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MAINE BOARD OF LICENSURE IN MEDICINE

Board Overview

The Maine Board of Licensure in Medicine (Board) serves and protects the public by
performing regulatory activities regarding allopathic physicians and physician assistants,
including licensing (verifying training, education and credentials), examining (jurisprudence
examination on Maine laws and rules), auditing (completion of continuing medical
education), complaint investigation, discipline, guidance, rulemaking, guidelines and
education (electronic newsletters and sponsoring specific continuing medical education).

Mission Statement

The mission of the Board of Licensure in Medicine is to safeguard the health, welfare, safety
and lives, of the people of Maine by ensuring that the public is served by competent, ethical and
honest practitioners.

History and Organization

The Board was created in 1895. Since that time, the Board has undergone multiple changes
and incarnations. At present, the Board is composed of 10 members, all of whom are
appointed by the Governor and generally serve 6 year terms: 6 physician members, each of
whom must be a graduate of a legally chartered medical school and be engaged in the active
and continuous practice of medicine in Maine for at least 5 years preceding their appointment;
1 physician assistant member, who must be a graduate of an approved physician assistant
graduate program and be engaged in active and continuous practice in Maine for at least 5
years preceding her/his appointment; and 3 public members who have no financial interest in
the practice of medicine and have never held a license to practice medicine. The Board is
affiliated with the Department of Professional and Financial Regulation (PFR) and works
closely with the Commissioner

of PFR. A current list of Board members can be found in Attachment A.

Staffing and Composition

The Board’s current permanent position count is 9 employees: 1 executive director; 1 assistant
executive director; 2 licensure specialists; 1 complaint coordinator; 1 investigative secretary; 1
consumer assistance specialist; 1 medical director; and 1 administrative secretary. In addition,
the Board contracts with the Office of Attorney General for attorney and investigative services.
The Board also employs two temporary employees through the Capitol Clubhouse to perform
various duties, including reception, scanning and filing.

The Board emphasizes continuing staff professional development, training and education,
including through the following agencies:



Council on Licensure, Enforcement & Regulation (CLEAR)
Federation of State Medical Boards (FSMB)

Federation of Associations of Regulatory Boards (FARB)

International Association of Medical Regulatory Authorities (IAMRA)
Maine Association of Medical Staff Services (MeMASS)

National Association of Medical Staff Services (NAMASS)

College coursework

The staff is highly motivated and dedicated to quality licensing, regulation and public service.

Board Funding Source

The Board is funded entirely through dedicated revenue sources, which consist of a combination
of licensing, examination, assessment, and filing fees paid by the regulated physicians and
physician assistants.

The Board contributes significantly to the General Fund through periodic transfers of Other
Special Revenue funds, including funding for future Maine physicians.

A. Enabling or Authorizing Law

The Board is enabled or authorized through the following sections of Maine law:

Title 32 M.R.S. Chapter 48 establishes the Board as well as its powers and duties, including:
e 32 M.R.S. 8 3263 establishes the Board, its composition, and terms of appointment;
e 32 M.R.S. 8 3264 requires Board members to take the constitutional oath of office;

e 32 M.R..S § 3265 establishes the officers of the Board, their terms, duties, and the
minimum meeting requirements;

e 32 M.R.S. § 3267 establishes the quorum (majority) required for Board meetings;
e 32 M.R.S. 8 3268 authorizes Board members to administer oaths;
e 32 M.R.S. 8 3269 establishes the duties and powers of the Board.

Title 5 M.R.S. 8 12004-A defines occupational and professional licensing boards, their
primary responsibilities and powers and defines “public member.”

Title 10 M.R.S. 8 8001-A establishes that the Board is affiliated with the Department of
Professional and Financial Regulation.

Title 10 M.R.S. § 8003(5) provides the Board with supplemental authority, including:

e 10 M.R..S 8 8003(5)(A-1) to impose a warning, reprimand or censure; a license
suspension of up to 90 days per violation; a license revocation; a fine of up to $1500
per violation; probation with conditions;

e 10 M.R.S. § 8003(5)(B) to enter into a consent agreement with a licensee/applicant;



e 10 M.R.S. 8 8003(5)(C) to require applicants to answer questions, require licensees to
complete continuing education, deny a license for non-compliance with a consent
agreement or Board order, issue “inactive” licenses, and delegate authority to staff;

e 10 M.R.S. 8 8003(5)(D) to require surrender of license;

e 10 M.R.S. 8 8003(5)(E) to issue letters of guidance or concern.

32 M.R.S. Chapter 125 enacted the Interstate Medical Licensure Compact.

B. Description of Programs

The Board of Licensure in Medicine is a state administrative agency established by the
Legislature to license and regulate allopathic physicians and physician assistants in Maine.
The Governor has statutory appointment authority to fill the 10 board member positions. The
Board has the authority to employ staff to implement its functions and objectives.

The Board is established for the sole purpose of protecting the public by licensing only
qualified allopathic physicians and physician assistants and by investigating and adjudicating
complaints to prevent harm to the public.

Board staff is responsible for all regulatory and administrative functions associated with state
regulation of allopathic physicians and physician assistants. The Board’s regulatory functions
include: licensing; complaint investigation; rule making; and education. The Board’s two
primary regulatory functions - licensing and complaint investigation — are implemented with
equal priority by Board staff.

Program Goal: To ensure that regulated individuals within the practice of medicine
or surgery who require a license provide safe services to the public and conduct
themselves in an ethical manner.

Program Objective: To license physicians and physician assistants who meet minimum
state requirements, regulate licensee conduct through examination, education, letters of
guidance, and enforcement of standards of practice and conduct, and imposition of
discipline, when warranted.

Requlatory Functions

1. Licensing:

Program Objective: To expediently and efficiently license professionals who meet
minimum state requirements for licensure and registration as physicians and physician
assistants.

Four full-time staff, with the advice and counsel of the Board’s assistant attorney general, are



responsible for processing the license applications of allopathic physicians and physician
assistants in Maine. Physicians applying for licensure include U.S. educated and foreign
educated individuals. To verify identity, education, and post-graduate training, the Board
staff use the Federation Credentials Verification Service (“FCVS”) of the Federation of State
Medical Boards (“FSMB”). The FCVS obtains and confirms original source information
from U.S. medical schools and graduate residency programs, as well as from the Educational
Commission for Foreign Medical Graduates (“ECFMG”), which verifies the identity,
education, and training of foreign medical school graduates. The FCVS also performs a
query of the National Practitioner Data Bank (“NPDB”) for all applicants for initial
licensure. The NPDB maintains a data base of physicians and physician assistants who have
had medical malpractice settlements or adverse action taken by a licensing board or health
care entity with regard to the individual’s license, employment or privileges. Information
regarding the FSMB, the FCVS and the NPDB may be found at:

e FSMB: https://www.fsmb.org/
e FCVS: https://www.fsmb.org/fcvs/
e NPDB: https://www.npdb.hrsa.gov/

In addition, the Board — working in conjunction with the FCVS and FSMB - has developed a
“Uniform Application” for use by physician and physician assistant applicants. The uniform
application is available online on the Board’s website, together with licensing FAQs
(qualifications for licensure and how to apply): https://www.maine.gov/md/.

A copy of the Licensing FAQs can be found at Attachment B.
A copy of the Physician Licensing Flowchart can be found at Attachment C.
A copy of the Physician Assistant Licensing Flowchart can be found at Attachment D.

Board staff assemble the application files, send them for review by the Board Secretary (if
required), approve/issue licenses to applicants for licensure with no negative information,
randomly audit applicants to confirm completion of continuing medical education, and issue
administrative citations for incorrect or inaccurate information on applications for licensure.
Applicants for licensure who are deemed by the Board not to qualify may be offered the
opportunity to withdraw their application or be afforded the opportunity for a hearing before
the Board. Currently, the Board maintains license records for over 7,500 active physician and
physician assistant licensees.

Licensing Unit Initiatives

Since the previous GEA report, the Licensing Unit recommended, and the Board
implemented, the following initiatives to improve and streamline the licensing process:

e Updated Board rules regarding licensure of physicians and physician assistants to allow
staff to issue licenses upon completion of the application file and where there are no
disqualifying issues, thereby expediting licensure.

e Adopted the FCVS for confirmation of identity and credentials of applicants.
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In coordination with the FSMB, developed a Uniform Application for virtually all
categories of licensure.

In coordination with the FSMB and FCVS developed a pilot project to include NPDB
reports in applicant profiles.

Updated and moved license applications and license renewal applications online.

Updated the Maine jurisprudence examination regarding Maine laws and rules as they
pertain to the practice of medicine and moved it online.

Developed an online Maine jurisprudence examination study guide.

Developed a uniform registration form, which can be downloaded from the Board’s
website, for physician assistants, which can also be used as a plan of supervision.

Developed the ability to link physician assistants to either allopathic or osteopathic
physicians.

Developed the ability of applicants and licensees to access licensing services online at
any time, including:

o0 Updating their contact information;

0 Printing out a copy of their license;

o Applying for licensure/re-licensure;

0 Checking the status of their license or application.

Improved the ability of applicants for licensure to view the status of their applications
online, including identification of information received and information still needed.

Developed email renewal notifications to licensees using licensee email contact
information.

Updated the Licensure FAQs online.

Developed the Emeritus License category for retired physicians who do not practice
clinical medicine but want to maintain licensure.

Worked with the American Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS) to ensure licensees
holding Administrative Medicine Licenses were permitted to retain their National
Board Certifications.

Developed protocols for implementing the Interstate Medical Licensure Compact.

Licensing Unit Initiatives Impact

These improved systems have enabled the Board, in general, to issue a greater number of



licenses in a briefer period of time, which is important given the trend of increasing
applications. The following are some statistics regarding the number of licenses issued each
year during the previous 10 years:

MD Licenses (all license types) issued PA Licenses issued per year
per year

2008 - 38
2008 — 758 2009 — 42
2009 - 683 2010 -59
2010 - 726 2011 -62
2011 -739 2012 - 57
2012 - 799 2013 - 65
2013 - 863 2014 - 64
2014 - 864 2015-81
2015 - 812 2016 — 86
2016 — 927 2017 - 100
2017 — 956 2018 - 121
2018 - 1080

In 2017, the Board issued 518 new Permanent Medical Licenses. In 2018, the Board issued
854 new Permanent Medical Licenses — an increase of 225 initial Permanent License
applications. Despite this increase in the number of initial applications, the overall average of
processing time for all license applications decreased by 18.4 days since 2012.

On average, since 2012 the Licensing Unit has reduced the processing time for all types of
applications for licensure from 72.63 days to 54.23 days. This average includes applications
that are submitted that do not have negative information or discrepancies and applications
that do have negative information or discrepancies that delay processing. Examples of the
negative information or discrepancies that delay the processing of an application — sometimes
for many months - include:

Discrepancies regarding credentials

History of significant medical malpractice (e.g. death, wrong site surgery)
History of discipline by other jurisdiction(s)

History of medical issues that may affect ability to practice safely

Certain criminal convictions

Negative references

History of termination of employment or privileges for issues related to competency or
professionalism

Failure to disclose information on the application

Incorrectly answering questions on the application

Failure to provide additional information when requested

Applications with negative information or discrepancies are provided to the Board
Secretary for review. The Board Secretary may choose to instruct Board staff to issue the




license or refer the application to the Board for review at its regularly scheduled monthly
meeting. Unfortunately, delays by applicants or licensees in addressing negative information or
discrepancies may skew the Licensing Unit’s overall average processing time of applications -
including those applications that do not contain negative information or discrepancies.
Applications without any negative information or discrepancies, which account for the vast
majority of applications, are routinely processed between 1-30 days of receipt.

The Licensing Unit also processes applications through the Interstate Medical Licensure
Compact (“IMLC™).

“Compact Licenses” are Maine licenses the Board issues to qualified physicians who have
been issued a Maine medical license using the compact process. Applicants for licensure
through the compact are issued the same license as any other applicant (Permanent
Medical License). The license is renewed through the Compact.

“Letters of Qualification” are letters issued by the Board or another state medical board
that is a member of the compact verifying that the applicant meets the qualifications of
the compact and can use their existing medical license to obtain additional licenses
through the compact.

Applicants using the expedited compact licensure process must undergo an FBI criminal
background check, which was facilitated by the Maine State Bureau of Identification
(SBI) and a contractor who provides fingerprinting collection. The Board staff utilizes a
dedicated and secured computer to access criminal history information, which it views but
does not copy or download.

Application fees are made payable to the Interstate Medical Licensure Compact
Commission, which then forwards the fees to the state board issuing the license.

The Board’s assistant executive director is the Board’s designated Commissioner to the
Compact Commission, which administers the compact and promulgated rules for the
process of issuing license through the compact.

The Board issued the first “compact license” on 1/10/18. Since that time, the Board has
received 130 requests for licensure through the compact and has issued 128 licenses (2 are
pending).

The Board issued its first “letter of qualification” on 3/19/18. Since that time, the Board
has received 54 requests for “letters of qualification” - 44 of which have been granted, 4
of which were denied, and 6 of which are pending.

The Licensing Unit daily speaks telephonically with and communicates by email with
applicants for licensure and re-licensure who may have questions regarding the Board’s
licensing processes. The Board’s Licensing Unit regularly receives emails and letters from
applicants and licensees expressing appreciation for Board staffs’ professionalism and
assistance.



2. Complaint Investigation & Monitoring:

Program Objective: To efficiently, objectively and diligently investigate and resolve
complaints against physicians and physician assistants licensed by the Board, and
actively monitor licensees when required.

Complaint Investigation Process

Four full-time staff, with the advice and counsel of an assistant attorney general and the
assistance of an attorney general detective, are responsible for the investigation of complaints
filed with or initiated by the Board. The Board’s complaint coordinator supervises the unit,
which is composed of a consumer assistance specialist, medical director, and investigative
secretary. The complaint investigative process is based upon the one employed by the
Department of Professional and Financial Regulation, Office of Professional and
Occupational Regulation, and is designed to balance the need to safeguard the due process
rights of licensees who may be the subject of a complaint against the public’s right to know
about unethical or unsafe conduct of licensees and receive notification of the disposition of
complaints. A copy of the Board’s Complaint Process Flowchart can be found at Attachment
E.

The Board receives a complaint or information that may cause it to initiate a complaint in
a number of ways:

e From the public (e.g. patients, patients’ relatives);

e From other licensees (e.g. reports by physicians, physician assistants,
pharmacists, etc.);

e From health care entities (e.g. reports of employment or privilege termination
based upon concerns about competency or professionalism); and

e From other state or federal agencies (e.g. other state medical boards; law
enforcement; FSMB Disciplinary Alerts; NPDB Reports).

Complaints are docketed and processed by the unit once received. Complaints may be
submitted to the Board in a number of ways:

e In writing by mail;

e Online via a complaint form available on the Board’s website
(https://www.maine.gov/md/discipline/file-complaint.html);

e Byemail; or

e Telephonically recorded (and transcribed) if the individual requires
accommodation due to vision or other physical disability that impairs the ability
to file a written complaint.

Upon receipt of a complaint, the unit sends a letter acknowledging receipt of the
complaint to the individual complainant, together with an informational brochure regarding
the Board’s complaint and investigative process. A copy of the brochure can is available on
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the Board’s website (https://www.maine.gov/md/resources/forms.html) and be found at
Attachment F. When indicated by the circumstances, the unit’s consumer assistance
specialist contacts the complainant to assist in clarifying:

e The nature and scope of the complaint;

e The identity of the physician or physician assistant against whom the complaint
is directed;

e The identify of other health care providers or facilities involved in the patient’s
care; and

e The relevant times and dates of treatment.

In general, the unit sends the complaint to the licensee within 7 days of receipt, together
with a cover letter indicating that a response is required within thirty (30) days of receipt of
the complaint and an informational brochure concerning the Board’s complaint and
investigative process. A copy of the brochure provided to licensees is available on the Board’s
website (https://www.maine.gov/md/resources/forms.html) and can be found at Attachment G.
The unit’s investigative secretary interacts daily with licensees and attorneys regarding
complaints, the complaint process, and due dates for responses to complaints. Typically,
licensees or their attorneys request a 30-day extension to respond to a complaint due to the
need to assemble and review all relevant medical documentation. Requests for further
extensions of time to respond are granted only for “extreme circumstances.”

FAQs regarding the Board’s complaint and investigative process are also available on
the Board’s website: https://www.maine.gov/md/discipline/discipline-fags.html. A copy of
those FAQs can be found at Attachment H.

Responses received from licensees to complaints are provided to the complainants if
they are permitted access to the health care information of the patient and providing the
response will not be “detrimental to the health of the complainant.” See 32 M.R.S. § 3282-
A(1). The complainant may submit a reply to the response within 10 days. Whenever a reply
raises additional issues not raised in the initial complaint, it is provided to the licensee for an
opportunity for further response.

Complaints against licensees are reviewed and investigated by the unit with the
assistance of the Board’s assistant attorney general. The unit conducts regular meetings
regarding complaint investigations, including determining what medical records to obtain
and from what sources and for what time frames, and whether to obtain an outside expert
review regarding medical care and treatment. The unit’s medical director reviews the
complaint file to ensure all relevant medical records related to the complaint are included in
the file. The extent of the unit’s investigation depends upon the nature of the complaint and
the complexity of the medical care. For example, a complaint that focuses upon a licensee’s
failure to listen (i.e. rudeness) during a single patient visit may require less investigative
measures than one that alleges inappropriate prescribing to multiple patients.

Once a complaint investigative file is complete, it is placed on a monthly Board meeting
agenda for review. Complaint reviews occur during public (open) sessions of the Board by
de-identifying the licensee and the patient (unless there is a likelihood that the public would
somehow discern the identity of the patient or physician due to the circumstances). When
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necessary, and pursuant to the advice of the Board’s assistant attorney general, the Board may
go into executive session to review a complaint. Under such circumstances, the patient and the
physician and their attorneys may be present for the Board’s executive session review.

In general, following review the Board has the authority to take any of the following
actions regarding a complaint:

e Dismiss a complaint;

e Dismiss a complaint and issue a letter of guidance or concern;

¢ Invite the licensee and complainant to attend an informal conference;
e Offer the licensee a consent agreement that resolves the complaint;

e Schedule a complaint for an adjudicatory hearing.

Complaints are dismissed when the Board determines there is no violation of a Board
statute or rule or a professional code of ethics. The Board issues letters of guidance to educate
or reinforce knowledge or professional obligations. The Board invites a licensee/complainant
to an informal conference when there may be more information that can be obtained. Informal
conferences are required to be conducted in executive session (unless otherwise requested by
the licensee) and both the licensee and complainant and their attorneys may be present. The
Board enters into consent agreements with the agreement of the licensee and Office of
Attorney General that resolve complaint investigations. The Board holds adjudicatory
hearings when unable to resolve a complaint by consent agreement or other means.

The Board, with the approval of the Attorney General, contracts with a hearing officer to
provide it with legal counsel and regulate the course of adjudicatory hearings. The hearing
officer assists the Board by conducting pre-hearing conferences to identify/clarify issues,
identify potential witnesses, and review potential exhibits. The hearing officer administers
oaths to witnesses, rules on evidentiary objections, and prepares a draft decision and order for
the Board to review based upon the findings made by the Board. Decisions issued by the
Board are appealable to District or Superior Court.

Reporting and Posting of Adverse Actions

All finalized adverse actions (consent agreements, license surrenders, decisions) are
posted on the Board’s website: https://www.maine.gov/md/discipline/adverse-licensing-
actions.html. In addition, the adverse action is linked to the specific licensee, and may be
found when looking up a licensee using the Board’s “Find a licensee in our database” feature.
The Board reports all finalized adverse actions to the FSMB and NPDB data bases, which
provide reports regarding the adverse action to all jurisdictions where the individual is
licensed or seeking licensure.

