safety.  The bill does the following.   

 
1.  It increase the classification of sex crimes committed against children who have not 

attained 12 years of age.  Without imposing minimum mandatory sentences, the commission 
recommends providing courts, where victims are under 12 years of age, with an increased 
potential range of penalties by increasing by one class the following crimes: 

 
a.  Unlawful sexual contact: 17-A MRSA, §255-A, sub-§1, ¶E (Class C crime) and ¶F 
(Class B crime); 
 
b.  Visual sexual aggression against a child: 17-A MRSA, §256 (Class D crime); 
 
c.  Sexual misconduct with a child under 14 years of age: 17-A MRSA, §258 (Class D 
crime); 
 
d.  Solicitation of child by computer to commit a prohibited act: 17-A MRSA, §259 (Class 
D crime); 
 
e.  Violation of privacy: 17-A MRSA, §511, sub-§1, ¶D (Class D crime); 
 
f.  Sexual exploitation of minors: 17 MRSA, §2922, sub-§1, ¶¶A and B (Class B crimes); 
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g.  Dissemination of sexually explicit materials: 17 MRSA, §2923 (Class B or C crime); 
and 
 
h.  Possession of sexually explicit materials: 17 MRSA, §2924 (Class C or D crime). 

 
2.  It allows courts to have the option to impose a sentence of imprisonment in excess of 

20 years, based upon the fact that the victim is under 12 years of age, for the Class A crimes of 
crimes of gross sexual assault (17-A MRSA, section 253, sub-1, ¶B) and repeat sexual 
exploitation of minors (17 MRSA, section 2922, subsection 1, paragraph A-1 and paragraph C).  

 
3.  It increases the period of probation for persons convicted of sex crimes committed 

against children who have not attained 12 years of age.  Without imposing minimum mandatory 
sentences, the bill provides courts, where victims are under 12 years of age, with an increased 
potential range of penalties by increasing periods of probation for persons convicted under 17-A 
MRSA, Chapter 11 (Sexual Assaults) or17 MRSA, Chapter 93-B (Sexual Exploitation of Minors) 
as follows: 
 

a.  For a person convicted of a Class A crime, a period of probation not to exceed 18 
years; 
 
b.  For a person convicted of a Class B crime, a period of probation not to exceed 12 
years; or 
 
c.  For a person convicted of a Class C crime, a period of probation not to exceed 6 years. 
 
4.  It allows the court to have the option to impose a sentence of probation of up to 18 

years based upon the fact that the defendant was convicted of gross sexual assault after having 
been previously convicted and sentenced for a Class B or Class C crime of unlawful sexual 
contact. 

 
 5.  It renames “dangerous sexual offender” defined in 17-A MRSA, §1252, sub-§4-B, as 
“repeat sexual assault offender.” 
 

 6.  It allows courts to have the option to impose a sentence of imprisonment in 
excess of 20 years, based upon the fact that the defendant was convicted of gross sexual assault 
after having been previously convicted and sentenced for a Class B or Class C crime of unlawful 
sexual contact. 
 
 7.  It renames the current Sex Offender Registration and Notification Act (SORNA) of 
1999 registration categories “sexually violent predators” and “sex offenders” to “lifetime 

-year registrants.”   
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8.  It moves Class D or Class E offenses that currently require lifetime registration as 
“sexually violent predators” under the SORNA of 1999 to 10-year registration for “sex 
offenders.”  
 
 9.  It makes technical drafting changes to the SORNA of 1999, including: 

 
a.  Adding to the list of registerable offenses the former crime of rape, restoring the former 
crimes of unlawful sexual contact and solicitation of child by computer to commit a 
prohibited act and moving from the definition of “sex offense” to “sexually violent 
offense” the crimes of unlawful sexual contact that involve penetration; 
 
b.  Making registration requirements consistent by removing from the crime of 
“kidnapping” the defense that the actor is a parent, which is consistent with the crime of 
criminal restraint for purposes of sex offender registration; and  
 
c.  Defining the terms “another state,” “registrant,” “jurisdiction,” and “tribe” to be more 
consistent with federal law. 
 
10.  It authorizes Maine to suspend the requirement that a sex offender or sexually violent 

predator register during any period in which the registrant leaves the State, establishes a domicile 
in another state and remains physically absent from the State.   
 

11.  It increases from $25 to $30 the sex offender and sexually violent predator fee for 
initial registration and annual renewal registration.  
 
 12.  It makes all changes to the Sex Offender Registration and Notification Act of 1999 
retroactive to June 30, 1992. 
 
 13.  It directs the Department of Behavioral and Developmental Services, the Department 
of Human Services, the Department of Corrections and the Department of Public Safety, in 
cooperation with the Child Abuse Action Network, to:  

 
a.  Identify the subpopulation of potential offenders or young persons at risk for offending 
because they have been sexually or physically abused or face a significant mental health 
disability, with recognition of the fact that over 95% of sex offenders are male; 
 
b.  Identify the types of prevention and treatment currently known to work with these 
young persons;  
 
c.  Coordinate prevention and education efforts with the goal of seeking coordinated 
services to transition at-risk youth to healthy adulthood; and  
 
d.  Report findings to the joint standing committees of the Legislature having jurisdiction 
over health and human services and criminal justice and public safety issues.   
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14.  It directs the Criminal Law Advisory Commission to  
 
a.  Review the Sex Offender Registration and Notification Act of 1999 to identify all 
crimes of gross sexual assault and unlawful sexual contact that currently do not require 
any registration; 
 
b.  Assess whether the current Maine crimes listed as sex offenses and sexually violent 
offenses are appropriate under the Federal Guidelines for the Jacob Wetterling Crimes 
Against Children and Sexually Violent Offender Registration Act, as amended; and  
 
c.  Report its findings and any proposed changes to the Joint Standing Committee on 
Criminal Justice and Public Safety by March 1, 2004.   
 

 15.  It refers back to the Joint Standing Committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety 
the issue regarding the 10-day time requirement in which a sex offender must verify registration 
information or a change in registration information with the State Bureau of Identification as 
described in LD 617, An Act Amending the Time by Which a Sex Offender or Sexually Violent 
Predator Must Register. 
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TITLE:  AN ACT TO IMPLEMENT THE RECOMMENDATIONS OF THE COMMISSION TO 
IMPROVE COMMUNITY SAFETY AND SEX OFFENDER ACCOUNTABILITY REGARDING PUBLIC 

NOTIFICATION BY LAW ENFORCEMENT 
 
  
Sec. 1.  25 MRSA §2803-B, sub-§1, ¶H, as amended by PL 2003, c. 370, §1, is further 

amended to read: 
 

H.  Criminal conduct engaged in by law enforcement officers;  
 

 Sec. 2.  25 MRSA §2803-B, sub-§1, ¶I, as enacted by PL 2003, c. 370, §2, is amended to 
read: 

 
I.  Death investigations, including at a minimum the protocol of the Department of the 
Attorney General regarding such investigations.; and 

 
Sec. 3.  25 MRSA §2803-B, sub-§1, ¶J is enacted to read: 

 
J.  Public notification regarding persons in the community required to register under Title 
34-A,chapter 15. 

 
Sec. 4.  25 MRSA §2803-B, sub-§§2 and 3, as amended by PL 2003, c. 370, §3, are 

further amended to read: 
 

2.  Minimum policy standards.  The board shall establish minimum standards for each 
law enforcement policy no later than June 1, 1995, except that policies for expanded 
requirements for domestic violence under subsection 1, paragraph D, subparagraphs (1) to (3) 
must be established no later than January 1, 2003 and, policies for death investigations under 
subsection 1, paragraph I must be established no later than January 1, 2004 and policies for 
public notification regarding persons in the community required to register under Title 34-A, 
chapter 15 must be established no later than January 1, 2005. 

 
3.  Agency compliance.  The chief administrative officer of each law enforcement 

agency shall certify to the board no later than January 1, 1996 that the agency has adopted 
written policies consistent with the minimum standards established by the board pursuant to 
subsection 2, except that certification to the board for expanded policies for domestic violence 
under subsection 1, paragraph D, subparagraphs (1) to (3) must be made to the board no later 
than June 1, 2003 and, certification to the board for adoption of a death investigation policy 
under subsection 1, paragraph I must be made to the board no later than June 1, 2004 and 
certification to the board for adoption of a public notification policy under subsection 1, 
paragraph J must be made to the board no later than June 1, 2005.  This certification must be 
accompanied by copies of the agency policies.  The chief administrative officer of each agency 
shall certify to the board no later than June 1, 1996 that the agency has provided orientation and 
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training for its members with respect to the policies, except that certification for orientation and 
training with respect to expanded policies for domestic violence under subsection 1, paragraph D 
must be made to the board no later than January 1, 2004 and, certification for orientation and 
training with respect to policies regarding death investigations must be made to the board no 
later than January 1, 2005 and certification for orientation and training with respect to policies 
regarding public notification must be made to the board no later than January 1,2006. 