2008 to 2018 Complaint Data

Each year, the Board files an annual report with the Legislature regarding the number
and nature of complaints processed by the Board. The following table captures some of the
data from those reports:
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Year

No. of Complaints

No. of
Discipline

Basis for Discipline

Average
Days to
Closure

2008

Filed: 205

Total Pending: 271
(Includes
complaints carried
forward)

28

52% Substance Misuse
17% Incompetence
14% Unprofessional
Conduct

10% Fraud

7% Lack of practice

171.86

2009

Filed: 224

Total Pending: 319

22

44% Unprofessional
Conduct

18% Substance Misuse
14% Fraud

14% Incompetence

5% Unlicensed Practice
5% Reciprocal Action

162.20

2010

Filed: 259

Total Pending: 351

15

46% Substance Misuse
33% Unprofessional
Conduct

7% Lack of Practice
7% Fraud

7% Incompetence

172.14

2011

Filed: 210

Total Pending: 324

17

44% Unprofessional
Conduct

25% Substance Misuse
19% Incompetence
6% Fraud

6% Lack of Practice

178.17

2012

Filed: 193

Total Pending: 284

20

35% Substance Misuse
35% Unprofessional
Conduct

25% Incompetence
5% License Denial

174.83

2013

Filed: 182

Total Pending: 261

23

39% Unprofessional
Conduct

35% Substance Misuse
13% Incompetence
4.3% Fraud

4.3% Lack of Practice
4.3% License
Surrender

159.68

2014

Filed: 181

Total Pending: 257

13

54% Unprofessional
Conduct

16% Substance Misuse
15% Incompetence
15% Reciprocal Action

153.39

2015

Filed: 136

Total Pending: 219

16

37% Substance Misuse
25% Unprofessional
Conduct

19% Incompetence
19% Fraud

195.41

11



2016

Filed: 172 31 39% Unprofessional 197.76

Total Pending: 230 18% Substance Misuse

Conduct

18% Incompetence
14% Fraud

11% Law/Rule
Violation

2017

Filed: 177 27 31% Fraud 191.78

Total Pending: 259 Conduct

23% Unprofessional

19% License Surrender
11% Law/Rule
Violation

8% Incompetence

4% Substance Misuse
4% Sexual Misconduct

2018

Filed: 214 23 31% Unprofessional 156.25

Total Pending: 307 22% Substance Misuse

Conduct

18% License Surrender
4% Fraud
4% Sexual Misconduct

This information indicates that between 2008 and 2018:

The Board received on average 195 complaints annually. This figure does not include
the number of complaints that were carried forward from the previous years.

The average number of pending investigations of complaints annually was 280.

The average number of days from the receipt of a complaint to closure of a complaint
was 173.95 (approximately 5.76 months). Factors that contribute to the length of time
that a complaint remains open include:

O O0O0O00O0

(0]

The nature and complexity of the complaint

Obtaining necessary medical records

Locating an outside medical expert reviewer

Obtaining an outside medical expert review report

Additional follow-up investigation, including questions posed to the licensee
Willingness of the licensee to voluntarily complete continuing medical
education relevant to the complaint prior to final review

Scheduling adjudicatory hearings

The two main types of complaints that led to discipline involved either substance
misuse or unprofessional conduct. The Board has taken measures to address these two

issues:
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1. Substance Misuse.

The Board has developed protocols with the Medical Professionals Health Program
(“MPHP”), which provides information and resources to licensees with mental health
or substance misuse issues. The Board annually provides $35,000 to the MPHP for
providing such services, and for overseeing the treatment and monitoring of licensees
required to participate in the MPHP by the Board. In addition, the Board encourages
its licensees through various means (e.g. the Board’s website, jurisprudence
examination, applications for licensure, electronic newsletters) to seek appropriate
treatment with the MPHP before an issue arises that comes to the Board’s attention.

2. Unprofessional Conduct.

Unprofessional conduct comes in many forms including poor communication, failure
to follow proper procedures for prescribing controlled drugs, and even
unprofessional social media postings. To address these issues, the Board has
developed both rules and guidelines, which are available on the Board’s website and
pushed out to licensees via the Board’s electronic newsletter:

e Chapter 21 Use of Controlled Substances for Treatment of Pain
e Guidelines for Use of Chaperones

e Communication Guidelines

e Copy and Paste Guidelines (for electronic medical records)

e Informed Consent Guidelines

e Medical Professionalism and Social Media

Compliance Monitoring

Board consent agreements or decision and orders that place probationary conditions,
limitations or restrictions on licensees are monitored for compliance by the complaint
coordinator. Monitoring compliance may include ensuring: receipt of medical reports;
completion of medical education; use of chaperone; no prescribing of opiates; no use of illegal
substances (toxicological testing). Failure to comply with monitoring may lead to further
adverse action. The complaint coordinator provides the Board with monthly monitoring
reports.

Complaint Investigative Unit Initiatives

In the previous four years, the following changes have been made to the Complaint
Investigative Unit and implemented by the Board to improve the complaint and investigative
process:

e Cross-training. All members of the unit have cross-trained, contributing to
uninterrupted workflow during co-worker absences, knowledge retention, and higher
quality public service.

e Complaint Coordinator. This position was created in 2016 to oversee the management

13



of the Unit and to tighten up monitoring of licensees under consent agreements or
Board orders, including providing monthly monitoring reports to the Board.

Move-It. Since 2015, the Board meeting materials, including complaint and
investigative information, have been electronically uploaded to a secure website.
Board members download the material from the secure website onto Board-issued
laptop computers, which they bring to the monthly meetings.

Developed an “Outside Expert Review” packet that provides guidance to medical
experts who agree to provide reviews of cases for the Board.

Updated the “Discipline FAQs” on the Board’s website, to include links to the FSMB
national physician/physician assistant “docinfo” data base that allows the public to
determine all of the jurisdictions where a physician/physician assistant is or was
licensed.

Developed a “Co-Complainant” form to assist those individuals who file complaints
against licensees for treatment of others such as a spouse, friend, or relative.

Expanded the role of the medical director in on-going complaint investigations,
including review of disciplinary alerts issued by the FSMB, reports issued by the
NPDB, and mandated reports received by the Board pursuant to Title 24 M.R.S. §§
2505 & 2506.

The Complaint and Investigations Unit is highly motivated, professional and interacts daily
(telephonically and by email) with licensees, attorneys, complainants, health care systems,
the MPHP, and other state and federal agencies.

3. Rulemaking: The Board is authorized to set standards for licensing and practice and to
adopt rules. The rules adopted by the Board are routine technical rules. During the previous
4 years, the Board has endeavored to enact — whenever possible — joint rules with other
licensing boards regarding the same subject area:

Chapter 1, Rule Regarding Physicians

Chapter 2, Joint Rule Regarding Physician Assistants (joint rule with Board of
Osteopathic Licensure)

Chapter 4, Rules for the Issuance of Citations

Chapter 5, Rules for Collaborative Drug Therapy Management (joint rule with Board of
Pharmacy)

Chapter 6, Telemedicine Standards of Practice (joint rule with Board of Osteopathic
Licensure)

Chapter 10, Sexual Misconduct (joint rule with Board of Osteopathic Licensure)
Chapter 21, Use of Controlled Substances for Treatment of Pain (joint rule with Board
of Nursing, Board of Osteopathic Licensure)

The Board’s executive director in consultation with the Board’s medical director, assistant
attorney general, and the Board’s administrative assistant coordinate proposed rule updates for
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the Board to ensure adherence to rulemaking requirements set forth in the Maine Administrative
Procedure Act. Rule updates may be based upon new or emerging issues (e.g. collaborative drug
therapy, telemedicine) or changes to national medical ethical standards (e.g. sexual misconduct
involving “key third parties™).

The Board is currently undertaking two rule making initiatives:

e Chapter 21, Use of Controlled Substances for Treatment of Pain (joint rule making
endeavor with Board of Nursing, Board of Osteopathic Licensure, and Board of Podiatric
Medicine). This proposed update would include exemptions for certain categories of
patients, including those in hospice care.

e Chapter 12, Office Based Opioid Treatment (joint rule making endeavor with the Board
of Nursing and Board of Osteopathic Licensure). This proposed rule would establish
minimum standards for providing office based opioid treatment.

Education: The Board educates its licensees in a number of ways regarding applicable Maine laws
and rules:

Jurisprudence Examination

The Board developed an online jurisprudence examination for all new applicants for Maine
licensure and all applicants for renewal every 4 years. The jurisprudence examination includes
laws and rules applicable to the following subjects: The organization, membership, and powers
and duties of the Board; Licensing and registration; Complaints and discipline; Prescribing
controlled substances (to include the use of the prescription monitoring program (PMP));
Mandated reporting and notifications (child abuse and neglect); Patient access to medical records;
Telemedicine; and the Medical Professionals Health Program (health and wellness).

To assist licensees, the Board also created an online study guide that tracks the subject
matter of the jurisprudence examination.
https://www.maine.gov/md/licensure/docs/Exam%20Study%20Guide%2007_08 15.pdf
Applicants must attain a passing score of 75 or more.

Electronic Newsletter

The Board developed an electronic newsletter, which is emailed to all licensees three times
a year and also posted on its website: https://www.maine.gov/md/board-
information/newsletters.html. The newsletter provides updates to licensees regarding new laws
(mandated reporting, use of PMP, opioid prescribing, duty to warn, etc.); proposed and newly
adopted rules; changes to Board membership, leadership or staff; upcoming continuing medical
education courses; licensee notification requirements; medical issues such as Alzheimer’s
Disease; and adverse licensing and disciplinary actions.

Maine Quality Counts/Qualidigm

The Board contracts with Maine Quality Counts/Qualidigm to create online modules
regarding new laws enacted in Maine. Examples include modules on opioid prescribing; office
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based opioid treatment; duty to warn; and death with dignity. The modules are designed to
provide licensees with education regarding emerging laws affecting medical practice.

Financial Management of Dedicated Revenue: The Board’s assistant executive director, in
coordination with the service center (DAFS), is responsible for the financial management of the
Board, including preparation of the biennial budget information based on historical data specific
to each program; monitoring incoming dedicated revenue from license fees; analyzing trends in
revenue streams and recommending fee adjustments to the executive director. Fee adjustments
are made through the APA rulemaking process.

Public Accessibility: The Board’s website is a multi-purpose public information tool that allows
licensees to serve themselves by: reviewing Licensing FAQs; taking the jurisprudence examination
online; submitting online initial license applications and online renewals of their licenses; updating
their contact information; requesting a copy of their license (which is then emailed to them);
reviewing the laws, rules, policies, and guidelines of the Board; reviewing the minutes of Board
meetings; reviewing the adverse actions taken by the Board; and reviewing the Board’s electronic
newsletters. The Board’s website also allows licensees, employers and the public to check the
license status of a physician or physician assistant, obtain disciplinary information about a
licensee, and download relevant statutes, rules, policies and guidelines. Public licensing
information can be accessed online at

https://www.pfr.maine.gov/ALMSOnline/ ALMSQuery/Searchindividual.aspx?Board=376.
Recently, the licensing renewal process has been streamlined. An applicant whose application is
approved receives an email notification that the license has been activated in the Agency
Licensing Management System (ALMS). The licensee may then print the license, thus avoiding
any delay traditionally associated with the printing and mailing of a license. In addition, licensees
are notified by email 60 days prior to the expiration of their licenses that they are due to renew
their licenses, which may be accomplished online.

Public Accountability: The Freedom of Access Law (1 M.R.S. 8401-410) ensures that, with
limited exceptions, all licensing board meetings are open to the public and that deliberations of
boards are a matter of public record. However, Title 10 M.R.S. §8003-B provides that all
complaints and investigative records of the Board remain confidential during the pendency of
an investigation, and that confidential patient information remains confidential after closure of
the complaint. In addition, Title 24 M.R.S. § 2510 provides that certain information received by
the Board shall, with limited exceptions, remain confidential and not be subject to public
disclosure. The Board’s executive director responds to Freedom of Access (FOAA) requests
from members of the public and the media. A recently enacted law required the Board to adopt
new protocols for processing requests under the FOAA. A copy of those new protocols can be
found at Attachment I.

| C. Organizational Structure

The Board is affiliated with the Department of Professional and Financial Regulation and is
composed of 10 members appointed by the Governor. The Board leadership consists of a Chair
and a Secretary, each of whom are elected by the Board every two years.
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The Board employs 9 fulltime staff and 2 part-time staff, including an executive director who is
responsible for administering the program. The Board staff is organized into two major sections:
licensing and complaint investigations. An organizational chart can be found at Attachment J.

| D. Repealed, P.L. 2013 c. 307 |

| E. Financial Summary |

The Board’s financial summary can be found at Attachment K.

| F. Repealed, P.L. 2013, c. 307 |

| G. Areas of Coordination with Other State and Federal Agencies |

The Board maintains close working relationships with multiple state and federal agencies,
sometimes sharing overlapping authority and/or enforcement responsibility.

Office of the Governor and Department of the Secretary of State

The Board shares a common database with the Governor’s Office and the Secretary of State’s
Office containing board member information. The Board coordinates with the SOS regarding
all rulemaking initiatives.

Department of Professional and Financial Regulation

The Board is affiliated with the Department of Professional and Financial Regulation (PFR),
and works closely with the Commissioner regarding financial issues, leadership development
training, and joint rulemaking with Boards within PFR.

The Office of the Attorney General

The Attorney General’s Office provides legal counsel, an assistant attorney general, to the
Board and Board staff. In addition, the Attorney General’s Office provides investigational
services to the Board from an AG detective.

Department of Health and Human Services

The Board obtains information from or exchanges information with various agencies within the
Maine Department of Health and Human Services, including the Maine CDC, Medical
Marijuana Program, Prescription Monitoring Program, and the Division of Licensing &
Regulatory Services, Medical Facilities Unit.

Department of Public Safety

The Board coordinates with the Department of Public Safety, State Bureau of Identification
regarding criminal background checks for physicians seeking medical licensure through the
Interstate Medical Licensing Compact.
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Maine Board of Osteopathic Licensure, Board of Nursing, Board of Pharmacy

The Board works closely with these three boards on matters of common interest, including
proposing and adopting joint rules regarding prescribing of controlled drugs and sexual
misconduct. In addition, the boards regularly refer complaints and/or investigative information to
one another when indicated.

Maine Health Data Organization

The Board works closely with the Maine Health Data Organization (MHDQ), creating “minimum
data set” questions for physicians on applications for licensure and re-licensure, and sharing that
data with MHDO and other organizations concerned with identifying the number, specialty,
location, and practice of physicians in Maine.

U.S. Drug Enforcement Administration

The Board shares/exchanges investigatory information and adverse actions with the United
States Department of Justice and Drug Enforcement Administration.

The United States Veterans Administration

The Board shares/exchanges information with the United States Veterans Administration
regarding ongoing and completed complaint investigations involving Maine-licensed
physicians working at VA hospitals.

Other State Medical Licensing Boards/Commissions

The Board is a member of the Federation of State Medical Boards (“FSMB”), a nonprofit
organization that supports medical licensing boards in the United States and its territories. The
Board regularly coordinates with medical licensing boards of other jurisdictions where a
licensee under investigation may also have a license to practice medicine.

H. Constituencies

The Board serves the public at large, including more than 7,500 licensees, as well as applicants
for licensure and patients seeking information about the Board’s complaint process.
Additionally, the Board works with a number of professional associations at the state and
national level, including:

e Federation of State Medical Boards

e Federation Credentials Verification Service

e Education Commission on Foreign Medical Graduates

e Interstate Medical Licensing Compact Commission

¢ International Association of Medical Regulatory Agencies

e American Board of Medical Specialties
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e National Association of Medical Staff Services
e Maine Medical Association

e Maine Association of Physician Assistants

e Maine Association of Medical Staff Services

e Medical Professionals Health Program

I. Alternative Delivery Systems

In coordination with InforME and the Federation of State Medical Boards, the Board has made
use of information technology to assist the public and Board staff. In the past ten years, this
cooperative effort has resulted in:

e Online complaint forms that can be emailed to the Board
e Online initial licensing, to include development of a Uniform Application

e Online license renewal services, to include the ability to print a renewed license
(current rates of online license renewal exceed 90%)

e Email notification to licensees regarding upcoming licensure renewal with a link to the
Board’s website

e Issuance of laptop computers to Board members dedicated to use for downloading
meeting materials and use at monthly meetings

e Use of MOVE-IT, a secure website, to which Board meeting materials are uploaded for
access, viewing, and downloading by Board members

e Development of an electronic newsletter that is emailed to all licensees three times a
year

J. Emerging Issues

There are a number of emerging issues that may affect the Board and its constituencies:

1. Merger/Consolidation of the Board of Licensure in Medicine and the Board of Osteopathic
Licensure

During a previous GEA review in 2003, consideration was given to merge or consolidate Maine’s
two medical licensing boards: The Board of Licensure in Medicine and the Board of Osteopathic
Licensure. At that time, both medical boards and the respective allopathic and osteopathic
associations opposed merging the two medical boards. At present, there are only 14 states where
there are two separate medical and osteopathic boards: Arizona; California; Florida; Maine;
Minnesota; Nevada; New Mexico; Oklahoma; Pennsylvania; Tennessee; Utah; Vermont;
Washington; and West Virginia.

The Maine Board of Licensure in Medicine supports the merger or consolidation of Maine’s two
medical licensing boards. There are various models of consolidated medical boards throughout
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the country, including those with committees with designated and distinct functions such as
complaint investigation and hearing adjudication. A consolidation could involve a virtually
wholesale merger into a single Commission or a merger that is based upon proportional
representation of the regulated licensees.

Merging the 2 Maine medical boards may potentially:

a.

Eliminate redundancy in licensing and regulating physician assistants in Maine. Because
there are two medical licensing boards in Maine, physician assistants must choose which
board they want to be licensed with. Prior to 2015, physician assistants in Maine were
required to be licensed by both boards if they were going to be supervised by an
allopathic physician and an osteopathic physician. In addition, each medical board had its
own set of rules for physician assistants, including different requirements for supervision
and scope of practice. In 2015, PFR Commissioner Anne Head, the 2 medical boards, and
stakeholders drafted changes to both medical board statutes (that were enacted into law)
to create uniform requirements for physician assistant licensure and registration, and to
require the adoption of joint rules regarding supervision and scope of practice.

Eliminate redundancy in licensing and regulating physicians in Maine. At present there
are two medical boards that license and regulate physicians in Maine, each with its own
staff, its own laws, and its own rules:

e The Board of Osteopathic Licensure: Staff: 2
e The Board of Licensure in Medicine: Staff: 9

Provide additional personnel and resources to the Board of Osteopathic Licensure that it
does not currently have, including:

e Additional investigative staff
e Additional licensing staff
e An Electronic Newsletter

Provide a greater pool of Board members that would allow for the organization of
standing committees to perform separate investigative and adjudicatory functions without
the need for the entire board to convene.

Provide for uniform rules regarding physicians (other than existing joint rules) such as for
Telemedicine and Unprofessional Conduct.

2. The Adjudicatory Hearing Process

The Board conducts adjudicatory hearings pursuant to the Maine Administrative Procedure Act.

The Challenges

The current process for conducting adjudicatory hearings merits review and consideration of
statutory changes for the following reasons:
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a. The physician and physician assistant members of the Board are in active clinical
practice with full-time positions providing medical care. The Board meets at least once
per month, and then on additional dates when necessary to conduct an adjudicatory
hearing. Scheduling additional hearing dates for members in active clinical practice and
with patients who depend upon them presents a significant challenge. At times, it results
in a choice to cancel or reschedule patient care (including surgeries) or not attend the
adjudicatory hearing. Adjudicatory hearings with complex medical issues, multiple
expert witnesses, and thousands of pages of exhibits may take several days to complete.
Given the Board members’ patient schedules, this may result in a hearing that is
scheduled over several months, especially as the law requires 6 members (a majority) in
order to hold an adjudicatory hearing. The current process results in the delay of
scheduling adjudicatory hearings and the final resolution of those complaints.

b. The Board both investigates and adjudicates complaints filed against physicians and
physician assistants. While permitted under existing law, this dual role has constantly
led to licensees and their attorneys raising allegations of bias and prejudgment in any
subsequent adjudicatory hearing.

c. The Board is represented by an assistant attorney general who both provides it with legal
advice and counsel and prosecutes cases in front of the Board during adjudicatory
hearings. While permitted under existing law and the unique power of the Office of
Attorney General, this dual role has constantly led to licensees and their attorneys
raising allegations of bias by the Board in favor of its assigned assistant attorney
general. It is not unusual for the assigned assistant attorney general to provide legal
advice and counsel to the Board and then prosecute a case in front of the Board in the
same meeting.

Possible Solutions

The following proposed changes are designed to address concerns regarding scheduling and
timely completion of adjudicatory hearings as well as allegations of bias and prejudgment
and claims of undue influence of the assistant attorney general.

a. Change the Board’s statute to create standing committees with separate authority to
investigate and adjudicate. Each committee would have separate and distinct functions
with independent authority to take final action. For example, the investigative committee
would have authority to investigate complaints, dismiss complaints without merit, offer
a consent agreement to resolve a complaint, and refer a complaint to the hearing
committee. The hearing committee would have the authority to adjudicate a complaint,
including issuing a decision or approving a consent agreement.

b. Change the Board’s statute to permit an independent hearing officer to conduct the
adjudicatory hearing and prepare a written recommended decision and order for the
Board, together with a record of the hearing (transcripts, exhibits, etc.). A number of
State agencies already employ this model.
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3. Aging Physicians

The Federation of State Medical Boards (FSMB) recently published the 2018 census of actively
licensed physicians in the United States.* The census shows that the number of physicians over
age 60 who still practice medicine continues to grow. Today 30% of actively licensed physicians
in the U.S. are age 60 or older. Maine’s physician population mirrors this trend.

A number of articles have appeared in medical and regulatory journals regarding the aging of
physicians and its potential impact upon physical and cognitive abilities, and, therefore, clinical
competency and patient safety. The issue of aging physicians and its potential effect on patient
safety raises a number of difficult questions:

e Is there an age at which a physician should no longer practice clinical medicine?

¢ Should physicians have mandatory retirement ages as do other professions such as airline
pilots, air traffic controllers, and FBI agents?

e Since studies have shown a decline in cognitive abilities for all persons after age 50, should
physicians undergo cognitive evaluation and testing and, if so, at what age?

Other professionals such as airline pilots are required to undergo regular assessments of their
mental and physical health, which reflects a “proactive” approach to ensuring current
competency and the safety of the public. In contrast, with limited exceptions, licensing and
regulatory agencies employ a “reactive” approach with regard to physician assessment following
a patient complaint or a report by a health care provider or healthcare entity that has concerns
regarding a physician’s ability to competently care for patients.

Because of the potential for significant patient harm, some entities are advocating for and, in
some cases, taking a more “proactive” approach to this issue. In 2015 the Council on Medical
Education (CME) of the American Medical Association (AMA) issued a report which stated that
a physician has a “professional duty to continually assess his or her own physical and mental
health” and called for the development of formal “guidelines/standards for monitoring and
assessing” aging physicians’ competency.? In 2016 the American College of Surgeons (ACS)
issued a statement recognizing the fact that surgeons “are not immune to age-related decline in
physical and cognitive skills,” and supporting the “objective assessment of fitness” of an aging
surgeon in lieu of a mandatory retirement age. * The ACS statement recommended that “starting
at age 65-70, surgeons undergo voluntary and confidential baseline physical examination and
visual testing by their personal physician,” encouraged surgeons to “voluntarily assess their

1Young A, Chaudhry HJ, Pei X, Arnhart K, Dugan M, Steingard S. FSMB Census of Licensed Physicians in
the United States, 2018. Journal of Medical Regulation, Vol. 105, No. 2:7-23, 2019. Available at
https://www.fsmb.org/siteassets/advocacy/publications/2018census.pdf.

2 American Medical Association, Competency and the Aging Physician, Report 5 of the Council on Medical
Education (A-15). Chicago, Il: AMA, 2015. Available at https://www.cppph.org/wp-
content/uploads/2016/02/AMA-Council-on-Medical-Education-Aging-Physician-Report-2015.pdf.

8 American College of Surgeons Board of Governors Physician Competency and Health Workgroup,
Statement on the Aging Surgeon, Bull Am Coll Surg 2016, 101(1): 42-43. Available at
https://www.facs.org/about-acs/statements/80-aging-surgeon.
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neurocognitive function using confidential online tools,” and reminded them to disclose any
concerning findings. This proactive approach by the AMA and the ACS relies primarily upon
voluntary action by physicians. However, physicians who are already cognitively impaired are
less likely to recognize the need for an evaluation or to self-limit their practice. In addition,
studies have shown that a significant percentage of physicians who are aware of a colleague’s
competency issues do not report them to the relevant authorities. In addition, a 2017 article in the
Journal of the American Medical Association Surgery recommended that “the most promising
and feasible next step is to move from voluntary to mandatory programs to assess the wellness
and competence of physicians at a certain age.”*

Some hospital systems are already mandating that physicians undergo health and cognitive
screenings upon reaching a certain age. The University of Virginia Health System requires
physicians to undergo a physical and mental screening upon reaching the age of 70, and upon
reaching the age of 75 to undergo the screening every 2 years. Other hospital systems that have
imposed similar requirements include: Driscoll Children’s Hospital in Texas, Stanford Hospitals
and Clinics in California, Cooper University Health Care in New Jersey, and the University of
Pittsburg Medical Center Health Care System. Opponents of the screenings assert that they are
unnecessary and discriminatory. Proponents of the screening argue that they verify the
physicians’ health and competency and act to allay any concerns of patient advocates.

The Board is aware of the aging of Maine physicians and the issues surrounding it. The Board’s
mission is to protect the public, and it is studying this issue and ways to be more “proactive” in
identifying physicians whose physical and/or cognitive abilities may pose a risk to the delivery of
safe patient care. Recently, the Board adopted new guidelines for physician re-entry to medical
practice.® The new guidelines identify the steps that physicians should take in order to return to
medical practice, including older physicians who may have previously retired. In addition, the
Board is considering whether or not a physical and mental health screening would be appropriate
when physicians reach a certain age. Like the AMA and ACS, the Board encourages all
physicians to continually assess their physical and mental health and report to the Board
physicians who may be impaired, incompetent or unprofessional. The Board also encourages
physicians to be cognizant of the effects that age may have on themselves and their colleagues
and their ability to safely practice medicine.

4. Physician Assistants

In 2015 the Board of Licensure in Medicine and the Board of Osteopathic Licensure were
involved in developing statutory changes to their laws in order to create uniform criteria
requirements for licensure and registration and to allow physician assistants to be licensed by
either medical board and work under the supervision of either an allopathic or osteopathic
physician. Prior to that time, physician assistants were required to be licensed by the allopathic
board if she was being supervised by an allopathic physician and licensed by the osteopathic
board if she was being supervised by an osteopathic physician. This led to significant issues for

“ Dellinger E P, Pellegrini C, Gallagher T, The Aging Physician and the Medical Profession, A Review,
JAMA Surg. doi: 10.1001, 2017. Available at https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/28724142.

% http://www.maine.gov/md/laws-statutes/policies.html
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physician assistants, including the need to be licensed by both boards if working under an
allopath and an osteopath. In 2016, the Board of Licensure in Medicine and Board of Osteopathic
Licensure adopted a joint rule regarding the licensure and registration of physician assistants and
adopted uniform application and registration forms. Today, physician assistants may be licensed
by either the Board of Licensure in Medicine or the Board of Osteopathic Licensure and work
under the supervision of an allopath or an osteopath.

At the end of the last legislative session, a bill was introduced (L.D. 1660) that would have
drastically amended the Board’s statute and given physician assistants, who are educated and
trained to work under physician supervision, the ability to practice independently. A copy of LD
1660 can be found at Attachment L. The Board of Licensure in Medicine and the Board of
Osteopathic Licensure submitted written comments regarding LD 1660, which can be found at
Attachment M. While the Board recognizes the significant contributions that physician
assistants make as a member of the health care team, it does not support independent practice for
physician assistants. The Board has discussed a number of possible changes to its statute
regarding physician assistants, which it has conveyed to the stakeholders for L.D. 1660. A copy
of the draft changes can be found at Attachment N. The draft changes would delineate 3 separate
spheres within which physician assistants could practice in Maine:

1.  The existing model with a “practice agreement” (which would replace the “plan of
supervision”). This would apply to PAs who: (a) Do not practice within a “health care system”
defined by the statute; and (b) Do not apply for or qualify to practice in collaboration with a
physician in “primary care” as defined by the statute. The physician assistants in this category
would include those who practice a specialty in a private medical practice setting.

2. PAs who work within a “health care system” — which would require only a “practice
notification.” As the vast majority of physician assistants are employed within healthcare
systems, this draft change is intended to reduce the financial and administrative burden and cost
to both PAs and health care systems.

3. PAs who apply and qualify to work pursuant to a “collaborative agreement” in “primary
care” as defined by the statute. This would allow qualified PAs to practice primary care in
collaboration with a physician or physicians. This draft change is intended to: (a) Permit qualified
PAs to work in collaboration with physicians when providing primary care; (b) Increase access to
care in rural areas of Maine.

These proposed statutory changes, which are based in part upon a relatively new law and rule in
New Mexico, would reduce the administrative burden on physician assistants,
supervising/collaborative physicians, and health care systems, and allow for a measured increase
in autonomy for qualified physician assistants in primary care.

5. National Licensing Compacts

In 2017 Maine adopted the Interstate Medical Licensure Compact (IMLC). Currently, the IMLC
has been adopted by 29 states, the District of Columbia, and Guam. The IMLC allows the Board
to issue expedited licenses to qualified physicians from other states and to issue letters of

qualification for physicians licensed in Maine seeking licensure in another state under the IMLC.

24



In order to qualify for an expedited license under the IMLC, a physician applicant must meet
each of the following criteria:

e Is agraduate of a medical school accredited by the Liaison Committee on Medical
Education or the American Osteopathic Association's Commission on Osteopathic
College Accreditation, or its successor, or a medical school listed in the International
Medical Education Directory database or its successor;

e Passed each component of the United States Medical Licensing Examination or the
Comprehensive Osteopathic Medical Licensing Examination within 3 attempts or a
predecessor examination accepted by a state member board as an equivalent examination
for licensure purposes;

e Successfully completed graduate medical education approved by the Accreditation
Council for Graduate Medical Education or the American Osteopathic Association;

e Holds specialty certification or a time-unlimited specialty certificate recognized by the
American Board of Medical Specialties or the American Osteopathic Association's
Bureau of Osteopathic Specialists;

e Possesses a full and unrestricted license to engage in the practice of medicine issued by a
member board;

e Has never been convicted or received adjudication, deferred adjudication, community
supervision or deferred disposition for any offense by a court of appropriate jurisdiction;

e Has never held a license authorizing the practice of medicine and been subjected to
discipline by a licensing agency in any state, federal or foreign jurisdiction, excluding any
action related to nonpayment of fees related to a license;

e Has never had a controlled substance license or permit suspended or revoked by a state or
the United States Drug Enforcement Administration; and

e Is not under active investigation by a licensing agency or law enforcement authority in
any state, federal or foreign jurisdiction.

In order to qualify, physicians must complete a criminal background check. The Board, in
consultation with the Department of Public Safety, State Bureau of Identification (SBI), has
established protocols for receiving and reviewing criminal history record information, which is
highly confidential. Maine physicians who apply to the Board for a “letter of qualification”
submit their fingerprints to a vendor, who then forwards them to the SBI for a national criminal
background check. The results of the criminal background check are forwarded to the Board via a
dedicated and secure computer to which only the executive director and assistant executive
director have access. No criminal history record information is downloaded, copied or retained
by the Board.

As the IMLC continues to expand, the Board expects to be issuing expedited licenses and letters
of qualification on a more regular basis. Thus far, the Board has issued 61 letters of qualification,
and issued 166 expedited licenses under the IMLC.

The Board expects that this same type of model may be used to expedite the licensing of

physician assistants and would be supportive of such a measure. Board staff will be attending a
conference in Washington D.C. in October that concerns this issue.

25



6. Criminal Background Checks

Many states require a Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) criminal background check prior to
initial licensure. With the exception of licensing compacts like the IMLC, Maine does not.
Applicants for licensure are asked whether they have a history of criminal arrests or convictions,
but the Board does not have the authority to perform a criminal background check to verify the
information provided by the applicant. This issue becomes more important with the increasing
portability of the licensee population. The Board receives numerous applications for licensure
from physicians who provide locum tenens (temporary) work in Maine. Physicians with criminal
histories in other states who do not disclose that history on their applications for licensure will
not be detected by the Board unless information is received from some other source. Criminal
history information may be evidence of dishonesty or mental health issues or substance misuse
issues, which could pose a risk to Maine patients. As a result, some consideration should be given
to requiring an FBI criminal background check for all applicants for licensure.

K. Information Specifically Requested by Committee

None requested.

| L. Comparison of Related Federal Laws and Regulations

Not applicable.

M. Collecting, Managing and Using Personal Information

The Board collects personal information in a variety of ways as part of its function in licensing
applicants for licensure and investigating complaints. “Personal information™ includes but is
not limited to addresses, telephone numbers, dates of birth, social security numbers, and
medical information. The Board staff is aware of the confidentiality of this information and its
proper use in fulfilling its operations. Confidential personal information regarding licensees is
not posted on the Board’s website. Licensees have the option of providing a work or other
contact address and telephone number for posting online. Board staff do not disclose or
release social security numbers to the public.

The Board staff interacts with other State and federal agencies who may be authorized to have
access to personal information. Board staff consult with its assistant attorney general
regarding any questions about releasing or sharing this information. All requests for
information under the Maine Freedom of Access Act (FOAA) are reviewed by the Board’s
executive director in consultation with the Board’s assistant attorney general. The executive
director assembles the requested information, and reviews and redacts/removes confidential
personal information from the information including:

e Social security numbers
e DEA registration numbers
e Dates of birth
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e Medical information
e Birth, marriage, divorce documents
e Signatures

The Legislature recently amended the Board’s statute to require, with some limited
exceptions, notification to any licensee regarding a request for her information from the Board
pursuant to FOAA. As a result, the Board has developed a protocol for implementing the new
law. A copy of that protocol can be found at Attachment I.

N. List of Reports, Applications and Other Paperwork

The Board provides an annual report to the Legislature.
The Board maintains a number of applications and forms that are available online for use by its
constituents, including:

e Licensing
o Uniform application for physician licensure (Emergency, Permanent, Camp,

Administrative, Telemedicine, Educational certificate)
Volunteer physician license
Temporary physician license
Physician renewal application
Physician Reinstatement
Uniform application for physician assistant licensure
Physician Assistant Registration

0 Physician Assistant renewal application

e Complaint Investigation

o Complaint Form

0 Medical Release Form

0 Mandated Reporter Form
The forms are available on the Board’s website: https://www.maine.gov/md/.

OO0OO0O0O0Oo

O. List of Reports Required by the Legislature

None required.

P. List of Organizational Units and Programs

See Attachment J.

| Q. Statutory Provisions Requiring Legislative Review

There are a number of statutes affecting the Board of Licensure in Medicine and its processes that
merit Legislative review:

1. Title 10 M.R.S. § 8003(5) grants the Board the authority to revoke a license but requires any
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Board revocation to be reviewed in the District Court after a hearing de novo. In essence, this
means that a licensee is afforded two separate evidentiary hearings before his/her license
could be revoked. This results in an unnecessary duplication of time, effort and expense. The
Board rarely revokes a license (it has done so only 3 times in the past 10 years), and when it
does so the circumstances underlying such revocation are exceptionally grievous. Judicial
review of any action by the Board other than license revocation, including the denial of
licensure and suspension, occurs in the Superior Court and based upon the record of the
proceedings before the Board. The Board recommends that this section of Title 10 be
amended to reflect the same standard of review for revocation actions by licensing boards
within the Department of Professional and Financial Regulation — Superior Court based upon
the agency record. A draft amendment may be found at Attachment O.

Title 24 M.R.S. § 2505 mandates that physicians and physician assistants report to the Board
of Licensure in Medicine any physician or physician assistant where there is “reasonable
knowledge of acts of the physician or physician assistant amounting to gross or repeated
medical malpractice, misuse of alcohol, drugs or other substances that may result in the
physician's or the physician assistant's performing services in a manner that endangers the
health or safety of patients, professional incompetence, unprofessional conduct or sexual
misconduct identified by board rule.” Physicians and physician assistants who make
mandated reports under this law are afforded immunity from civil suit pursuant to Title 24
M.R.S. § 2511.

The statute permits but does not mandate that other health care providers such as nurses,
pharmacists, physical therapists, social workers, psychologists, professional counselors make
such a report to the Board of Licensure in Medicine. As a result, these other health care
professionals are not afforded the immunity under Title 24 M.R.S. § 2511 for making a
permissive report. Amending the statute to mandate reporting by these other health care
professionals serves the dual purpose of encouraging reports to the Board and providing
immunity from civil suit for so doing. A draft amendment can be found at Attachment P.

Title 24 M.R.S. 8 2506 mandates that a healthcare provider or entity provide specific
information to the Board of Licensure in Medicine (Board) within 60 days of certain events.
However, it does not require the healthcare provider or entity to provide all of the relevant
information associated with that event until requested by the Board. Thus, the statute requires
that the Board formally request all relevant information, an unnecessary additional step that
delays the Board’s investigation as it always requests the additional relevant information. A
draft amendment eliminating this extra and unnecessary step can be found at Attachment Q.

Title 24 M.R.S. 8 2510 provides for confidentiality and exceptions to confidentiality of
information provided to the Board pursuant to 24 M.R.S. 8§ 2505 & 2506. It also eliminates
the claim of “physician-patient” privilege in complaints filed with the Board. However, under
Maine law the “physician-patient” privilege has been expanded to “health care professional”
which includes licensed physicians, licensed physician assistants, and licensed nurse
practitioners. (See Rule 503 of the Maine Rules of Evidence). Therefore, this section should
be amended to reflect current Maine law. A draft amendment can be found at Attachment R.
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5. Title 32 Chapter 48: Board of Licensure in Medicine. The Board is committed to
submitting statutory changes for review to the 130" Legislature. The Board’s enabling statute
could use a comprehensive review and update. While the statute has been amended over the
years, it has not been comprehensively updated. For example:

a. M.R.S. § 3270 defines the practice of medicine and surgery, requires a license to
practice medicine or surgery, and provides criminal penalties for doing so without a
license. The definition of the “practice of medicine or surgery” could be updated to
reflect more current definitions and exceptions (e.g. medical students, active duty
military, etc.). An example of an updated definition and exceptions can be found at
Attachment S.

b. Title 32 M.R.S. § 3282-A(1) identifies the Board’s authority to investigate and take
action with regard to complaints. The Board’s statute should be amended to allow the
Board to establish separate standing committees for complaint investigation and
adjudicatory hearings. Such an amendment would address the following issues
identified above in “Emerging Issues”:

The physician and physician assistant members of the Board are in active clinical
practice with full-time positions providing medical care. The Board meets at least
once per month, and then on additional dates when necessary to conduct an
adjudicatory hearing. Scheduling additional hearing dates for members in active
clinical practice and with patients who depend upon them presents a significant
challenge. At times, it results in a choice to cancel or reschedule patient care
(including surgeries) or not attend the adjudicatory hearing. Adjudicatory hearings
with complex medical issues, multiple expert witnesses, and thousands of pages of
exhibits may take several days to complete. Given the Board members’ patient
schedules, this may result in a hearing that is scheduled over several months,
especially as the law requires 6 members (a majority) in order to hold an
adjudicatory hearing.

The Board both investigates and adjudicates complaints filed against physicians
and physician assistants. While permitted under existing law, this dual role has
constantly led to licensees and their attorneys raising allegations of bias and
prejudgment in any subsequent adjudicatory hearing.

The Board is represented by an assistant attorney general who both provides it
with legal advice and counsel and prosecutes cases in front of the Board during
adjudicatory hearings. While permitted under existing law and the unique power of
the Office of Attorney General, this dual role has constantly led to licensees and
their attorneys raising allegations of bias by the Board in favor of its assigned
assistant attorney general. It is not unusual for the assigned assistant attorney
general to provide legal advice and counsel to the Board and then prosecute a case
in front of the Board in the same meeting.

29



In addition, the Board’s statute should include the authority to refer a complaint to the
District Court, authority that exists in other affiliated board statutes (e.g. Board of
Dental Practice, Board of Nursing). An example of an update to this section of the
Board’s statute can be found at Attachment T.
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ATTACHMENT A

Board of Licensure in Medicine: Current Board Members

Louisa Barnhart, M.D., Chair Psychiatry/Family Practice 06/30/21
Peter J. Sacchetti, M.D., Secretary Internal Medicine 06/30/19
Susan Dench Public Member 06/30/22
Tim Fox, MD Emergency Medicine 06/30/20
Maroulla S. Gleaton, M.D. Ophthalmology 06/30/19
Christopher R. Ross, P.A.-C Physician Assistant/ Family Practice 06/30/19
Emory E. Liscord, M.D. Emergency Medicine 06/30/21
Brad E. Waddell, M.D. General Surgery 06/30/23
Lynne M. Weinstein Public Member 06/30/22
Miriam Wetzel, Ph.D Public Member 06/30/21
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ATTACHMENT B

License FAQ

What types of professions does the Board license?

The Board licenses allopathic medical doctors (MDs) and physician assistants (PAS).

How can one check to see if an individual is licensed with the Board?

The Board’s website (http://www.maine.gov/md/) includes a link entitled “Find a Licensee
in our Database”. Click on the link and then enter the individual’s name or license number
and click on “search.” Key point:

« If a physician or physician assistant is not licensed with the Board of Licensure in
Medicine, he/she may be licensed with the Maine Board of Osteopathic Licensure,
which maintains a similar database of licensees: http://www.maine.gov/osteo/.

What are the basic qualifications for a license?

Physicians who are applying for a permanent medical license must, in general, meet the
following:

e Graduate from an approved medical school
e Successfully complete all components of the national licensing examinations within
the proscribed timeframe
« Meet ONE of the following:
o Successfully complete 36 months of ACGME-approved graduate medical
education; or
o Possess current certification with the American Board of Medical Specialties
e Successfully pass the Board jurisprudence examination
« Pay all applicable fees
« Have no grounds to deny licensure pursuant to 32 M.R.S. § 3282-
A(2) http://legislature.maine.gov/statutes/32/title32sec3282-A.html.

Physician Assistants who are applying for a permanent medical license must, in general,
meet the following:

Graduate from a physician assistant program approved by the Board
Successfully pass the national certifying examination administered by the NCCPA
Successfully pass the Board jurisprudence examination

Pay all applicable fees

Have no grounds to deny licensure pursuant to 32 M.R.S. § 3282-

A(2) http://legislature.maine.gov/statutes/32/title32sec3282-A.html.
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Can International Medical School Graduates apply for a Maine medical license?