 
Sec. 5.  Model sex offender public notification policy for law enforcement.  The 

Board of Trustees of the Maine Criminal Justice Academy shall add to the list of mandatory law 
enforcement policies with respect to which agencies must report their implementation and 
training, pursuant to the Maine Revised Statutes, Title 25-A, section 2803-B, the model sex 
offender public notification policy drafted by the Maine Chiefs of Police Association in 
cooperation with sexual assault response teams and sexual assault crisis centers. 

 
 

SUMMARY 
 

 This bill is the recommendation of the Commission to Improve Community Safety and 
Sex Offender Accountability, established pursuant to Resolve 2003, chapter 75. 
 
 This bill requires law enforcement agencies to adopt a written policy regarding public 
notification of persons in the community required to register under the Sex Offender Registration 
and Notification Act of 1999.  This bill requires the Board of Trustees of the Maine Criminal 
Justice Academy to use the model policy developed by the Maine Chiefs of Police Association, 
in cooperation with sexual assault response teams and sexual assault crisis centers. 
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APPENDIX E 
 

Summary of Comments from Presentations and Public Hearing 



SUMMARY OF COMMENTS FROM PRESENTATIONS AND PUBLIC HEARING 
 
 

A.  PRESENTATIONS 
 
1.  Dr. Sue Righthand, a psychologist and national expert regarding issues involving sex 

offenders and their treatment, provided the commission with an overview about how to 
define different types of sexual abuse, who offends, how offenders are classified or typed, 
factors that contribute to sexual offending and recidivism, risk assessment tools and 
treatment modalities.  (See Appendix D for Dr. Righthand's complete presentation.) 

 
2.  Dr. Joe Fitzpatrick, who served on the commission and is a psychologist and Director of 

Behavioral Health Services at the Department of Corrections, outlined the department’s 
current initiatives and challenges.  Dr. Fitzpatrick explained that the department is 
working on its treatment program for its incarcerated population.  However, the 
department initiative that is in place is not complete.  The initiative does not include 
resources for housing and treatment as part of transitioning.  Dr. Fitzpatrick stressed the 
importance of putting resources into transitioning; if these transition services are not in 
place, any treatment provided while the offender is incarcerated will make little 
difference in preventing relapse later. 
 

The department continues to deal with the challenges of community notification and education 
but is hoping that its new protocol, “Community Notification of Sex Offenders Protocol for 
Town Meetings,” which was drafted by the Commission on Domestic and Sexual Abuse, will 
provide a more proactive approach for transitioning offenders.  In addition to the community 
notification and education piece, Dr. Fitzpatrick emphasized that there needs to be a network of 
community providers who are willing to provide services and who are willing to work 
collaboratively, using up-to-date treatment methods and best practices.  When transitioning 
offenders, it is important to ensure that they obtain the services that they need.  Offenders 
transitioning back into the community need counseling, housing, employment and a strong 
support network. 

 
3.  Mike Ranhoff, a licensed polygraph examiner and Sgt. Doug Parlin, the Polygraph 

Examiner Supervisor of the Maine State Police, spoke to the commission about the use of 
polygraphs for post-conviction sex offenders.  Polygraph examinations of sex offenders 
are conducted through some therapists in Maine and are used to assist the offender and 
therapist in treatment.  Polygraphs are not used to search out new charges to bring against 
the offender.  There are 3 kinds of tests polygraph examiners use for sex offenders.  They 
include the following: 

 
• Denial and other specific issue tests.  These tests are used to verify the details of the 

offense for which the offender was convicted and are often administered when the 
offender denies the crime or the offender’s version of the offense differs from the 
victim’s version.  Specific issue tests are also used to address concerns that may arise 
during probation (i.e., therapist suspects that offender may be violating condition of 
probation). 



 
• Disclosure tests.  These tests are used to verify the accuracy and completeness of the 

offender’s history. 
 

• Maintenance tests.  These tests are used to determine whether a probationer is 
complying with the conditions of probation, is cooperating with treatment and is not 
reoffending. 

 
The information collected from these tests is used to develop and modify treatment and 
supervision.  Mr. Ranhoff noted that the tests do not stand alone; ideally, the use of polygraphs is 
part of a collaborative effort by the polygraph examiner, the therapist and the probation officer.  
Mr. Ranhoff indicated that he would like to see probation officers more involved; at the very 
least probation officers should receive reports of the examinations and be aware of what results 
are coming out of the testing.  Mr. Ranhoff stated that Oregon has the best polygraph program 
for sex offenders.  The court orders an examination immediately following the offender’s 
release, and all programs are based on therapeutic purposes.  Polygraphs are intended to support 
the therapists’ work with the offenders and to protect the community. 
 