Yes. The Board licenses international medical school graduates (IMGs). To qualify for a
Maine medical license, an IMG must:

« Graduate from a medical school listed by the World Health Organization
o Obtain a permanent certificate from the Educational Commission on Foreign
Medical Graduates (EFFMG). For more information regarding the ECFMG
visit: https://www.ecfmg.org/.
o Successfully complete all components of the national licensing examinations within
the proscribed timeframe
« Meet ONE of the following:
o Successfully complete 36 months of ACGME-approved graduate medical
education; or
o Possess current certification with the American Board of Medical Specialties;
or
o Be granted a waiver by the Board of the 36 month of ACGME-approved
graduate medical education for “exceptional circumstances” pursuant to Title
32M.RS. 8§
3271(6). http://leqislature.maine.gov/statutes/32/title32sec3271.html
e Successfully pass the Board jurisprudence examination
« Pay all applicable fees
e Have no grounds to deny licensure pursuant to 32 M.R.S. § 3282-
A(2) http://legislature.maine.qgov/statutes/32/title32sec3282-A.html

Can the Board grant a waiver of the time and attempt requirements of the national
licensing examination?

Yes. An applicant may apply to the Board for a waiver of the time and attempt limits for the
USMLE. The Board may grant a waiver based upon unusual or extenuating circumstances
as determined by the Board in its sole discretion.

Is alicense application confidential?

No. With limited exceptions, applications and the information contained therein is a public
record for the purposes of the Maine Freedom of Access Law (1 M.R.S. § 401 et seq.).
Public records are required by law to be provided upon request. Examples of information
that is exempt from this requirement include confidential medical information and social
security numbers. For more information regarding the Maine Freedom of Access Law visit
the following website: https://www.maine.gov/foaa/.

What are the licensing fees?

A list of the various licensing fees can be found at: MD Licensure.

Are license fees refundable in the event an applicant does not qualify for licensure?
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No. First, filing an application requires work and research by Board staff. Second, the
Board operates solely from the fees obtained during the licensing and re-licensing
process. Licensing fees are essential to the continued operation of the Board. That is why
it is important to review and understand the qualifications for licensure BEFORE applying.

How does the Board verify medical education, graduate medical education, and
passage of national medical examinations?

The Board utilizes the Federation Credential Verification Service (FCVS) of the Federation
of State Medical Boards (FSMB). The FCVS verifies identity, medical education, graduate
medical education, and examination history. In addition, the FCVS obtains verification of
medical school and examination history for International Medical School Graduates (IMGSs)
from the ECFMG. For more information regarding the FCVS

visit: https://www.fsmb.org/fcvs/.

Is the Board a member of the Interstate Medical Licensure Compact (IMLC)?

Yes. More information regarding the IMLC may be obtained at: https://imlcc.org/. Physician
applicants to Maine may obtain an expedited medical license pursuant to the IMLC if they
meet the following criteria:

o Graduate from an accredited medical school, or a school listed in the International
Medical Education Directory.

e Successful completion of ACGME or AOA accredited graduate medical education.

e Passed each component of the USMLE, COMLEX-USA, or equivalent in no more
than three attempts.

« Hold a current specialty certification or time-unlimited certification by an ABMS or
AOABOS board.

« Must not have any history of disciplinary actions against a medical license.

e Must not have any criminal history.

« Must not have any history of controlled substance actions against a medical
license.

e Must not currently be under investigation.

« Physicians licensed in Maine who are interested in obtaining a license in another
state through the IMLC must submit fingerprints or other biometric-based
information for the purpose of obtaining criminal history record information from the
Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) and the agency responsible for retaining
Maine’s criminal records. Physicians may register for fingerprinting online
at https://me.ibtfingerprint.com/. Physicians who do not register, will not be able to
have their fingerprints taken. There is a one-time fee for this process. A letter of
Quialification will not be issued by the Board until the results of the criminal
background check have been received.

Are there different types of physician medical licenses?

Yes. A list of the different types of licenses is available on the Board’s website and
identified in the Chapter 1 Rule Regarding Physicians. Certain types of licenses do not
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allow a physician to practice clinical medicine. For more information please see the
Chapter 1 Rule Regarding Physicians at: MD rules & statutes.

Are there different types of physician assistant licenses?

Yes. Physician Assistants may have either a clinical or a non-clinical license. Physician
Assistants who have a non-clinical license are not able to render any medical services
because they do not have a plan of supervision registered with the Board. For more
information please see the Joint Rule Regarding Physician Assistants at: MD rules &
statutes.

How does one start the license application process?

First, apply to establish a physician or physician assistant profile with the
FCVS: https://www.fsmb.org/fcvs/. Applicants for the following licenses are exempt from
this requirement:

o Temporary Residency Certificates
e Youth Camp Licenses
o Telemedicine Consultative Registration

Second, complete the Uniform Application (UA) through the
FCVS: https://www.fsmb.org/uniform-application/.

Third, successfully complete the Board’s jurisprudence examination.

Fourth, complete the State of Maine Addendum (“Addendum”) to the UA. Applicants will
receive an email giving them access to the Addendum, which must completed and
submitted to the Board with the application fees. Please note that license applications will
not be processed until the Board receives the application fees. Applicants may use a credit
card to pay the fees online or mail a check to the Board.

Fifth, submit an affidavit with an appropriately notarized photograph.

What is the jurisprudence examination?

The jurisprudence examination consists of Maine-specific laws and regulations regarding
the practice of medicine. It must be successfully completed upon initial licensure and every
four (4) years thereafter. The examination covers topics such as:

« Mandated Reporting of Suspected Child Abuse:
https://www.maine.gov/dhhs/ocfs/mandated-reporters.shtml.

e The Maine Prescription Monitoring Program:
http://www.maine.gov/dhhs/samhs/osa/data/pmp/prescriber.htm.
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e Requirements regarding Opioid Prescribing:
https://www.maine.gov/dhhs/samhs/osa/data/pmp/rules.htm.
MD rules & statutes

How does one prepare for and take the jurisprudence examination?

An online study guide (PDF) is available to applicants.

Applicants complete the jurisprudence examination online: https://www1.maine.gov/cgi-
bin/online/licensing/menu_display.pl.

What is the passing score for the jurisprudence examination?

75.

What happens if an applicant fails the jurisprudence examination?

If an applicant fails to attain a score of seventy-five (75) on the jurisprudence examination,
the applicant will be required to re-take the examination on paper and score 100% or
he/she may be required to appear for an interview before a committee of the Board.

How long does it take to obtain a license?

It depends on the type of license applied for, whether the applicant has an existing profile
with the FCVS, and whether the application includes any negative information. In general,
applications are processed within the following timeframes:

e Permanent, Temporary, Administrative — 45-90 days
« Emergency, Emeritus and Compact — 48 hours
o Educational, Camp, Volunteer — 1-2 weeks

How can one check on the status of an application?

Applicants may check the Board’s website for updates regarding their applications using
the “Check the Status of My Application” feature: http://www.maine.gov/md/. Using this
feature, applicants type in their names and click on “search.” Key points:

« If the applicant’'s name does not appear, then the Board has not received the
application.

« If the applicant’s name does appear along with the word “Pending”, then the Board
has received the application but a license has not yet been issued.

e A “checklist” identifies what information has and has not been received by the
Board. Applicants should review the checklist prior to contacting Board staff
regarding the status of their applications.

What happens to applications containing negative information?
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Applications with negative information, once complete, are reviewed by the Board during
one of its monthly meetings. Following review, the Board may: issue the license, request
additional information, or preliminarily deny the license.

Once alicense is issued, how is it delivered?

Licenses are emailed to the email address provided by the applicant/licensee. The
applicant/licensee can then download and print a copy of the license. Key points:

e The email with the license will come from the following
address: noreply@maine.gov.

e Applicants should check their “spam” and “junk” email folders if the “checklist”
indicates that a license was issued but they have not received the email.

e Applicants should ensure that the Board staff has their most up-to-date email
address.

When does a license expire?

In general, licenses are issued for a two-year period. However, the length of the initial
license depends upon when the application is received and the applicant’s date of birth.
Key points:

e The licenses of individuals born in even-numbered years expires on the last day of
the month of their birth in an even-numbered year.

e The licenses of individuals born in odd-numbered years expires on the last day of
the month of their birth in an odd-numbered year.

« Individuals who are issued an initial license that expires less than six (6) months
following its issuance pay only a pro-rated renewal fee of $150 (as opposed to
$500).

e Upon renewal, the license will expire in two (2) years on last day of the month of the
individual’s month of birth.

What is the process for renewing a license?

As professionals, licensees are responsible for knowing when their licenses expire. The
expiration date is tied directly to their date and year of birth, and appears on the license
itself. 60 days prior to the expiration of the license, the Board will email a notice of
upcoming expiration and need to renew to the email address provided by the
applicant/licensee. No further notices will be provided. Key points:

e Licensees should ensure their email address on file with the Board is current and
updated. Licensees can update their contact information — including email address
— online by going to the Board’s website (http://www.maine.gov/md/) and clinking on
the link “Update My Contact Information.”

e Licenses are renewed online by going to the Board’s website and clicking on the
link “Renew My License.”
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« Some licensees will need to complete the jurisprudence examination as part of the
renewal process, and will be prompted to do so. Unless prompted, applicants are
not required to complete the jurisprudence examination.

o Some licensees will be prompted to provide evidence of the completion of 40 hours
of Category 1 CME. The Board randomly audits each month 10% of the renewal
applicants for CME. Unless prompted, applicants are not required to provide
evidence of CME.

What happens if a renewal application is not received by the Board prior to the
expiration date on a license?

The license expires and the individual may not practice medicine or render medical
services in Maine.

If alicense expires, can it be re-activated?

Yes. An individual may file an online application to renew his/her medical license for up to
90 days following the expiration of the license, including a $100 late fee.

What happens if a license is not renewed 90 days after it expires?

The license lapses. Individuals whose licenses have lapsed must file a reinstatement
application with the Board. If a license has been lapsed for more than five (5) years, the
individual must file a new application for licensure.

What are the continuing medical educational (CME) requirements?

Information regarding the Board’s CME requirements (PDF), key points:

e Applicants for initial licensure do not need to submit proof of CME.
e Licensees are required to complete CME:

o Physicians are required to complete 40 hours of Category 1 CME, including
3 hours of CME regarding opioid prescribing, during each renewal cycle.

o Physician Assistants are 100 hours of CME, including 40 hours of
Category 1 CME and 3 hours of CME regarding opioid prescribing, during
each renewal cycle.

« CME requirements for renewal may be prorated depending upon the expiration date
of the initial license (i.e. if the initial license was issued for less than the full 2
years).

Is proof of CME completion required to be submitted with a renewal application?

Only if the applicant is prompted to provide it pursuant to a random audit.

Where can one find information regarding opioid CME?

The Board’s website includes links to resources regarding prescribing, including free
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opioid CME: prescribing resources.

Does Maine have its own DEA?

No. Licensees who will be prescribing controlled drugs should contact the U.S. Drug
Enforcement Administration, JFK Federal Building, Room E-400, 15 New Sudbury Street,
Boston, MA 02203-0131, Phone (617) 557-2200 or toll-free at 888-272-5174, or on the
web at https://www.dea.gov/ to notify the DEA about their Maine license and to obtain a
federal DEA registration.

Does Maine have resources for applicants and licensees who may have mental
health or substance misuse issue?

Yes. The Board, together with other professional licensing boards, helps to fund the
Medical Professionals Health Program (MPHP). Information regarding the MPHP can be
found at: https://www.mainemphp.org/.

What if one has other questions about the Board’s licensing process that aren't
answered here?

The Board's Licensure Specialists may be contacted during business hours (8:00 am to
4:00 pm EST).

e Last Name A-L Tracy Morrison: tracy.a.morrison@maine.gov. 207-287-3602
e Last Name M-Z Elena Crowley: Elena.l.Crowley@maine.gov. 207-287-3782
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ATTACHMENT C

Physician Licensing Flowchart

U.S. Medical School Graduate
USMLE Step 1, Step 2

Foreign Medical School
Graduate with Permanent
ECFMG Certificate
USMLE Step 1, Step 2

\/

Complete U.S. Residency Program

USMLE Step 3

Complete FSMB Online Uniform
Application and Maine State

Addendum

Complete Maine Jurisprudence
Online Exam

No Issues on Application — Approved
in 1-30 days
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ATTACHMENT D

Physician Assistant Licensing Flowchart

Graduate from Board Approved
Physician Assistant Program

|

Successfully Pass PA National
Certification Examination

|

Complete FSMB Online Uniform
Application and Maine State
Addendum

Complete Maine Jurisprudence Exam

|

No Issues on Application — Approved in
1-30 Days
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ATTACHMENT E

Complaint Process Flowchart

Complaint

Res ponse

Re

Investi

gation

Initial Complaint Presentation

Dismissal

Dismissal with
Letter of Guidance or
Concem

Consent Agreement

Informal Conference

Adjudicatory Hearing

Further [nvestigate
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ATTACHMENT F

Board vs. Malpractice:

Differences between disciplinary and mal-
practice actions are significant.

+ Boards may discipline a licensee for
incompetence, but cannot provide
money to the complainant to pay for
any harm that was done.

« Inamalpractice action in a court, a
judge or a jury may award money
damages to the complainant if the
physician is found to be negligent.

Locate Physicians, Administra-
tive, Licensing, & Disciplinary
Information:

e Online at:
MD
&:mu}aéi.a.oo_uomna.ou.m\Bm\BmlroEw.rg
-, DO
http:/fwww.maine.gov/osteo/

« By Contacting the Consumer Assistant
Toll Free in Maine at (888) 365-5964

Contact Us:

Board of Licensure in Medicine
137 State House Station, Augusta ME 04333
Phone (207) 287-3601 Fax (207) 287-6590
TTY/TB: 1-800-437-1220
http://www.docboard. org/me/me_home.htm

Board of Osteopathic Licensure

142 State House Station, Augusta vﬁm 04333

Phone (207) 287-2480 Fax (207) 287-3015
TTY/TB: 1-800-437-1220

http://www.maine.gov/osteo/

Consumer Assistant
Phane (207) 287-3608 or
Toll Free in Maine (888) 365-9964
TTY/TB: 1-800-437-1220

Other Professional Licensing Boards
Dept. of Professional & Financial Regulation
Licensing & Enforcement Division

Phone (207) 624-8603 Fax (207) 624-8637

Consumer’s
Guide

to the Licensing, Regulating &
Disciplining of Physicians in Maine

Maine Boards of Medical
&

Osteopathic Licensure

“For the protection of the health,
safety and welfare of the public”
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Board History:

For over 100 years, it has been Maine law that
a physician must be licensed to practice medi-
cine in our State. Through licensure, the State
ensures that all practicing physicians have an
appropriate level of education and training
and that they abide by recognized standards
of professional conduct.

Board Functions:

Protect the public by:

« Licensing Physicians & Physician
Assistants

« Investigating Complaints, Providing
Guidanee, or Imposing Discipline

+ Providing information to the Public

Licensure Qualifications:

« Education and Training requirements
« Comprehensive written examination

» Good professional ethies and practices

« Renewal of license every two years in-
cluding participation in Continuing Medi-
cal Education (CME) .

« Verification of all information provided
to ensure credentials

How to File a Complaint:

Anyone may file a complaint. It must be
in writing or by e-mail. FEither a letter or a
complaint form may be used. Forms are
available online or by calling.

The Consumer Assistant, (888) 365-9964,
is available to answer questions and guide
you through the process

Complaint Process:

Upon receipt, the Board sends a copy
of the complaint to the licensee. The li-
censee has 30 days to respond in writing.
A copy of this response is provided to the
complainant, unless doing so would jeop-
ardize their health.

The complaint, response, and investiga-
tive materials are reviewed approximately
3 months after receipt of the complaint.

Based on its review the Board deter-
mines if grounds for disciplinary action
exist.

« If no, the complaint is closed. See
Possible Results of a Complaint

« If yes, the complaint remains open
pending further Board action. See
Possible Results of a Complaint

The complainant is notified of the out-
come in writing.

Some Grounds for Discipline:
o Alcohol/Substance Abuse

» Conviction of a Crime

« Fraud & deceit in obtaining a license

» Inappropriate Prescribing

+ Incompetence or Unprofessional Conduct
« Violation of Law, Rule, or Board Order

Possible Results of 2 Complaint:

s Closure with no action

+ Closure with a Letter of Guidance (non-

disciplinary)

+ Disciplinary Action which may include:
warning; censure; reprimand;
fine; education; specific conditions of
probation; Consent Agreement;

suspension; or loss of license.

The Boards Cannot Help With:

s Other Health Care Professionals (e.g. RN,
LCSW, DDS, DMD, PT)

« Hospitals, Clinics, or Nursing Homes
« Medical Malpractice

« Billing or Fee Disputes
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ATTACHMENT G

Public Release of Information:

With limited exceptions:

The complaint process is confidential and should
not be made part of the patient’s medical record.

If the complaint is dismissed, information that
there was a complaint and its dismissal is only
publicly available from the Board upon request.

If a Letter of Guidance is issued it remains in the
licensee’s file for up to 10 years and is available
to the public upon request.

If a disciplinary action was taken a press release
is issued and the disciplinary document is posted
on the Board's website.

Deo’s and Don’ts:

» DO respond within 30 days

» DO provide a complete, factual, straightfor-
ward response.

e DO provide any records or other information
requested with your response.

» DO atterpt to answer all the concerns voiced
in the complaint.

« DO speak with an attorney if you have legal
questions.

e DO check the Board website if you have
questions about Rules or Statutes.

« DONOT speak with Board members.

« DO NOT ignore a complaint.

« DO NOT wait until the last minute and re-
quest an extension.

e DO NOT withhold facts or records.

If you have questions or suggestions, please
contact Timothy Terranova (207) 287-6930
or Maureen Lathrop at (207) 287-3603. They
would be happy to speak with you.

Complaint Review:

In order to maintain confidentiality, the Board
conducts its review of a complaint in executive
session. However, the law, with some excep-
tions, allows most complainants, licensees who
are the subject of a complaint, and/or their attor-
neys to be present and observe the Board’s re-
view of a complaint.

The Board meets on the second Tuesday of every
month. The agenda for each Board meeting will
be posted on the Board’s website at least 6 days
prior to the meeting. The complaints for review
appear on each agenda under their respective
complaint (CR) numbers. To learn which
complaints will be discussed, go to:
www.maine.gov/md. If you do not have internet
access, you may contact the Board at (207)
287-3601

If you would like to attend, prior notification to
the Board staff is strongly suggested. Please be
sure to appear at the Board’s office and sign in
no later than 9:00 a.m. on the day of the meet-
ing. If you're late, the Board may have already
reviewed the complaint.

Please remember that the law allows you to be
present and listen to the Board’s discussion, but
does not permit you to participate. Anyone at-
tempting to intervene or otherwise disrupt the
Board’s review and/or discussion will be asked
to leave.

Board of Licensure in Medicine

137 State House Station, Augusta ME 04333
Phone (207) 287-3601 Fax (207) 287-6590
TTY users call Maine relay 711
http://www.maine.gov/md

Licensee’s Guide
to the
Complaint Process

Maine Board of
Licensure in Medicine

“For the protection of the health,
safety and welfare of the public”
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Board Duties:

Maine law states that physicians and physician
assistants must be licensed to practice medicine
in our State. Through licensure, the State en-
sures that all practitioners have an appropriate
level of education and training and that they
abide by recognized standards of professional
conduct.

As part of the Board’s duties it evaluates licen-
see performance and must, by law, investigate
all complaints and reports. Complaints and re-
ports are received from:

« Patients / Family Members / Concerned
Citizens

+ Licensees and Other Professionals

s Hospitals

¢ Federation of State Medical Boards

» National Practitioner Data Bank

» TFederal or State Agencies

» Malpractice Carriers

Certain reports from licensees and hospitals are
mandated under 24 M.R.8.A. 2505 - 2506.
‘When the Board receives such a report it starts
an investigation and determines if a complaint
should be issued. Normally the licensee is not
formally notified unless the Board issues a com-
plaint. If no complaint is issued then the inves-
tigation is closed.

Complaint Process:

Upon receipt of a complaint, the Board sends a
copy of the complaint to the licensee. (Per stat-
ute the Board has 60 days to notice the licen-
see.) The licensee has 30 days to respond in
writing. A copy of this response is provided to

Complaint Process (cont):

the complainant. If you believe doing so would
seriously jeopardize the patient’s health, please
contact Board staff for instructions.

The complaint, response, and investigative mate-
rials are generally reviewed by the Board about 4
weeks after receipt of your response.

Based on its review the Board determines if pos-
sible muos.am for disciplinary action exist.

o Ifno, the complaint is dismissed or
dismissed with a Letter of Guidance (LOG).
LOG's allow the Board to express concern or
guidance intended to improve professional
performance and possibly prevent further
complaints before the Board. LOG's are not
disciplinary.

+ If yes, the complaint remains open pending
further Board action, such as:

Further investigation:

Normally takes 3 to 9 months. The Board com-
pletes the investigation as quickly as possible.

Informal Conference:

When the Board has questions after reviewing
the complaint it may request an Informal
Conference with the licensee. This is a chance
for the Board to have a discussion with both the
complainant and the licensee.

Licensee's are welcome to have an attorney pre-
sent, but the Conference is informal and the
Board expects to engage with the licensee, not
the attorney.

Complaint Process (cont):
Adjudicatory Hearing::

If the Board determines there may be
grounds for discipline it may order an Adju-
dicatory Hearing. If an Adjudicatory Hear-
ing is ordered, the Board strongly recom-
mends that the licensee:

. Consult with an attorney.

» The Licensee and complainant are noti-
fied of the Board's action in writing.

Some Grounds for Discipline:

+ Fraud or Deceit in Obtaining a License

« Habitual Substance Abuse

¢ Sexual Misconduct

» Incompetence or Unprofessional Conduct
» Conviction of a Crime

¢ Violation of Law, Rule, or Board Order

« Inappropriate Tnmnmzmm

» Disciplinary Action by Another State

» Failure to Report an Impaired Physician

Disciplinary Actions include:

warning; reprimand; censure; fine(s); cost of
hearing; education; probation with conditions;

suspension; revocation or modification of license.

Confidentiality:

With limited exceptions, Maine law makes com-
plaints and investigative records confidential (not
accessible to the general public) during the pen-
dency of an investigation. In addition, the law
makes patient/client treatment records confiden-
tial.
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ATTACHMENT H

Discipline Frequently Asked Questions

Why should | file a complaint against a licensee?

The Board is composed of six physicians, one physician assistant, and three public
representatives, all of whom are appointed by the governor. They are committed to
protecting the health, welfare, and safety of the public by licensing only competent and
gualified physicians and physician assistants, and investigating concerns raised by both
the public and other credentialing/licensing agencies about licensee conduct. The Board
has taken many actions regarding its licensees, including both non-disciplinary and
disciplinary actions. For a list of disciplinary actions see the Board’s adverse actions page
(Click here to view Adverse Actions). Investigating complaints and taking corrective
measures is one way that the Board protects the public.

What types of individuals/entities does the Board have authority to investigate?

The Board licenses medical doctors (MD) and physician assistants (PA), and may only
investigate matters related to specific individual MDs or PAs who are or were licensed by
the Board. It is not permitted by law to investigate clinics, home healthcare entities, health
centers or hospitals, osteopathic physicians, podiatrists, chiropractors, naturopathic
doctors, dentists, nurses, or physical therapists. If you wish to file a complaint against a
hospital/clinic/home healthcare entity/health center or other licensed healthcare
professional, please follow the links below:

Hospitals/clinics/home health care

entities: https://www.maine.gov/dhhs/dlc/complaint/index.shtml

Nursing Home Administrators Licensing

Board: https://www.maine.gov/pfr/professionallicensing/professions/nursing _home/license
types.html

Board of Osteopathic Licensure: https://www.maine.gov/osteo/

Board of Licensure of Podiatric

Medicine: https://www.maine.gov/pfr/professionallicensing/professions/podiatrists/index.ht

ml

Board of Chiropractic

Licensure: https://www.maine.gov/pfr/professionallicensing/professions/chiropractors/index

.html

Board of Complimentary Healthcare

Providers: https://www.maine.qgov/pfr/professionallicensing/professions/complementary/nat

uropathic_doctor.html

Board of Dental Practice: https://www.maine.gov/dental/

Board of Nursing: https://www.maine.gov/boardofnursing/

Can | file a complaint against a physician or physician assistant who works at a
Veterans Administration (VA) Hospital?
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If the physician or physician assistant is licensed by the Board, then you may file a
complaint with the Board. Physicians and physician assistants who work at a VA hospital
are required to hold a valid license in at least one state, so are not necessarily licensed
with the Board. You may verify whether a physician or physician assistant is licensed by
the Board by going to the following

link: https://www.pfr.maine.gov/ALMSOnline/ALMSQuery/Searchindividual.aspx?Board=3
76

If you have a concern about the care that you received from a physician or physician
assistant who works at a VA and is not licensed by the Board, you may contact the VA
at: https://www.va.gov/health/patientadvocate/. In addition, you may file a complaint
against the physician or physician assistant in the state in which he/she holds a license.
Click here to go to http://www.docinfo.org/ to determine in which state(s) the physician or
physician assistant is licensed. This is a search engine hosted by the Federation of State
Medical Boards (FSMB) using information provided by all states.

What kind of things can | complain about?

The Board may only discipline licensees for violating its statutes or rules. Grounds for
discipline include:

Impairment of ability to practice due to substance misuse or due to a physical or mental
illness

Fraud, deceit or misrepresentation in the practice of medicine

Unprofessional conduct

Incompetence

Conviction of certain crimes

Inappropriate prescribing

Sexual misconduct

Violation of any Board rule

Examples of things that are not grounds for discipline include:

Billing disputes

Insurance issues

Disputes about disability compensation or insurance reimbursement
Requests for monetary compensation

Requests for assistance with medical malpractice lawsuits

May | file a complaint on behalf of a patient?

Yes. Anyone may file a complaint. However, you will not receive a copy of the licensee’s
response or the patient’s medical records unless you are the patient’s “personal
representative” and authorized to access the patient’s medical information. Maine law
defines “personal representative” to include:

A patient’s legal guardian as appointed by a court
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A patient’s agent under a power of attorney for health care

A patient’s agent under a durable power of attorney that includes the authority to make
healthcare decisions

A deceased patient’s personal representative as appointed by the Probate Court

A minor patient’s parent, legal guardian, or guardian ad litem

The Board is unable to assist you in becoming a personal representative. You can consult
an attorney about obtaining a power of attorney form or becoming a personal
representative or guardian. More information regarding legal guardianship through the
court system may be found at:

State of Maine Judicial

Branch: http://www.courts.maine.gov/citizen help/probate matters.html

Maine Probate Court: https://www.maineprobate.net/welcome/

Maine Department of Health and Human Services: https://www.maine.gov/dhhs/oads/aps-
guardianship/quardianship.html

The Board does not have power of attorney forms. However, power of attorney for health
care forms may be obtained from the following:

The Maine Hospital Association: http://www.themha.org/policy-advocacy/Issues/End-of-
Life-Care/advdirectivesform.aspx

The Maine Medical Association: https://www.maine.gov/dhhs/oads/aps-
guardianship/documents/advdirectivesform.pdf

Maine Department of Health and Human Services: https://www.maine.gov/dhhs/oads/aps-
guardianship/documents/advdirectivesform.pdf

Can | file an anonymous complaint?

The Board strongly discourages anonymous complaints. Anonymous complaints are
difficult to investigate, and requests for your identity to remain confidential will not
necessarily be honored. However, there are instances where the Board may initiate its
own complaint if sufficient evidence of misconduct is provided in an anonymous complaint
and it is corroborated by other independently obtained evidence.

What information do | need to include in my complaint?

Complaints must be written or submitted online. Either way, there is basic information that
is required with your complaint:

Name of the physician or physician assistant
Name and contact information of the individual filing the complaint
The patient’'s name, date or birth, mailing address and telephone number
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A description of the actions or inactions prompting the complaint, including the location
where it occurred
The approximate dates for the actions/inactions prompting the complaint

How do | file a complaint against a Medical Doctor (MD) or Physician Assistant

(PA)?

Click here to open our email complaint form. You may use this electronic form (PDF) to file
a complaint against a provider.

What happens after my complaint is filed? What is the Board’s complaint process?

Upon receipt of a complaint, the Board assigns a number to track it.

The Board sends a copy of the complaint to the licensee.

The licensee must respond in writing to the complaint within thirty days, unless the
licensee requests and is granted an extension for good cause.

Upon receipt of the response, the Board sends a copy of the licensee’s response to the
complainant unless:

It determines that providing the response would be detrimental to the health of the
complainant; or

It determines that the complainant is not a “personal representative” of the patient and not
entitled to access the patient’s medical information.

The complainant, if entitled to receive the licensee’s response, may submit a reply to the
Board within ten days.

During the course of the investigation, the Board obtains the medical and other records
relevant to the investigation, and may conduct interviews.

Once the investigation is complete, the complaint is reviewed by the Board at one of its
regularly scheduled monthly meetings. Following review, the Board may take any of the
actions described below, request additional investigation, or schedule the matter for an
Informal Conference.

What is an Informal Conference?

An Informal Conference is a means by which the Board gathers additional information and
clarification about a complaint. It is a meeting with the licensee and the complainant (if
he/she chooses to attend), during which the Board members question the licensee and
complainant regarding issues related to the complaint. During an Informal Conference, the
licensee may be represented by legal counsel, and the complainant may be accompanied
by two individuals, including legal counsel. The law requires Informal Conferences to be
closed to the general public, and statements made during an Informal Conference are
confidential.

What happens after an Informal Conference?

The Board takes further action regarding the complaint (please see below).
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How long does the complaint process take?

There is no set time limit. The length of the review process varies with the complexity of
the complaint and the specific investigative requirements of the complaint. Some
complaints are processed quickly, while others may take months. However, the Board
strives to conduct an initial review of the complaint within 90 days of receiving it.

What are the possible outcomes of my complaint?

Dismissal as no violation of Board statutes or rules
Dismissal with a Letter of Guidance or Concern (non-disciplinary)
Disciplinary Action

May | be present when the Board reviews my complaint?

Yes. The monthly meetings of the Board are open to the public. A certain portion of the
meetings are dedicated to reviewing complaints. However, here are a number of important
things to know:

Complaints are confidential during the investigative process, and licensee names are not
used during the Board review

The medical information reviewed by the Board is confidential, and patient names are not
used during the Board review

The Board uses the complaint number when referring to a specific complaint

The complainant and licensee may be present and listen to the Board's discussion during
review, but the law does not permit them to participate in any way

Each of the Board members is provided with a copy of the complaint materials prior to the
date it is scheduled for review

Discussion of a particular complaint may be brief, depending on its nature and complexity

Will | be informed about the outcome of the complaint?

Yes. The Board will inform you in writing about the outcome of the complaint, even if you
were not entitled to receive the licensee’s response or access the patient’s medical
information.

If the Board dismisses the complaint, can | appeal that decision to a court?

You must consult with a private attorney regarding this issue as the Board is unable to
provide legal advice.

If the Board dismisses the complaint, can | request that the Board reconsider its
decision?

Yes. However, the Board will not reconsider its decision (or the complaint) unless new and
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relevant information regarding the complaint is provided to the Board with the request for
reconsideration. The Board’s investigation and complaint process is designed to ensure
that the Board has all relevant information regarding the complaint at the time it is
reviewed. Therefore, reconsideration of a decision to dismiss (or the complaint) is
extremely rare.

If the Board dismisses my complaint, can | provide consumer feedback?

Yes. You can submit your feedback to the Board’'s Consumer Assistant Specialist,
Savannah Okoronkwo at savannah.okoronkwo@maine.gov, and it will be provided to the
Board at the following month’s Board meeting. Although the Board appreciates, and
reviews, all feedback it does not respond.

What is the Board’s disciplinary process?

If the Board determines that the complaint may involve violations of Board statutes or rules
which should result in discipline, it may take any of the following actions:

Schedule the complaint for an adjudicatory hearing before the Board
Offer a consent agreement to the licensee
Refer the complaint to the District Court

What is a consent agreement?

A consent agreement is a written agreement entered into between the Board, the licensee,
and the Office of Attorney General that imposes discipline or adverse licensing action
upon a licensee or applicant for licensure.

What is an adjudicatory hearing?

An adjudicatory hearing is similar to a trial that is conducted by the Board, which is
generally open to the public (some portions may be closed to protect health care
information). A hearing officer presides over the hearing and assists the Board. The
licensee may be represented by an attorney or present his/her own case. The State is
represented by an assistant attorney general who prosecutes the complaint. The hearing
is similar to a civil trial: evidence, witnesses, and arguments are presented by both sides.
At the conclusion of the hearing the Board determines if there is sufficient evidence that
the licensee violated Board statutes or rules, and any discipline. If the Board finds the
licensee did not commit any violations, the case will be dismissed or dismissed with a
Letter of Guidance. If the Board finds the licensee committed one or more of the violations,
it will determine what sanctions to impose.

What types of disciplinary action can the Board take?

The law provides the Board with the authority to impose a range of sanctions, which
depends upon the facts and circumstances of each case and includes:
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Warning

Censure

Reprimand

Civil monetary penalty
Additional medical education
Probation with conditions
License restriction(s)
Suspension

Loss or Denial of License

Can the Board provide me with monetary assistance?

No. The Board may discipline a licensee for violating its statutes or rules, but it cannot
provide money nor order a licensee to pay money to a complainant to pay for any harm
that was done.

Where can | find information on Doctors who have been disciplined?

Click here to go to our Adverse Actions page. An adverse licensing action may be either
modifications or conditions attached to a license at the time it is issued or the discipline of
an already existing license.

How can | check the licensing status of a Doctor licensed in Maine?

Click here to go to
the https://www.pfr.maine.gov/ALMSOnline/ALMSQuery/Searchindividual.aspx?Board=37
6. This is where you can search for a Physician or Physician Assistant by license or name.

How can | check the status of a Doctor licensed elsewhere in the US?

Click here to go to the AIM Nationwide Physician Search page. This has a search engine
for all participating State Medical Boards and links to non-participating State Medical
Boards.

Click here to go to http://www.docinfo.org/. This is a search engine hosted by the
Federation of State Medical Boards (FSMB) using information provided by all states.

What if | have other questions about the Board of Licensure in Medicine's
disciplinary processes that aren't answered here.

You can contact the Board's Consumer Assistant, Savannah Okoronkwo at (207)287-3608
or toll-free in Maine at 888-365-9964 during business hours.
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ATTACHMENT I

Freedom of Access Act Request Protocol

Introduction

Effective 09/19/2019 the boards of medicine, osteopathic licensure, and nursing will have to
implement the enacted law “An Act to Protect Licensing Information of Medical Professionals”
(See attached). The law requires that upon receipt of a request for all or part of the record of an
applicant or licensee, the boards shall:

1. Redact information that is not public;

2. Acknowledge receipt of the request and provide a description of the review process,
including an explanation that all or part of the record may be withheld if the board finds
that disclosure of all or part of the redacted record creates a potential risk to the
applicant’s/licensee’s personal safety or the personal safety of any 3" party; and

3. Contemporaneously notify the applicant/licensee at the last address on file with the board
explaining that:

a. A request for their information has been made; and

b. That prior to providing the requested information:

The board will redact non-public information;

. The applicant/licensee may review the redacted information prior to it being

provided to the requester;

The applicant/licensee has 10 business days (excluding weekends and
holidays) from the date the board sends the notice to request the opportunity
to review the redacted record,;

If the applicant/licensee makes a timely request to review the redacted
information, the board shall send a copy of the redacted information to the
applicant/licensee for their review;

The applicant/licensee may petition the board to withhold the release of all or
part of a record based upon the potential risk to the applicant/licensee’s
personal safety or the personal safety of any 3" party if the record is
disclosed. The petition must be filed with the board within 10 business days
(excluding weekends and holidays) after the board sends the
applicant/licensee the redacted record and must include an explanation of the
potential safety risks associated with disclosure of the information and a list
of items requested to be withheld;
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vi. The board shall notify the applicant/licensee of its decision regarding any
petition to withhold information within 60 days of receiving the petition; and

vii. If the applicant/licensee disagrees with the board’s decision, he/she may file
a petition in the Superior Court to enjoin the board from releasing the
information.

FOAA Protocol

1. Upon receipt of a FOAA request from anyone other than the applicant/licensee for the
record of an applicant/licensee, the board shall send the attached FOAA Acknowledgment
Form Letter to the requester and the attached FOAA Informational Form Letter to the
applicant/licensee.

2. If atimely request is received from the applicant/licensee to review the redacted
information, it will be sent to them for review using the FOAA Request Review Form
Letter.

3. If atimely and sufficient (including explanation) petition to withhold information is
received from the applicant/licensee, it will be placed on the board agenda for review and
action. Following review and action, the board will issue a FOAA Decision.

4. If the board does not receive a timely request to review the redacted record or petition to
withhold information, the board will provide the information to the requester. If a petition
has been filed with the board, the board will provide the information to the requester 10
business days after the board has notified the applicant/licensee of its decision so long as the
board has not been notified that a Superior Court action to enjoin the release of the
information has been filed.
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ATTACHMENT J

Board of Licensure in Medicine

Governor

Board of Licensure in Medicine

Dennis E. Smith, Esq.
Executive Director

Timothy Terranova
Assistant Executive Director

Brenda Gowesky, MD
Medical Director

Tulie Best
Complaint Coordinator

Tracy Morrison
Licensing Specialist A-L

Elena Crowley
Licensing Specialist M-Z

Robert Sullivan/Danielle
Douglass
Receptionists — Part Time

Maureen Lathrop
Board Administrative
Assistant

Savannah Okoronkwo
Consumer Assistant

Nikolefte Alexander
Investigative Secretary
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ATTACHMENT K

Board Financial Summary

PROGRAR:
RUNDING SOURCE:

AIOCATHD

BOARD OF MEDICINE {0376)
Dedicated Revenue

IFSCAIL EAR 110 am a2 a3 a4 a5 P 1] a7 ans A9
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PESONALSERVICES  SSIA386  SA7A7  SM533 SRondnt 90080 SMS0007 7006 SIOGEEE GO amAwT
ALLOTHER SN SEESTL SHILME  SLUM s SeAn AW OEREE SIA @7
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“aliooated inchades fands albotted by Finanrial Grder
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ATTACHMENT L

129th MAINE LEGISLATURE

FIRST REGULAR SESSION-2019

Legislative Document No. 1660
S.P. 537 In Senate, April 30, 2019

An Act To Improve Access to Physician Assistant Care

Reference to the Committee on Health Coverage, Insurance and Financial Services suggested and
ordered printed.

T A T

Secretary of the Senate

DAREK M. GRANT

Presented by Senator SANBORN, L. of Cumberland. Cosponsored

by Representative STEWART of Presque Isle and

Senators: CLAXTON of Androscoggin, DOW of Lincoln, GRATWICK of Penobscot, President
JACKSON of Aroostook, Representatives: BROOKS of Lewiston, MASTRACCIO of Sanford,
MEYER of Eliot, PERRY of Calais.

Printed on recycled paper

1 Be it enacted by the People of the State of Maine as follows:

2 Sec. 1. 32 MRSA 82561, as amended by PL 2013, c. 101, 81, is further amended
3 to read:

4 82561. Membership; qualifications; tenure; vacancies

5 The Board of Osteopathic Licensure, as established by Title 5, section 12004-A,
6 subsection 29, and in this chapter called the "board," consists of 20-11 members
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appointed by the Governor. Members must be residents of this State. Six members must
be graduates of a school or college of osteopathic medicine approved by the American
Osteopathic Association and must be, at the time of appointment, actively engaged in the
practice of the profession of osteopathic medicine in the State for a period of at least 5
years. One-member-Two members must be a—physician assistant-assistants licensed
under this chapter who has-have been actively engaged in that-member's-the profession of
physician assistant in this State for at least 5 years preceding appointment to the board.
Three members must be public members. Consumer groups may submit nominations to
the Governor for the members to be appointed to represent the interest of consumers. A
full term of appointment is for 5 years. Appointment of members must comply with
section 60. A member of the board may be removed from office for cause by the
Governor.

Sec. 2. 32 MRSA 82594-A, as amended by PL 2013, c. 33, §1, is repealed and the
following enacted in its place:

2504 A Physici ,

1. Definitions. As used in this section, unless the context otherwise indicates, the
following terms have the following meanings.

A. "Competent" means possessing the requisite cognitive, noncognitive and
communicative qualities to perform effectively within a scope of practice while
adhering to professional and ethical standards.

B. "Insurer" has the same meaning as in Title 24-A, section 4 and includes any 3rd-
arty payor.

C. "Physician" means a person licensed as a physician under this chapter or chapter
48.

D. "Physician assistant" means a person licensed under section 2594-E or 3270-E.

E. "Practice agreement" means an agreement between a physician assistant who
owns a practice and a physician that states the physician will be available to the
physician assistant for collaboration or consultation.

F. "Prescription or legend drug" has the same meaning as in section 13702-A,
subsection 30 and includes schedule Il to schedule V drugs or other substances under
the federal Controlled Substances Act of 1970, 21 United States Code, Section 812.

G. "Primary care" means regular appointments, wellness care and general health care
provided by a health care professional or provider with whom the patient has initial
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contact for a health issue, not including an urgent care or emergency health issue, and
by whom the patient may be referred to a specialist.