The presentation generated discussion on a number of issues.  Those mentioned by commission 
members included the following. 
 

• The scientific community has reached no agreement about whether sex offenders 
should be subject to polygraph examinations. 

 
• How do other states ensure that polygraphs are used for therapeutic reasons only and 

not for brining new prosecutions? 
 

• How do you create an incentive for offenders to be truthful, especially if the offender 
believes that the probation officer will learn everything from the polygraph? 

 
As a follow-up to some of these issues, Mr. Ranhoff expressed that, even if a waiver exists, 
people do not always tell the entire truth.  Testing helps find the truth and therefore helps in 
treatment.  Mr. Ranhoff also stressed that if polygraph examinations are used, the Department of 
Corrections and the therapist need to agree upon what to do with the examination information 
once it is received. 
 

4.  Nancy Dentico and Bud Hall, probation officers who are Sex Offender Specialists and 
Dan Ouellette, a Regional Correctional Administrator for the Department of Corrections, 
spoke to the commission about their experience supervising sex offenders in the 
community.  Sex Offender Specialists carry a caseload of approximately 40 probationers.  
(Originally, under the initial grant creating Sex Offender Specialists, these probation 
officers had a caseload of about 30.)  Contact standards for high risk sex offenders 
include a minimum of 4 contacts per month – 2 of these must be in person (at the 
offender’s home or the officer’s office) and the other 2 may be at the offender’s home or 
with a collateral contact (i.e., therapist).  If an offender is identified as an extremely high 
risk, the officer may see that person 4-5 times per month in that person’s home and may 



carefully watch that person’s conduct on a daily basis.  The percentage of persons 
reoffending while supervised by a Sex Offender Specialist appears to be relatively low, as 
evidenced by Mr. Hall’s previous caseload of 43 probationers of which only 5 had full 
revocations for new criminal conduct.   

 
Although supervision by Sex Offender Specialists appears to help decrease the recidivism rate, 
these probation officers can handle only about one half of the sex offender probation population 
in the State.  Adequate supervision of those who are not under the caseload of a Sex Offender 
Specialist is a concern.  Sex Offender Specialists’ caseloads are in large part determined by the 
level of risk of the offender, but assignment is also based on geography and resources.  While 
supervision is a big issue, so is the availability of counseling services.  The Sex Offender 
Specialists indicated that there have been improvements in statewide accessibility of quality 
therapy and that more therapists are using relapse prevention as an effective therapy technique.   
 
Sex Offender Specialists talk to law enforcement officers regularly about sex offenders in the 
community.  However, probation officers and law enforcement officers often feel constrained 
from speaking openly to the public about sex offenders.  The Sex Offender Specialists explained 
that notifying a sex offender’s neighbors is not going to protect the public from sex offenders; if 
an offender makes the choice to reoffend, that offender will. 

 
These members of the Department of Corrections made several recommendations about areas 
that they believe need to be addressed to improve sex offender supervision. 
 

• Clarify contact conditions, especially when a minor is involved.  The fact that an 
offender has a probation condition of no contact with minors but can live at home 
with his own children is a concern, at the very least, until the offender is in treatment. 

 
• Set reasonable probation conditions and involve probation officers, as well as the 

court and prosecutors, in the decision making process for setting conditions.  Some 
conditions that are automatic (i.e., “no alcohol”) may not be necessary in a case 
where there is no indication that alcohol was involved.  A model with conditions that 
are reasonable and realistic for a probationer to comply with will more likely ensure 
success and less chance of reoffending.   

 
• Expand sex offender registration requirements to include crimes like sexual abuse of 

animals, misdemeanor sex offenses against adults and all types of invasion of privacy. 
 

• Revisit current classifications for “sex offender” and “sexually violent predator” to 
determine whether lower risk crimes that currently require 90 day verification may be 
verified annually instead. 

 
• Assess and classify offenders using a risk assessment tool and a team approach that 

includes the court, the prosecutor, the probation officer or another expert or board 
trained specifically to do assessments, instead of applying an arbitrary and inconsistent 
assignment system based only on statute.  

• Provide consistent public notification based on public input.  



 
• Reduce duplication of efforts in verification of registration by involving probation 

officers while a sex offender is under a probation officer’s supervision.  
 