2. Scope of practice. A physician assistant may provide any medical service for
which the physician assistant has been prepared by education, training and experience
and is competent to perform, including, but not limited to:

A. Medical services, including, but not limited to:

(1) Obtaining a comprehensive health history and performing a physical
examination;
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(2) Evaluating, diagnosing and managing a health condition and providing
medical treatment for that condition;

(3)  Ordering, performing and diagnosing a diagnostic study or therapeutic
treatment;

(4) Educating a patient on health promotion and disease prevention;

(5) Providing medical consultation upon request;

(6) Writing a medical order regarding the treatment of a health condition of a
patient, including prescribing a prescription or legend drug, procedure, patient
instructions or a standing order that can be exercised by another health care
professional or provider when a predetermined condition has been met; and

(7) Surgical services;

B. Obtaining informed consent from a patient or other authorized individual;

C. Supervising the performance of or delegating or assigning therapeutic or
diagnostic measures to other medical personnel;

D. Certifying the health or disability of a person required by a local, state or federal
entity or program;

E. Authenticating a document with the physician assistant's signature, certification,
stamp, verification, affidavit or endorsement if the document may be authenticated by
a physician's signature, certification, stamp, verification, affidavit or endorsement;

F. Ordering or prescribing a nonpharmacological intervention as a therapeutic
regimen, including durable medical equipment, nutrition, a blood or blood product or
diagnostic support service, including home health care, placement in a hospice or
physical or occupational therapy;

G. Services in a health care facility or program, including a hospital, nursing facility,
assisted living facility or hospice; and

H. If the physician assistant is registered with the federal Department of Justice,
Drug Enforcement Administration, prescribing, dispensing, ordering, administering
and procuring a medical device or a prescription or legend drug, including requesting,
receiving, signing for and distributing to a patient a professional sample of a
prescription or legend drug.
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3. Dispensing drugs. Except for distributing a professional sample of a prescription

or legend drug under subsection 2, paragraph H, a physician assistant who dispenses a

prescription or legend drug pursuant to subsection 2, paragraph H:

A. Shall comply with all relevant federal regulations and state rules; and

B. May only dispense the prescription or legend drug when:

(1) A pharmacy service is not reasonably available;

(2) Dispensing the drug is in the best interests of the patient; or

(3) An emergency exists.

4. Consultation or collaboration. A physician assistant shall, as indicated by a

patient's condition, the education, competencies and experience of the physician assistant
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and the standards of care, consult with, collaborate with or refer the patient to an
appropriate physician or _other health care professional. The level of consultation or
collaboration under this subsection is _determined by the practice setting, including a
physician employer, physician group practice, private practice or the credentialing and
privileging systems of a health care facility. A physician must be accessible to the
physician assistant at all times for consultation. Consultation or collaboration may be
achieved electronically or through telecommunication.

5. Practice agreement. A physician assistant who owns a part or all of a medical
practice that does not include a physician as a partner shall enter into and maintain a
practice _agreement with at least one physician. Consultation under the practice
agreement_may_occur_through electronic_ means and does not require the physical
presence of the physician at the time or place that the medical services are provided. The
practice agreement must be kept on file at the main location of the physician assistant's
practice and be made available to the board or the board's representative upon request.

6. Primary care provider. Notwithstanding any other provision of law to the
contrary, a physician assistant may be considered a primary care provider if the physician
assistant is practicing in a medical specialty required for a physician to be a primary care

provider.

physician assistant or person with a current compatible license from another jurisdiction
or credentialed as a physician assistant by a federal employer that provides voluntary and
gratuitous medical services during a state, county or municipal disaster under Title 37-B,
chapter 13 or other emergency requiring medical services is not liable for civil damages
for_any personal injuries that may result from acts or omissions that may constitute
ordinary negligence. This subsection does not apply to:

A. Medical services provided in the ordinary course of the physician assistant's scope
of practice or employment;

B. An emergency that occurs in the physician assistant's practice or place of
employment; or

C. Acts or omissions that constitute gross, willful or wanton negligence.
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8. Payment for services; insurer requirements. Payment by an insurer for a
medical service within the physician assistant's scope of practice provided by a physician
assistant to an enrollee of a plan of the insurer must be made when ordered or performed
in the same manner as if the service were ordered or performed by a physician and be
based on the service provided, not the health professional or provider who performed the
service. An insurer shall authorize a competent physician assistant to bill the insurer and
receive direct payment for a medically necessary service the physician assistant provides
to a client of the insurer and identify the physician assistant as the medical service
provider in the billing and claims process for payment of the service. An insurer may not
impose on a physician assistant a practice, education or collaboration requirement that is
inconsistent with or more restrictive than required by state law or board or agency rules.

Sec. 3. 32 MRSA 82594-E, as amended by PL 2017, c. 288, Pt. A, 8§33, is further
amended to read:
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82594-E. Licensure of physician assistants

1. Llcense reqwred A phyS|C|an aSS|stant may not render medlcal services under

et—serperwsren—untrl the physrcran assrstant has applred for and obtarned from erther the
Board of Osteopathic Licensure or the Board of Licensure in Medicine:

A. A license, which must be renewed biennially with the board that issued the initial
license=and.

|

Apphications-An application for licensure and-certificate-ofregistration-as a physician
aSS|stant must be made—te—the—beard—that—hee%es—the—physremn—assr&t&nts—pnm&ry

the Board of Osteopathlc Llcensure or the Board of Llcensure in Medlcme A license
granted by either the Board of Osteopathic Licensure or the Board of Licensure in
Medrcrne authorrzes the physrcran assrstant o render medrcal servrces under the

heensete—th&phyaer&n—assrstant—sectlon 2594 A or 3270 A

2. Qualification for licensure. The board may issue to an individual a license to
practice as a physician assistant under the following conditions:

A. A license may be issued to an individual who:
(1) Graduated from a physician assistant program approved by the board,;

(2) Passed a physician assistant national certifying examination administered by
the National Commission on Certification of Physician Assistants or its successor
organization;

(3) Demonstrates current clinical competency;
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(4) Does not have a license or certificate of registration that is the subject of
disciplinary action such as probation, restriction, suspension, revocation or
surrender;

(5) Completes an application approved by the board; and
(6) Pays an application fee of up to $256-$300; and
7 — I 1

B. No grounds exist as set forth in section 2591-A to deny the application.
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4. Delegation by physician assistant. A physician assistant may delegate medical
acts to a medical assistant or another person employed by the physician assistant or by an

employer of the phyS|C|an aSS|stant as—leng—as—that—delegatren—rs—permmed—m—the—plan—ef

physician.

5. Rules. The Board of Osteopathic Licensure is authorized to adopt rules regarding

the training-and-licensure and practice of physician assistants and-the-ageney-relationship
between-the-physician-assistant-and-the-supervising-physician. These rules, which must

be adopted jointly with the Board of Licensure in Medicine, may pertain to, but are not
limited to, the following matters:

A. Information to be contained in the application for a license and-certificate—of
registration;

C. Frainingand-education-Education requirements and-scope-ef-permissible-clinical
med+eal—preeederes—et—for the phyS|C|an aSS|stant and—the—manner—and—metheds—by
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. . : . | : ision:
F. Requirements for a physician assistant to notify the board regarding certain
mrcumstances |nclud|ng but not I|m|ted to any change in address any—ehange—rn—the

physqeran—the permanent departure of the phyS|C|an aSS|stant from the State any
criminal convictions of the physician assistant and any discipline by other
jurisdictions of the physician assistant;

H. Appointment of an advisory committee for continuing review of the physician
assistant pregram-and-rules. The physician assistant member-members of the board
pursuant to section 2561 must be a-membermembers of the advisory committee;
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I. Continuing education requirements as a precondition to continued licensure or
licensure renewal;

J. Fees for the application for an initial physician assistant license, which may not
exceed $250-$300; and

M. Fees for the biennial renewal of a physician assistant license in an amount not to
exceed $250.

Sec. 4. 32 MRSA 83263, first Y, as amended by PL 2013, c. 101, 85, is further
amended to read:

The Board of Licensure in Medicine, as established by Title 5, section 12004-A,
subsection 24, and in this chapter called the "board,” consists of 20-11 individuals who
are residents of this State, appointed by the Governor. Three individuals must be
representatives of the public. Six individuals must be graduates of a legally chartered
medical college or university having authority to confer degrees in medicine and must
have been actively engaged in the practice of their profession in this State for a
continuous period of 5 years preceding their appointments to the board. One-individual
Two individuals must be a-physician assistant-assistants licensed under this chapter who
has-have been actively engaged in the practice of that-individuals-the profession of
physician assistant in this State for a continuous period of 5 years preceding appointment
to the board. A full-term appointment is for 6 years. Appointment of members must
comply with Title 10, section 8009. A member of the board may be removed from office
for cause by the Governor.

Sec. 5. 32 MRSA 83270-A, as amended by PL 2013, c. 33, 82, is repealed and the
following enacted in its place:
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8§3270-A. Physician assistants

1. Definitions. As used in this section, unless the context otherwise indicates, the

following terms have the following meanings.

A. "Competent" means possessing the requisite cognitive, noncognitive and
communicative qualities to perform effectively within a scope of practice while
adhering to professional and ethical standards.

B. "Insurer" has the same meaning as in Title 24-A, section 4 and includes any 3rd-
arty payor.

C. "Physician" means a person licensed as a physician under this chapter or chapter
36.

D. "Physician assistant" means a person licensed under section 2594-E or 3270-E.

E. "Practice agreement”" means an agreement between a physician assistant who
owns a practice and a physician that states the physician will be available to the
physician assistant for collaboration or consultation.

F. "Prescription or legend drug" has the same meaning as in section 13702-A,
subsection 30 and includes schedule Il to schedule V drugs or other substances under
the federal Controlled Substances Act of 1970, 21 United States Code, Section 812.

G. "Primary care" means reqular appointments, wellness care and general health care
provided by a health care professional or provider with whom the patient has initial
contact for a health issue, not including an urgent care or emergency health issue, and
by whom the patient may be referred to a specialist.

2. Scope of practice. A physician assistant may provide any medical service for

which the physician assistant has been prepared by education, training and experience

and is competent to perform, including, but not limited to:

A. Medical services, including, but not limited to:

(1) Obtaining a comprehensive health history and performing a physical
examination;

(2) Evaluating, diagnosing and managing a health condition and providing
medical treatment for that condition;

(3)  Ordering, performing and diagnosing a diagnostic study or therapeutic
treatment;

(4) Educating a patient on health promotion and disease prevention;

(5) Providing medical consultation upon request;

(6) Writing a medical order regarding the treatment of a health condition of a
patient, including prescribing a prescription or legend drug, procedure, patient
instructions or_a standing order that can be exercised by another health care
professional or provider when a predetermined condition has been met; and

(7) Surgical services;
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B. Obtaining informed consent from a patient or other authorized individual;

C. Supervising the performance of or delegating or assigning therapeutic or
diagnostic measures to other medical personnel;

D. Certifying the health or disability of a person required by a local, state or federal
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entity or program;

E. Authenticating a document with the physician assistant's signature, certification,
stamp, verification, affidavit or endorsement if the document may be authenticated by
a physician's signature, certification, stamp, verification, affidavit or endorsement;

F. Ordering or prescribing a nonpharmacological intervention as a therapeutic
regimen, including durable medical equipment, nutrition, a blood or blood product or
diagnostic support service, including home health care, placement in a hospice or
physical or occupational therapy;

G. Services in a health care facility or program, including a hospital, nursing facility,
assisted living facility or hospice; and

H. If the physician assistant is registered with the federal Department of Justice,
Drug Enforcement Administration, prescribing, dispensing, ordering, administering
and procuring a medical device or a prescription or legend drug, including requesting,
receiving, signing for and distributing to a patient a professional sample of a
prescription or legend drug.

3. Dispensing drugs. Except for distributing a professional sample of a prescription

or legend drug under subsection 2, paragraph H, a physician assistant who dispenses a
prescription or legend drug pursuant to subsection 2, paragraph H:

A. Shall comply with all relevant federal requlations and state rules; and

B. May only dispense the prescription or legend drug when:

(1) A pharmacy service is not reasonably available;

(2) Dispensing the drug is in the best interests of the patient; or

(3) _An emergency exists.

4. Consultation or collaboration. A physician assistant shall, as indicated by a
patient's condition, the education, competencies and experience of the physician assistant
and the standards of care, consult with, collaborate with or refer the patient to an
appropriate physician or_other health care professional. The level of consultation or
collaboration under this subsection is determined by the practice setting, including a
physician employer, physician group practice, private practice or the credentialing and
privileging systems of a health care facility. A physician must be accessible to the
physician assistant at all times for consultation. Consultation or collaboration may be
achieved electronically or through telecommunication.

5. Practice agreement. A physician assistant who owns a part or all of a medical
practice that does not include a physician as a partner shall enter into and maintain a
practice_agreement with at least one physician. Consultation under the practice
agreement _may occur_through electronic means and does not require the physical

Page 8 - 1291 R1174(01)-1

presence of the physician at the time or place that the medical services are provided. The
practice agreement must be kept on file at the main location of the physician assistant's
practice and be made available to the board or the board's representative upon reguest.

6. Primary care provider. Notwithstanding any other provision of law to the
contrary, a physician assistant may be considered a primary care provider if the physician
assistant is practicing in a medical specialty required for a physician to be a primary care

provider.
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7. _Immunity providing medical services during an emergency or disaster. A
physician assistant or person with a current compatible license from another jurisdiction

or credentialed as a physician assistant by a federal employer that provides voluntary and
gratuitous medical services during a state, county or municipal disaster under Title 37-B,
chapter 13 or other emergency requiring medical services is not liable for civil damages
for_any personal injuries that may result from acts or omissions that may constitute
ordinary negligence. This subsection does not apply to:

A. Medical services provided in the ordinary course of the physician assistant's scope
of practice or employment;

B. An emergency that occurs in the physician assistant's practice or place of
employment; or

C. Acts or omissions that constitute gross, willful or wanton negligence.

8. Payment for services; insurer requirements. Payment by an insurer for a
medical service within the physician assistant's scope of practice provided by a physician
assistant to an enrollee of a plan of the insurer must be made when ordered or performed
in the same manner as if the service were ordered or performed by a physician and be
based on the service provided, not the health professional or provider who performed the
service. An insurer shall authorize a competent physician assistant to bill the insurer and
receive direct payment for a medically necessary service the physician assistant provides
to a client of the insurer and identify the physician assistant as the medical service
provider in the billing and claims process for payment of the service. An insurer may not
impose on a physician assistant a practice, education or collaboration requirement that is
inconsistent with or more restrictive than required by state law or board or agency rules.

Sec. 6. 32 MRSA 83270-E, as amended by PL 2017, c. 288, Pt. A, 8§34, is further
amended to read:

83270-E. Licensure of physician assistants

1. Llcense reqU|red A phyS|C|an aSS|stant may not render medlcal services under

ef—super—vrs,ten—untrl the physician assrstant has applred for and obtarned from e|ther the
Board of Licensure in Medicine or the Board of Osteopathic Licensure:

A. A license, which must be renewed biennially with the board that issued the initial
license=and.

. ificate of roaistration.
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Apphications-An application for licensure and-—certificate—ofregistration-as a physician
aSS|stant must be made4e4he—beard—that—heenses—the—phy54eran—assrstants—pﬂmary

the Board of Osteopathrc chensure or the Board of Licensure in Medrcme A license
granted by either the Board of Osteopathic Licensure or the Board of Licensure in
Medlcme authorlzes the phyS|C|an aSS|stant to render medlcal serV|ces under the

heensete—the—phys,teran-assﬁtant-sectron 2594 A or 3270 A

2. Qualification for licensure. The board may issue to an individual a license to
practice as a physician assistant under the following conditions:
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A. A license may be issued to an individual who:
(1) Graduated from a physician assistant program approved by the board,;

(2) Passed a physician assistant national certifying examination administered by
the National Commission on Certification of Physician Assistants or its successor
organization;

(3) Demonstrates current clinical competency;

(4) Does not have a license or certificate of registration that is the subject of
disciplinary action such as probation, restriction, suspension, revocation or
surrender;

(5) Completes an application approved by the board; and
(6) Pays an application fee of up to $250-$300; and
7 o I - and

B. No grounds exist as set forth in section 3282-A to deny the application.
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4. Delegation by physician assistant. A physician assistant may delegate medical
acts to a medical assistant or another person employed by the physician assistant or by an

employer of the physman a53|stant as—leng—as—&kmt—delegaﬂen—w—pemuﬁed—m—the—pk&n—e#

physician.

5. Rules. The Board of Licensure in Medicine is authorized to adopt rules regarding

the training-and-licensure and practice of physician assistants and-the-ageney-relationship
between-the physician-assistant-and-the supervising-physician. These rules, which must be

adopted jointly with the Board of Osteopathic Licensure, may pertain to, but are not
limited to, the following matters:

A. Information to be contained in the application for a license and-certificate—of
registration;

C. Fraining-and-education-Education requirements and-scope-ofpermissible-chinical
med+eal—p¥eeedepes—ef—for the physman a53|stant and—the—lmnner—and—me@heds—by
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Services;

F. Requirements for a physician assistant to notify the board regarding certain
crrcumstances mcludrng but not I|m|ted to any change in address any—ehange—m—the

phyyeran—the permanent departure of the physrcran assistant from the State an
criminal convictions of the physician assistant and any discipline by other
jurisdictions of the physician assistant;

H. Appointment of an advisory committee for continuing review of the physician
assistant pregram-and-rules. The physician assistant member-members of the board
pursuant to section 2561-3263 must be a—member—members of the advisory
committee;

I. Continuing education requirements as a precondition to continued licensure or
licensure renewal;

J. Fees for the application for an initial physician assistant license, which may not
exceed $250-$300; and
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M. Fees for the biennial renewal of a physician assistant license in an amount not to
exceed $250.

Sec. 7. 34-B MRSA 83801, sub-84-B, as enacted by PL 2009, c. 651, 85, is
amended to read:

4-B. Medical practitioner. "Medical practitioner" or "practitioner" means a
licensed physician, registered-licensed physician assistant, certified psychiatric clinical
nurse specialist, certified nurse practitioner or licensed clinical psychologist.

Sec. 8. Transition. The license of a physician assistant under the Maine Revised
Statutes, Title 32, section 2594-E or section 3270-E that is current and not the subject of
disciplinary action on the effective date of this Act remains valid.

SUMMARY

This bill makes the following changes to the laws governing the licensing and scope
of practice of physician assistants.

1. Itincreases the membership of the Board of Osteopathic Licensure and the Board
of Licensure in Medicine from 10 to 11 members by changing the number of members on
each board who are physician assistants from 1 member to 2 members.

2. It establishes provisions for the scope of practice, insurance coverage of services
and immunity from liability for providing volunteer medical services during emergencies
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or disasters and clarifies that physician assistants are primary care providers when
practicing in a medical specialty required for a physician to be a primary care provider.

3. It removes registration and physician supervisory requirements.

4. It establishes requirements for physician assistant collaboration and consultation
with physicians and other health care professionals.

5. It changes the initial licensing fee from $250 to $300.

6. It provides a transition provision for physician assistant licenses that are current
and not subject to disciplinary action.
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ATTACHMENT M

! STATE OF MAINE
Janet T. Mills !
BOARD OF LICENSURE IN MEDICINE BOARD OF OSTEOPATHIC LICENSURE
137 STATE HOUSE STATION 142 STATE HOUSE STATION
AUGUSTA, ME . AUGUSTA, ME
04333-0137 04333-0142
May 8, 2019

Senator Heather Sanborn, Chair

Representative Denise Tepler, Chair

Committee on Health Coverage, Insurance and Financial Serwces
100 State House Station

Augusta, ME 04333

Re: LD 1660 — “An Act to Improve Access to Physician Assistant Care”
Dear Senator Sanborn and Representative Tepler:

The Maine Board of Licensure in Medicine licenses and regulates allopathic physicians and
physician assistants in Maine. The Maine Board of Osteopathic Licensure licenses and regulates
osteopathic physicians and physician assistants in Maine. Each board is composed of 10
members: 6 physicians who actively practice medicine; 1 physician assistant who actively
renders medical services; and 3 public members. The boards’ mission is to protect the public by
ensuring its licensees are ethical, professional and competent. Each fulfills this mission by
licensing, regulating, and educating physician and physician assistants.

Before commenting directly regarding LD 1660, please consider the following:

e The boards fully appreciate and support the valuable contributions that physician
assistants make in healthcare delivery in Maine.

¢ In 2015 the statutes regarding physician assistants of the Board of Licensure in Medicine
and the Board of Osteopathic Licensure were amended to require a single license,
registration with one of the boards, and the promulgation of a joint (uniform) physician
assistant rule. Both the statutory changes and the joint rule involved input from the
stakeholders, including representatives of the boards, legal counsel, the MMA and
MEAPA. Regrettably, prior to the introduction of LD 1660, no input was solicited from
either of the medical licensing boards.

¢ In November 2019, the boards will be submitting program evaluation reports to your
Committee pursuant to the Government Evaluation Act (GEA). Those reports will
include recommendations for statutory changes, which could include the subject matter of
LD 1660. Should this Committee desire, a group of stakeholders could convene — as it
did in 2015 — to consider changes to the physician assistant laws and rules.
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On behalf of the boards, we offer the following comments and questions regarding LD 1660:

1. LD 1660 Converts Physician Assistants in Maine from Dependent Practitioners into
Independent Practitioners.

a. Paradigm Shift. The current bill represents a significant paradigm shift for the regulation
and oversight of physician assistants in Maine. For decades, physician assistants in Maine
have practiced under the supervision of a physician or group of physicians who delegate
certain medical services to be provided by physician assistants. Under the existing model
and current law:

» Physician assistants may only perform those medical services allowed (delegated) by
their supervising physician(s) pursuant to a written plan of supervision.

s The supervising physician(s) are legally responsible for any medical services
rendered by a physician assistant under their supervision.

¢ The supervising physician is responsible for ensuring that the physician assistant only
performs those medical services that the physician assistant is educated, trained, and
competent to perform.

e The supervising physician is required to perform twice yearly reviews of the
physician assistant’s care and treatment of patients — which ensures competent care
and treatment.

LD 1660 would:

» Permit physician assistants to provide any medical services they judge to be sufficiently
trained and educated to perform, including “surgical services.”

s Eliminate physicién supervision of physician assistants.

¢ Eliminate physician evaluation or assessment of physician assistant care and treatment of
patients.

In other words, the bill eliminates a significant piece of physician oversight, responsibility,
and review of physician assistant care and scope of practice.

b. Healthcare System vs. Solo Practice. The potential risks associated with passage of the
bill will likely vary depending upon the physician assistant’s employment. For physician
assistants (like any other health care provider) working within a large healthcare system
(e.g. MaineHealth, Northern Light, etc.), this bill may not pose as significant a risk to the
public because there will likely continue to be physician oversight, review, and
evaluation of physician assistants. Healthcare systems have their own requirements for
employment and privileges. Healthcare systems also have training and continuing
education programs, and will likely ensure that the services provided by any of their

)
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employees is within their scope of practice, education and training. The most significant
risk will be for physician assistants who own and operate their own practices, and whom
define their own scope of practice.

¢. Physicians/Physician Assistants/Advanced Nurse Practitioners. In considering whether
to allow physician assistants to become independent practitioners, it is important to note
that physician assistants do not have any post-graduate training requirement — unlike
physicians or advanced nurse practitioners. Here is a snapshot of the education and
training for each:

e Physicians: 4 years doctorate level degree from a medical school (2 years
classroom/2 years clinical); minimum 3 years residency training in medical
specialty (many specialties exceed 6 years of training — such as surgery).

¢ Advanced Nurse Practitioners: 4 years nursing school (BSN); 2-year master
degree (MSN); minimum 2 years clinical supervision by a physician in a specific
medical specialty.

e Physician Assistants: 2-year master degree (1-year classroom/ 1-year clinical); no
residency or post-graduate training.

The probable reason that there is no post-graduate training for physician assistants is
because traditionally physician assistants work under a supervising physician who
provides the additional necessary training and oversight. In light of this fact, should
physician assistants desiring to practice independently be required — like physicians and
advanced nurse practitioners — to complete 2 years of clinical supervision under a
physician? Without such a requirement, LD 1660 would permit a new physician
assistant graduate to practice independently without any additional training or
oversight.

2. LD 1660 Repeals Physicians® Ability to Delegate Medical Acts to Anyone and Their Legal
Liability for Doing So. The bill repeals and replaces sections of each boards’ law that allow
physicians to delegate medical acts to physician assistants and medical assistants or support
staff and that make physicians legally liable for any acts they delegate. Those sections
provide: '

§2594-A. ASSISTANTS

Nothing contained in this chapter may be construed to prohibit an individual from
rendering medical services if these services are rendered under the supervision and
control of a physician and if the individual has satisfactorily completed a training
program approved by the Board of Osteopathic Licensure. Supervision and control may
not be construed as requiring the personal presence of the supervising and controlling
physician at the place where these services are rendered, unless a physical presence is
necessary to provide patient care of the same quality as provided by the physician.
Nothing in this chapter may be construed 4s prohibiting a physician from delegating to
the physician's employees or support staff certain activities relating to medical care and
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treatment carried out by custom and usage when these activities are under the direct
control of the physician. The physician defegating these activities to employees or
support staff, to program graduates or to participants in an approved training program is
legally liable for the activities of those individuals, and any individual in this relationship
is considered the physician's agent. Nothing contained in this section may be construed to
apply to registered nurses acting pursuant to chapter 31. {2013, c. 33, §1

(AMD} . ]

When the delegated activities are part of the practice of optometry as defined in chapter
34-A, then the individual to whom these activities are delegated must possess a valid
license to practice optometry in Maine or otherwise may perform only as a technician
within the established office of a physician and may act solely on the order of and under
the responsibility of a physician skilled in the treatment of eyes as designated by the
proper professional board and without assuming evaluation or interpretation of
examination findings by prescribing corrective procedures to preserve, restore or improve
vision.

§3270-A. ASSISTANTS

This chapter may not be construed to prohibit an individual from rendering medical
services if these services are rendered under the supervision and control of a physician or
surgeon and if that individual has satisfactorily completed a training program approved
by the Board of Licensure in Medicine and a competency examination determined by this
board. Supervision and control may not be construed as requiring the personal presence
of the supervising and controlling physician at the place where these services are
rendered, unless a physical presence is necessary to provide patient care of the same
quality as provided by the physician. This chapter may not be construed as prohibiting a
physician or surgeon from delegating to the physician's or surgeon's employees or
support staff certain activities relating to medical care and treatment carried out by
custom and usage when the activities are under the control of the physician or surgeon.
The physician delegating these activities to employees or support staff, to program
graduates or to participants in an approved training program is legally liable for the
activities of those individuals, and any individual in this relationship is considered the
physician's agent. This section may not be construed to apply to registered nurses acting
pursuant to chapter 31. {2013, c. 33, §2 (AMD).]

When the delegated activitics are part of the practice of optometry as defined in chapter
34-A, then the individual to whom these activities are delegated must possess a valid
license to practice optometry in Maine, or otherwise may perform only as a technician
within the established office of a physician, and otherwise acting solely on the order of
and under the responsibility of a physician skilled in the treatment of eyes as desighated
by the proper professional board, and without assuming evaluation or interpretation of
examination findings by prescribing corrective procedures to preserve, restore or improve
vision. [1993, c. 600, Pt. A, §205 (AMD).]

Repealing these sections in their entirety would result in a significant loss of authority and
legal responsibility of physicians in general, and is a reflection of the lack of collaboration
and consultation by the physician assistant association with interested parties — including the
licensing boards that regularly administer these laws.
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3. Specific Comments and Questions Regarding L.D 1660:

a.

It would add a physician assistant member to the Board so that there are 2 physician
assistants.

Comment: There is a 6-1 ratio of licensed physicians to physician assistants in Maine.
The current physician to physician assistant ratio on the boards is 6-1. While the addition
of another physician assistant member would not affect the quorum, it does not reflect the
actual ratio of licensees.

Tt would create a “definitions” section that includes the term “competent.”

Comment: The existing joint chapter 2 physician assistant rule requires that the
supervising physician ensure that the physician assistant does not attempt to perform
medical services outside of the physician assistant’s competency and training. Since the
law will be removing the supervising physician, who will be making this determination?
The physician assistant herself? The boards will not be able to make this determination in
advance because physician assistants do not complete residency programs, which provide
prima facie evidence of competency. This represents a significant safety issue to the
public — the lack of a residency program or post-graduate training. PA’s with a lot of
clinical experience may not pose as great a risk — but this law would allow a new
graduate without any practice to open and operate a medical practice without supervision
or oversight.

It would create a “scope of practice” that heretofore has been defined by the PA’s
supervising physician and the joint chapter 2 physician assistant rule. The “scope of
practice” would include “surgical services” — a term that is not defined in the bill.

Comment: It could mean anything from lancing a boil to neurosurgery. Physicians who
specialize in surgery complete 4 years of medical school (2 years classroom/2 years
clinical) and a minimum of 6 years in residency. Physicians who practice internal
medicine/family medicine (primary care) complete a minimum of 3 years residency — in
order to perform minor surgerics, Again — PAs do not complete any type of residency
program and typically act as “first assistants” to physicians during surgery.

1t would give physician assistants the discretion about whether or not to “consult” with or
“collaborate” with a physician. :

Comment: In medicine the term “consultation” means less of a connection than
“collaboration.” Physicians may consult with an expert or colleague on a case. The term
“collaboration” implies an on-going team-based type practice. In addition, the “level” of
consultation or collaboration is not defined.
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e. It would require the PAs who own a part or all of a medical practice that does not include
a physician as a “partner” to enter into a “practice agreement.”

Comment: It does not define the term or purpose of the “practice agreement.”

It is unclear whether the Board would be able to promulgate rules regarding the substance
of these practice agreements, including whether there would be any review of the PAs
competency in providing care. Finally, this section of the bill does not mention
“collaboration™ and employs only the term “consult.”

f. It creates immunity for providing medical services during an emergency.

Comment: This language is unnecessary as other laws cover this issue. See Title 24
M.R.S. § 2904 (“Immunity from Civil Liability for Volunteer Activities™).

g. It eliminates the requirement that PAs complete the State of Maine jurisprudence
examination prior to licensure.

Comment: The jurisprudence examination is required to be passed by both PAs and all
physicians prior to licensure. It is used as an educational tool for applicants regarding
applicable Maine specific laws and rules as they affect the practice of medicine. The
jurisprudence examination covers a variety of topics including: licensure and registration;
complaints and investigations; prescribing controlled substances; mandated reporting and
notifications (e.g. child sexual abuse and neglect); medical records; telemedicine; and the
Medical Professionals Health Program (for anyone needing assistance). A study guide is
available for the jurisprudence examination, and both the examination and study guide
are available online. Eliminating this requirement for PAs does not make sense.

h. It eliminates the ability of the Board to issue temporary licenses to PAs.

Comment: The boards issue temporary PA licenses to new graduates who have taken but
not received the results of their national board examination (NCCPA). Why the bill
climinates this avenue to temporary licensure is unknown. PAs who are issued temporary
licenses do not have to apply for a permanent license. Once the boards receive proof of
passage of the NCCPA examination, the boards convert the temporary license to a
permanent license.

Thank you for the opportunity to provide these comments and question regarding LD 1660. We
would be happy to answer any questions you may have at the work session.

D o

Dennis E. Smith, Esq. Susan E. Strout

Executive Director Executive Secretary

Board of Licensure in Medicine ; Board of Osteopathic Licensure
6
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ATTACHMENT N

Proposed Amendment to PA Statute (Underlined)

Maine Revised Statutes

Title 32: PROFESSIONS AND OCCUPATIONS
Chapter 48: BOARD OF LICENSURE IN MEDICINE

§3270-E. LICENSE AND REGISTRATION OF PHYSICIAN ASSISTANTS

1. License and registration required. Unless otherwise provided by this section, a physician assistant
may not render medical services under the supervision of an osteopathic physician or an allopathic physician
pursuant to a practice agreement until the physician assistant has applied for and obtained from either the Board
of Licensure in Medicine or the Board of Osteopathic Licensure:

A. A license, which must be renewed biennially with the board that issued the initial license; and [2015, c.
242, §5 (NEW).]

B. A certificate of registration. [2015, c. 242, §5 (NEW).]

Applications for licensure and certificate of registration as a physician assistant may be submitted to either the
Board of Osteopathic Licensure or the Board of Licensure in Medicine. A license granted by either the Board
of Osteopathic Licensure or the Board of Licensure in Medicine authorizes the physician assistant to render
medical services pursuant to a practice agreement under the supervision of an allopathic or osteopathic
physician regardless of which board issued the license to the physician assistant.

[ 2015, c. 242, §5 (NEW) ]

2. Qualification for licensure. The board may issue to an individual a license to practice as a physician
assistant under the following conditions:

A. A license may be issued to an individual who:
(1) Graduated from a physician assistant program approved by the board;

(2) Passed a physician assistant national certifying examination administered by the National
Commission on Certification of Physician Assistants or its successor organization;

(3) Demonstrates current clinical competency;

(4) Does not have a license or certificate of registration that is the subject of disciplinary action such
as probation, restriction, suspension, revocation or surrender;

(5) Completes an application approved by the board:;
(6) Pays an application fee of up to $250; and
(7) Passes an examination approved by the board; and [2015, c. 242, § 5 (NEW).]
B. No grounds exist as set forth in section 3282-A to deny the application. [2015, c. 242, § 5 (NEW).]

[ 2015, c. 242, §5 (NEW) ]

3. Certificate of registration. A physician assistant may not render medical services until issued a
certificate of registration by the board. The board may issue a certificate of registration to a physician assistant
under the following requirements:

A. Physician assistants seeking authorization to practice in any practice setting other than a health care
system shall, in conjunction with a primary supervising physician, submit a practice agreement and the
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appropriate fee for board approval. A primary supervising physician must hold an active unrestricted
license to practice medicine in this State and be in good standing.

B. Physician assistants seeking authorization to practice within a health care system with a single
privileging and credentialing body shall, in conjunction with the health care system, file a practice
notification and appropriate fee with the board.

C. A certificate of registration automatically terminates if:

1. The physician assistant’s license expires; or

2. The board receives notification from the physician assistant, primary supervising physician
or the health care system that the physician assistant is no longer practicing within that setting.

D. A physician assistant must have a practice agreement or practice notification for each practice site.

E. A physician assistant, primary supervising physician, and health care system shall notify the board in
writing within ten (10) days of the physician assistant’s termination of employment under a practice
agreement or practice notification.

4. Practice Agreements. Unless otherwise specified, for all practice settings other than a health care
system, a proposed practice agreement shall be completed on a form provided by the board and shall be
accompanied by a fee of up to $50.

A. The proposed practice agreement shall include:

1. A description of the qualifications of the primary supervising physician(s) and the physician
assistant;

2. The scope of practice of the primary supervising physician(s) and the physician assistant;
and

3. The location(s) where the physician assistant will practice.

5. Practice Notifications. Physician assistants who seek authorization to practice in a health care
system shall, in conjunction with the health care system, file a practice notification with the board. The practice
notification shall be completed on a form provided by the board and shall be accompanied by a fee of up to
$50.

A. The practice notification shall include:

1. The full name, license number, public mailing address, telephone number, and email address
of the physician assistant;

2. The name and address of each location within the health care system where the physician
assistant will practice pursuant to the practice notification;

3. The name, job title, email address and contact information of the health care system representative
who is responsible for executing the practice notification and ensuring compliance with the provisions
of this Chapter and board rules;

4. Certification by the physician assistant and the health care system that:

a. The physician assistant shall practice under the supervision of physicians who are licensed in
good standing the State;

b. The physician assistant shall practice in conformity with the physician assistant’s training
and experience and in accord with the delineation of privileges granted to the physician
assistant by the health care system;
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c. The physician assistant and the health care system shall within ten (10) days notify the board
in writing upon the cessation of the physician assistant’s practice at the health care system; and

d. The physician assistant and hospital shall comport with all license limitations or restrictions
imposed by the board.

B. If a physician assistant’s license is conditioned, restricted, limited or otherwise sanctioned by the board, the
board may require the physician assistant to practice at a health care system pursuant to a practice agreement.

C. Upon receipt of a completed practice notification and the appropriate fee, the board may issue the physician
assistant a certificate of reqgistration authorizing the physician assistant to practice in the identified health care
system locations.

6. Physician Responsibility. Physicians working with physician assistants pursuant to practice agreements or
practice notifications shall:

A. Observe, direct and evaluate the physician assistant’s care and treatment;

B. Delegate only those medical acts to the physician assistant that are within the physician’s scope of practice
and within the physician assistant’s education, training, experience, and delineation of hospital privileges.

C. Be available to the physician assistant for consultation and collaboration of patient care.

7. Collaborative Practice in Primary Care.

A. Definitions:

1. “Collaboration” means the process by which a licensed physician and a licensed and registered
physician assistant jointly contribute to the health care and treatment of patients provided that:

a. Each collaborator performs actions for which he/she is licensed and is otherwise authorized
to perform; and

b. The collaboration shall not be construed to require the physical presence of the licensed
physician at the time and place services are rendered by the collaborating physician assistant
unless required by the standard of care.

2. “Collaborating physician” means a physician who holds a current unrestricted license, and does not
assume the legal responsibility for the health care rendered by the collaborating physician assistant.

3. “Collaborating physician assistant” means a physician assistant who holds a current unrestricted
license and certificate of registration and assumes the legal responsibility for all health care rendered to patients
pursuant to collaborative practice in primary care.

4. “Primary care” means healthcare services provided by a physician, physician assistant, or advanced
nurse practitioner who typically acts as the first contact and principal point of continuing care for patients and
coordinates other specialist care or services that the patient may require. Primary care specialties are combined
internal medicine and pediatrics, family medicine, general internal medicine, geriatrics (gerontology), general
obstetrics and gynecology and general pediatrics.

B. Physician assistants engaging in collaborative practice in primary care must have current medical
malpractice insurance coverage.

C. Qualifications.

1. Graduate from a physician assistant program approved by the board:;

2. Is currently certified by the national commission on certification of physician assistants

(“NCCPA™);
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3. Practices primary care as defined by this Chapter;

4. Has completed three (3) years of clinical practice in primary care as a licensed physician assistant
under the supervision of a licensed physician;

5. Have engaged in the active clinical practice of primary care as a physician assistant during the 24
months immediately preceding the application to practice collaboratively;

6. Maintains a policy of medical malpractice liability insurance;

7. Has a current unrestricted licensed to practice as a physician assistant; and

8. Demonstrates current clinical competency.

D. Application. Physician assistants seeking approval for collaborative practice in primary care shall submit the
required application fees and the following documentation:

1. A completed application;

2. Two letters of recommendation from physicians licensed to practice in the United States who have
personal knowledge of the physician assistant’s current competency to practice primary care;

3. Verification of good standing in all jurisdictions where the physician assistant has been licensed to
practice;

4. Verification of three (3) years of clinical practice in primary care as a physician assistant;

5. Verification of active clinical practice in primary care as a physician assistant during the 24 months
immediately preceding application;

5. Verification of current medical malpractice liability insurance;

6. An acknowledgment that the physician assistant is legally liable for all medical services rendered
during collaborative practice in primary care.

E. Upon receipt of a complete application and the appropriate fee, the board may issue the physician assistant a
registration authorizing the physician assistant to practice collaboratively with a physician in primary care.

8. Delegation by physician assistant. A physician assistant may delegate medical acts to a medical
assistant when those medical acts related to medical care and treatment carried out by custom and usage and the
activities are under the control of the physician assistant unless the delegation is prohibited by the physician
assistant’s supervising physician or health care system.

[ 2015, c. 242, §5 (NEW) ]

9. Rules. The Board of Licensure in Medicine is authorized to adopt rules regarding the training and
licensure of physician assistants and the agency relationship between the physician assistant and the
supervising physician. These rules, which must be adopted jointly with the Board of Osteopathic Licensure,
may pertain to, but are not limited to, the following matters:

A. Information to be contained in the application for a license and certificate of registration; [2015, c. 242,
85 (NEW).]

B. Information that is required on the application for a certificate of registration filed by the proposed
supervising physician; [2015, c. 242, 85 (NEW).]

C. Training and education requirements and scope of permissible clinical medical procedures of the
physician assistant and the manner and methods by which the supervising physician must supervise the
physician assistant's medical services; [2017, c. 288, Pt. A, 834 (AMD).]

D. Scope of practice for physician assistants, including prescribing of controlled drugs; [2015, c. 242, 85
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(NEW).]
E. Requirements for written plans of supervision; [2015, c. 242, 85 (NEW).]

F. Requirements for a physician assistant to notify the board regarding certain circumstances, including but
not limited to any change in address, any change in the identity or address of the physician assistant's
employer or in the physician assistant's employment status, any change in the identity or address of the
supervising physician, the permanent departure of the physician assistant from the State, any criminal
convictions of the physician assistant and any discipline by other jurisdictions of the physician assistant;
[2015, c. 242, 85 (NEW) ]

G. Issuance of temporary physician assistant licenses and temporary registration of physician assistants;
[2015, c. 242, 85 (NEW) ]

H. Appointment of an advisory committee for continuing review of the physician assistant program and
rules. The physician assistant member of the board pursuant to section 2561 must be a member of the
advisory committee; [2015, c. 242, 85 (NEW).]

I. Continuing education requirements as a precondition to continued licensure or licensure renewal; [2015,
c. 242, 85 (NEW).]

J. Fees for the application for an initial physician assistant license, which may not exceed $250; [2015, c.
242, 85 (NEW).]

K. Fees for an initial certificate of registration, which may not exceed $100; [2015, c. 242, 85 (NEW).]

L. Fees for transfer of the certificate of registration by a physician assistant from one supervising physician
to another, which may not exceed $50; [2015, c. 242, 85 (NEW).]