• Expand community-policing efforts (i.e., Brunswick has a law enforcement bulletin 

that circulates up the coast and gives other law enforcement agencies notice of 
offenders who are in the community).   

 
• Make sex offender treatment a cooperative effort by therapists, law enforcement and 

probation officers; all parties need to consider community safety, make a relapse 
prevention plan, provide social skill development and minimize each sex offender’s 
denial. 

 
5.  Lt. Jackie Theriault, who served as a member of the commission and works in the State 

Bureau of Identification (SBI) gave the commission a summary of the history of the Sex 
Offender Registry, the impact of legislative changes on the registry and an update on the 
status of Internet access to sex offender information. 1  One of the biggest challenges for 
the SBI is identifying those who are required to register.  The Sex Offender Registry and 
criminal history records system are not connected, and because the system is not 
automated, there is no way to identify every person who must register.   

 
In early December there were1902 registrants – 1312 active and 590 inactive.  Seventy-five 
percent of registrants are registered as sexually violent predators, and approximately 200 are in 
violation of the registry.  The SBI registers approximately 578 offenders annually, but some are 
converted from the old registry, and some are new people that now must register.  Until the 
system is fully automated, there is no way to know to what extent the registry will grow.   
 

6.  Lt. Col. Jeff Harmon of the State Police gave a demonstration of the on-line Sex 
Offender Registry. 

 
7.  Representative Sean Faircloth, who served as co-chair of the commission, attended the 

University of Wisconsin's 19th Annual Midwest Conference on Child Sexual Abuse.  
States are looking at intensive treatment strategies for both offenders and victims.  In 
addition to treatment practices, people are looking at state laws regarding child abuse.  
Represetnative Faircloth indicated that, in reviewing states’ sentencing laws, the National 
Council of State Legislatures reported that Maine has the least restrictive penalties for 
persons who commit sex offenses against prepubescent children. 
 

8.  Dr. Anne LeBlanc, the Director of the State Forensic Service, provided the commission 
with written testimony about her agency's post-conviction evaluation process for sex 
offenders. 

 
 

                                                
1  At the time of Lt. Theriault’s presentation, the SBI was working to complete Internet access to the Sex 

Offender Registry.  The registry is now available on-line at http://www4.informe.org/sor/index.html. 
 



B.  PUBLIC HEARING  
 

In addition to presentations from these experts, the commission held one public hearing at which 
members heard from other members of the Legislature and many members of the public, 
including citizens and community leaders from the Augusta area.  Persons who testified 
expressed concerns regarding whether sex offenders receive proper supervision, whether the 
public receives adequate notice of where sex offenders are residing when they return to the 
community and whether state agencies are communicating and coordinating their efforts in the 
treatment and supervision of all sex offenders. 
 
Registrants and family members of registrants also testified and expressed concerns regarding 
how the statute broadly defines persons who commit very different crimes as either “sex 
offenders” or “sexually violent predators,” who must register for life; the constitutionality of 
registration requirements; and the challenges offenders and their families face in finding housing 
and employment and becoming part of their communities. 
 
Specific recommendations that persons who testified asked the commission to consider included 
the following: 
 

• Require lifetime probation for sex offenders; 
 
• Impose residency restrictions or limitations on sex offenders, including prohibiting 

sex offenders from living within 1 mile of a school or daycare while on probation; 
 
• Decrease the period of time in which a sex offender has to register or verify 

registration information with the SBI; 
 
• Restrict the number of times a sex offender may move, so that the system is less 

likely to lose track of the offender; 
 
• Refuse to allow sex offenders from other states to come to Maine to live; 
 
• Require law enforcement to give details of sex offenses committed when providing 

notification and be more consistent in notification procedures; 
 
• Require the Department of Corrections to provide pre-release counseling for sex 

offenders and better support in transitioning sex offenders from prison to the 
community; 

 
• Prohibit plea agreements in certain sex offense cases; 
 
• Increase the sentences for persons who are convicted of sexual assaults; 
• Eliminate different labels for persons; call all who commit sex offenses “sex 

offenders,” notify the public of the crime committed and let people form their own 
opinions; 

 



• Redefine who is high risk and who is low risk for purposes of registration and 
notification; 

 
• Allow no “good time” for persons incarcerated for sex offenses; and 
 
• Increase the crime classification and penalties for sex offenses.  
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NCSL Sexual Assault on Child Chart 
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Survey of Convicted Sex Offenders in the State of Maine 
 


















































































