M. Fees for the biennial renewal of a physician assistant license in an amount not to exceed $250 [2015, c.
242, 85 (NEW).]

N. Continuing clinical competency.

[ 2017, c. 288, Pt. A, §34 (AMD) ]

SECTION HISTORY
2015, c. 242, §5 (NEW). 2017, c. 288, Pt. A, §34 (AMD).
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ATTACHMENT O

Proposed Amendment to Title 10 M.R.S. Section 8003(5)

Title 10 MLR.S. § 8003(5) Authority of bureaus, offices, boards or commissions
Amend the last paragraphs of this section as follows:

The jurisdiction to suspend and revoke occupational and professional licenses conferred by this
subsection is concurrent with that of the District Court. Civil penalties must be paid to the
Treasurer of State.

Any nonconsensual disciplinary action taken under authority of this subsection may be imposed
only after a hearing conforming to the requirements of Title 5, chapter 375, subchapter 4, and-

exeeptforreveentionaetons: 1s subject to judicial review exclusn ely in the Superior Court in

accordance with Title 5. chapter 375, subchapter 7.

& =

The office. board or commission shall hold a hearing conforming to the requirements of Title 5
chapter 375. subchapter 4 at the written request of anv person who is denied an initial or renewal
license without a hearing for anv reason other than failure to pav a fee. provided that the request

for hearing 1s received by the office. board or commission within 30 davs of the applicant's

receipt of written notice of the denial of the application. the reasons for the denial and the
applicant's right to request a hearing.

The office. board or commission mav subpoena witnesses. records and documents in any

adjudicatorv hearing it conducts.

Rules adopted to govern judicial appeals from agencv action applv to cases brought under this
subsection.

In the event of appeal to Superior Court from any form of discipline imposed pursuant to this
subsection. including denial or nonrenewal of a license. the office. board or commission may
assess the licensed person or entity for the costs of transcribing and reproducing the
administrative record.
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ATTACHMENT P

Proposed Amendment to Title 24 M.R.S. Section 2505

Title 24 MLR.S. §2505. COMMITTEE AND OTHER REPORTS

Any professional competence comnnttee w1thm this State and any health care practitioner as
defined bv this Chapter phys - 1 licensed to practice or otherwise
lawtully practicing within this State slnll and any other person may, report the relevant facts to
the appropriate board relating to the acts of any physician or physician assistant in this State if, in
the opinion of the committee, physician, physician assistant or other person, the committee or
individual has reasonable knowledge of acts of the physician or physician assistant amounting to
gross or repeated medical malpractice, misuse of alcohol, drugs or other substances that may
result in the physician's or the physician assistant's performing services in a manner that
endangers the health or safety of patients, professional incompetence, unprofessional conduct or
sexual misconduct identified by board rule. The failure of any such professional competence
committee or any such physician or physician assistant to report as required is a civil violation
tor which a fine of not more than $1,000 may be adjudged.

Except for spec1ﬁe p1otocols developed b5 a board pursuant to Title 32, section 2596-A,
3298 or 18323, a phrv isthealth care practitioner or committee is
not responsible for 1ep01t1112 misuse of alcohol drugs or other substances or p10fe5.5101lal
incompetence or malpractice as a result of physical or mental mfnmlty or by the misuse of
alcohol, drugs or other substances discovered by the phy isthealth

care practitioner or committee as a result of paIt1c1pat10n or 111e111be1 slnp in a pr ofessmml review
commmittee or with respect to any information acquired concerning misuse of alcohol, drugs or
other substances or professional incompetence or malpractice as a result of physical or mental
infirmity or by the misuse of alcohol, drugs or other substances, as long as that information 1s
reported to the professional review committee. This section does not prohibit an impaired
physician, physician assistant or dentist from seeking alternative forms of treatment.

The confidentiality of reports made to a board under this section is governed by this chapter.
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ATTACHMENT Q

Proposed Amendment to Title 24 M.R.S. Section 2606

Title 24 MLR.S. §2506. PROVIDER, ENTITY AND CARRIER REPORTS

A health care provider or health care entity shall, within 60 days, report in writing to the
disciplined practitioner's board or authority the name of any licensed, certified or registered
employee or person privileged by the provider or entity whose employment, including
employment through a 3rd party, or privileges have been revoked, suspended, limited or
terminated or who resigned while under investigation or to avoid investigation for reasons
related to clinical competence or unprofessional conduct, together with pertinent information
relating to that action. Pertinent information includes: a description of the adverse action; the
name of the practitioner involved; the date, the location and a description of the event or events
giving rise to the adverse action; ané 1de11t1ﬂcat1011 of the complamant glvmg rise to the adverse
ac‘rlon = . ; -

. st—the names of the patlents whose care by the
d1sc1p1111ed plact1t1011e1 gave rise to the adverse action; medical records relating to the event or
events giving rise to the adverse action: written statements signed or prepared by any witness or

complainant to the event; and related correspondence between the practitioner and the provider
or entity. The report must include situations in which employment, including employment
through a 3rd party, or privileges have been revoked, suspended. limited or otherwise adversely
affected by action of the health care practitioner while the health care practitioner was the subject
of a proceeding regarding employment or a disciplinary proceeding, and it also must include
situations where employment, including employment through a 3rd party, or privileges have
been revoked, suspended, limited or otherwise adversely affected by act of the health care
practitioner in return for the health care provider's or health care entity's terminating such
proceeding. Any reversal, modification or change of action reported pursuant to this section must
be reported immediately to the practitioner's board or authority, together with a brief statement of
the reasons for that reversal, modification or change. If the adverse action requiring a report as a
result of a reversal, modification or change of action consists of the revocation, suspension or
limitation of employment, including employment through a 3rd party, or clinical privileges of a
physician, physician assistant or advanced practice registered nurse by a health care provider or
health care entity for reasons relating to clinical competence or unprofessional conduct and is
taken pursuant to personnel or employment rules or policies, medical staff bylaws or other
credentialing and privileging policies, whether or not the practitioner is employed by that health
care provider or entity, then the provider or entity shall include in its initial report to the
disciplined practitioner's licensing board or authority the names of all patients whose care by the
disciplined practitioner gave rise to the adverse action. The failure of any health care provider or
health care entity to report as required is a civil violation for which a fine of not more than
$5.000 may be adjudged.

Carriers providing managed care plans are subject to the reporting requirements of this section
when they take adverse actions against a practitioner's credentials or employment for reasons
related to clinical competence or unprofessional conduct that may adversely affect the health or
welfare of the patient.
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ATTACHMENT R

Proposed Amendment to Title 24 M.R.S. Section 2510

Title 24 M.R.S. §2510. CONFIDENTIALITY OF INFORMATION

2. Confidentiality of orders in disciplinary proceedings. Orders of the board relating to
disciplinary action against a phystetan health care practitioner as defined by this Chapter,
mcluding orders or other actions of the board referring or scheduling matters for hearing, shall
not be confidential.

5. Health care professional — patient: Ph¥sician-patient: proceedings by board. The health
care motesmonal -patient physiernnpatient privilege shall, as a matter of law, be deemed to have
been waived by the patient and shall not prevail in any investigation or proceeding by the board
acting within the scope of its authority, provided that the disclosure of any information pursuant
to this subsection shall not be deemed a waiver of such privilege in any other proceeding.

6. Disciplinary action. D1801p11113ry ac‘nou by the boald I confoml‘uue with its 1’1WS f111d
Tltle 5. (hapte1 17‘? subchaptﬂ 4. . : -
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ATTACHMENT S

Proposed Amendment to Board Statute Regarding Definition of “Practice of
Medicine and Surgery”

8. DEFINITIONS
As used in this chapter, unless the context otherwise indicates, the following terms have the
following meanings.

1. Applicant. “Applicant” means an individual who submits an application for licensure or
registration with the Board.

2. Board. "Board" means the Maine Medical Board.

3. Commissioner. "Commissioner" means the Commissioner of Professional and Financial
Regulation.

4. Department. "Department” means the Department of Professional and Financial Regulation.

5. License. “License” means license or registration to practice medicine and surgery or to render
medical services in this State pursuant to this chapter.

6. Licensed in good standing. “Licensed in good standing” means a full and unrestricted and
unconditioned license with no prior discipline in any jurisdiction.

7. Licensee. “Licensee” means any individual licensed or registered pursuant to this chapter.
8. Practice of Medicine. “Practice of medicine” means:

A. Using the designation “Doctor,” “Doctor of Medicine,” “Physician,” “Dr.,” “M.D.,” “D.0.”
or any combination thereof in the conduct of any occupation or profession pertaining to the
prevention, diagnosis, or treatment of human disease or condition unless the designation
additionally contains a description of another branch of the healing arts for which one holds a
valid license in this State;

B. Advertising, holding out to the public, or representing in any manner that one is authorized
to practice medicine in this State;

C. Offering or undertaking to prescribe, order, give, or administer any drug or medicine for the
use of any other person;

D. Offering or undertaking to prevent, diagnose, correct, or treat in any manner or by any
means, methods, or devices any disease, illness, pain, wound, fracture, infirmity, defect, or
abnormal physical or mental condition of any person, including the management of pregnancy
and parturition;

E. Offering or undertaking to perform any surgical operation upon any person;

F. Rendering a written or otherwise documented medical opinion concerning the diagnosis or
treatment of a patient or the actual rendering of treatment to a patient within the State by a
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physician located outside the State as a result of the transmission of individual patient data by
electronic or other means from within the State to the physician or his or her agent;

G. Rendering a determination of medical necessity or a decision affecting the diagnosis or
treatment of a patient.

9. Physician. “Physician” means an individual who has graduated from an allopathic or
osteopathic medical school approved by the Board and holds a valid license issued by the Board.

10. Physician Assistant. “Physician assistant” means an individual who has graduated from a
program approved by the Board and holds a valid license issued by the Board.

11. Surgery. “Surgery” means any procedure, including but not limited to laser, in which human
tissue is cut, shaped, burned, vaporized, or otherwise structurally altered, except that this section
shall not apply to any person to whom authority is given by any other statute to perform acts which
might otherwise be deemed the practice of surgery. “Laser” means light amplification by
stimulated emission of radiation.

Subchapter 2: LICENSE; LICENSE REQUIRED; EXEMPTIONS

8. INDIVIDUAL LICENSE

Only an individual may be licensed or registered under this chapter and only a licensed individual
may provide services for which a license is required under this chapter.

8. LICENSE REQUIRED

1. Unlicensed practice. Except as provided in section 5, a person may not practice or profess to
be authorized to practice medicine or render medical services in this State without a license or
during any period when that person's license has expired and/or lapsed or has been denied,
suspended, revoked, or surrendered.

2. Penalties. A person who violates this section commits a Class E crime. Violation of this
section is a strict liability crime as defined in Title 17-A, section 34, subsection 4-A.

3. Injunction. The Attorney General may bring an action in Superior Court pursuant to Title 10,
section 8003-C, subsection 5 to enjoin an unlicensed person from violating this chapter.

8. PERSONS AND PRACTICES NOT AFFECTED; EXEMPTIONS

1. The requirement of a license under this chapter does not apply to:

A. A health care professional licensed, certified or registered by any board within or affiliated
with the Office of Licensing and Professional Regulation or any other agency of this State
when that person is practicing within the scope of his or her professional license;

B. A person serving in the United States Armed Forces, the National Guard, or the United
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States Department of Health and Human Services, Public Health Service or employed by the
United States Department of Veterans Affairs or other federal agency while performing
official duties, if the duties are limited to that service or employment;

C. A student enrolled in and attending an allopathic or osteopathic medical school or a
physician assistant graduate program while performing duties assigned by a physician at any
office of a licensed physician, hospital, clinic or similar facility;

D. A person providing services in cases of emergency where no fee or other consideration is
contemplated, charged or received by the physician or physician assistant or anyone on behalf
of the physician or physician assistant;

E. A person fully licensed to practice medicine or render medical services in another
jurisdiction of the United States who briefly render emergency medical treatment or briefly
provide critical medical services in this State following an executive declaration of a state of
emergency in this State;

F. A person accompanying a visiting athletic team and who holds a current unrestricted license
to practice medicine and surgery in another state when the person, pursuant to a written
agreement with an athletic team located in the state in which the person holds the license,
provides medical services to any of the following while the team is traveling to or from or
participating in a sporting event in this State:

1. A member of the athletic team;

2. A member of the athletic team's coaching, communications, equipment or sports
medicine staff;

3. A member of a band or cheerleading squad accompanying the team; or
4. The team's mascot.

Restrictions. A person authorized to provide medical services in this State pursuant to this
exemption may not provide medical services at a health care facility, including a hospital,
ambulatory surgical facility or any other facility where medical care, diagnosis or treatment is
provided on an inpatient or outpatient basis.

G. Anindividual licensed as a chiropractor licensed by this State may prefix the title "Doctor"
or the letters "Dr." to that individual's name when accompanied by the word "Chiropractor," or
a dentist duly licensed by this State may prefix the title "Doctor" or the letters "Dr." to that
individual's name or a naturopathic doctor licensed by this State may prefix the title "Doctor"
or the letters "Dr." to that individual's name when accompanied by the word "Naturopathy™ or
the words "Naturopathic Medicine" or an optometrist duly licensed under the laws of this State
may prefix the title "Doctor" or the letters "Dr." to that individual's name when accompanied
by the word "Optometrist™ or a podiatrist licensed under the laws of this State may prefix the
title "Doctor" or the letters "Dr." to that individual's name when accompanied by the word
"Podiatrist™ or "Chiropodist."”

H. Nothing contained in this section prevents an individual who has received the degree
"Doctor of Medicine™ or “Doctor of Osteopathic Medicine” from a reputable college or
university but who is not engaged in the practice of medicine or surgery or the treatment of a
disease or human ailment, from prefixing the letters "Dr." or appending the letters "M.D." or
“D.0.” to that individual's name, as long as that individual's license to practice has never been
revoked, withdrawn while under investigation or surrendered. Nothing in this chapter may be
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construed as to affect or prevent the practice of the religious tenets of a church in the
ministration to the sick or suffering by mental or spiritual means.

I. This chapter may not be construed to prohibit an individual from rendering medical services
as a physician assistant if these services are rendered under the supervision and control of a
physician or surgeon and if that individual has satisfactorily completed a training program
approved by the Board and a competency examination approved by the Board. Supervision
and control may not be construed as requiring the personal presence of the supervising and
controlling physician at the place where these services are rendered, unless a physical presence
is necessary to provide patient care of the same quality as provided by the physician.

J. This chapter may not be construed as prohibiting a physician or surgeon from delegating to
the physician's or surgeon's employees or support staff certain activities relating to medical
care and treatment carried out by custom and usage when the activities are under the control of
the physician or surgeon. The physician delegating these activities to employees or support
staff, to program graduates or to participants in an approved training program is legally liable
for the activities of those individuals, and any individual in this relationship is considered the
physician's agent. This section may not be construed to apply to registered nurses acting
pursuant to chapter 31.When the delegated activities are part of the practice of optometry as
defined in chapter 34-A, then the individual to whom these activities are delegated must
possess a valid license to practice optometry in Maine, or otherwise may perform only as a
technician within the established office of a physician, and otherwise acting solely on the order
of and under the responsibility of a physician skilled in the treatment of eyes as designated by
the proper professional board, and without assuming evaluation or interpretation of
examination findings by prescribing corrective procedures to preserve, restore or improve
vision.
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ATTACHMENT T

Proposed Amendment to Board Statute Regarding Complaint
Investigations/Hearings

8. BOARD INVESTIGATORY AND HEARING COMMITTTEES

1. Investigatory Committees. The board may establish investigatory committees to review and
investigate applications for licensure and complaints.

A. Membership. An investigatory committee shall consist of 5 members as follows:

1. Three physicians who are members of the Board, appointed by the chair of the board,
subject to the following:

a. If the complaint/application for licensure involves an allopathic physician, then at
least two of the three physicians must also be allopathic physicians;

b. If the complaint/application for licensure involves an osteopathic physician, then at
least two of the three physicians must also be osteopathic physicians.

2. A physician assistant who is a member of the board, appointed by the chair of the board;
and

3. A public member of the board, appointed by the chair of the board.
B. Duties. The investigatory committees shall:

1. Investigate complaints, review applications for licensure, and take any of the following
actions:

A. Complaints.
1. Dismiss the complaint;

2. Dismiss the complaint and issue a letter of guidance or concern to the
licensee;

3. Hold an informal conference with the licensee who is the subject of the
complaint;

4. Execute a consent agreement that resolves a complaint or investigation
without further proceedings. Consent agreements may be entered into only with
the consent of: the applicant, licensee or registrant; the complaint committee;
and the Department of the Attorney General. Any remedy, penalty or fine that
is otherwise available by law, even if only in the jurisdiction of the Superior
Court, may be achieved by consent agreement, including long-term suspension
and permanent revocation of a professional or occupational license or
registration. A consent agreement is not subject to review or appeal, and may
be modified only by a writing executed by all parties to the original consent
agreement. A consent agreement is enforceable by an action in Superior Court;

5. Refer the complaint for a hearing before a hearing committee of the board;
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6. Refer the complaint to the Office of the Attorney General to file an action in
the District Court in accordance with Title 4, Chapter 5.

B. License Applications.
1. Grant the application for licensure;
2. Hold an informal conference with the applicant for licensure;
3. Execute a consent agreement that resolves a pending application;
4. Deny an application for licensure.

C. Prohibition. No member of a complaint or licensure committee who investigated,
reviewed, and took action on a specific complaint or application for licensure shall
serve on a hearing committee involving that specific complaint or application for
licensure.

D. Quorum. Notwithstanding any other provision of law to the contrary, a majority of
the members serving on a complaint committee or a licensing committee constitutes a
quorum.

2. Hearing Committees.

The board may establish hearing committees to adjudicate complaints and applications for
licensure and/or re-licensure.

A

B.

Membership. A hearing committee shall consist of 5 members as follows:
1. Three physicians who are members of the board, appointed by the chair of the board:

2. A physician assistant who is a member of the board, appointed by the chair of the board,;

3. A public member of the Board, appointed by the chair of the Board.

Duties. The hearing committees shall conduct adjudicatory hearings in accordance with

Title 5, chapter 375, subchapter 4.

1. Complaints. Adjudicate complaints, and take any of the following actions:

A. Dismiss the complaint;
B. Dismiss the complaint and issue a letter of guidance or concern to the licensee;
C. Impose any sanction authorized by Title 10, section 8003, subsection 5;

D. Refer the complaint to the Office of the Attorney General to file an action in the
District Court in accordance with Title 4, Chapter 5;

E. Execute a consent agreement that resolves a hearing without further proceedings.
Consent agreements may be entered into only with the consent of: the applicant,
licensee or registrant; the hearing committee; and the Department of the Attorney
General. Any remedy, penalty or fine that is otherwise available by law, even if only in
the jurisdiction of the Superior Court, may be achieved by consent agreement,
including long-term suspension and permanent revocation of a license or registration.
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A consent agreement is not subject to review or appeal, and may be modified only by a
writing executed by all parties to the original consent agreement. A consent agreement
is enforceable by an action in Superior Court.

2. License Applications. Adjudicate license applications, and take any of the following
actions:

A. Grant the application;
B. Deny the application;
C. Grant the application with probation and conditions;

D. Grant the application with restrictions;

E. Execute a consent agreement that resolves a hearing without further proceedings.
Consent agreements may be entered into only with the consent of: the applicant,
licensee or registrant; the hearing committee; and the Department of the Attorney
General. Any remedy, penalty or fine that is otherwise available by law, even if only in
the jurisdiction of the Superior Court, may be achieved by consent agreement,
including long-term restriction or denial of a license or registration. A consent
agreement is not subject to review or appeal, and may be modified only by a writing
executed by all parties to the original consent agreement. A consent agreement is
enforceable by an action in Superior Court.

C. Prohibition. No member of a complaint committee who investigated, reviewed, and took
action with respect to a specific complaint and/or license application shall serve on a hearing
committee involving that specific complaint or license application.

D. Quorum. Notwithstanding any other provision of law to the contrary, a majority of the
members serving on the hearing committee constitutes a quorum.

E. Appeal and Judicial Review.

1. Complaints. Notwithstanding and other provision of law, including Title 10, section
8003, subsection 5, any nonconsensual disciplinary action taken under authority of this
subsection, including license revocation, may be imposed only after a hearing conforming
to the requirements of Title 5, chapter 375, subchapter 4, and is subject to judicial review
exclusively in the Superior Court in accordance with Title 5, chapter 375, subchapter 7.

2. License Applications. Notwithstanding any other provision of law, any nonconsensual
licensing action taken under authority of this subsection, including denial of licensure or re-
licensure, may be imposed only after affording the individual the opportunity to request a
hearing conforming to the requirements of Title 5, chapter 375, subchapter 4, and is subject
to judicial review exclusively in the Superior Court in accordance with Title 5, chapter 375,
subchapter 7.
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