LEGEND

Language to be put back in, from existing legislation

Proposed Language to be added to LD 1334

Language removed from LD 1334

Sec. 2. 5 MRSA 813090-L, sub-82-A, 1F, as enacted by PL 2009, c. 470, 81, is
amended to read:

F. "Visual media production expense" means an expense directly incurred in this State
for preproduction, production or postproduction of a visual media production certified
under this section. "Visual media production expense" includes wages and salaries of
individuals employed in the production on which taxes have been paid or accrued if
those wages do not exceed $506,000- $75,000 per individual and payments to a
temporary employee-leasing company, as defined in Title 36, section 6901, subsection
3-A, and other contractual payments for the services of individuals working in the State
if those payments do not exceed $56;000 $75,000 per individual providing services in
the production. "Visual media production expense" includes the cost of construction;
operations; editing and related services; music, photography and film processing,
including transferring film to tape or a digital format; sound recording, mixing and
synchronization; lighting, makeup, wardrobe and accessories; interstate transportation;
notineludingairfare perdiem-orlodging; catering and, food, per diem and lodging for
cast members, staff and crew; lecalinsurance and bonding_purchased through an
instate agency; and the rental of facilities and equipment, including location fees; and
fees eellected by paid to a temporary employee-leasing company as defined in Title 36,
sectlon 6901, subsectlon 3-A. "Vlsual medla productlon expense" does not include

expenses incurred in marketlng or advertlsmg a visual medla productlon or |n printing or
disseminating a visual media production.

Sec. 3. 5 MRSA 813090-L, sub-83, as amended by PL 2009, c. 470, 81, is
further amended to read:

3. Requirements for visual media production certificate. Applications for a
visual media production certificate must be made on a form prescribed and furnished
by the department. The applicant must:

A. Provide the names of the principals involved in the visual media production

and contact information for them;

B. Provide a certificate of insurance for the visual media production;

C. Provide financial information that demonstrates that the visual media

production is fully financed and that at least $75;000 $25,000 of visual media




production expense will be incurred for the visual media production certified in
accordance with this subsection;

D. Provide data reasenably-demonstrating that the visual media production will
benefit the people of the State by increasing opportunities for employment and
will strengthen the economy of the State;

E. Agree to include, in the certified visual media production, an on-screen credit
for the State of Maine. The exact wording and size of that credit must be
determined in rules adopted by the Maine State Film Office and the department.
The Maine State Film Office or the department may, at its discretion, exempt
visual media productions from this requirement. Rules adopted pursuant to this
paragraph are routine technical rules as defined in chapter 375, subchapter 2-A;
F. Provide evidence that the visual media production company is not owned by,
affiliated with or controlled by, in whole or in part, a person that is in default on a
loan made by the State or a loan guaranteed by the State;

G. Provide any other information required by the department; and

H. Provide a projected schedule for preproduction, production and
postproduction of the visual media production that shows that the production-the
first day-of principal photography will begin within 60-days six (6) months a
reasonable-time after certification pursuant to this subsection:; and

I. Agree to withhold, in accordance with Title 36, chapter 827, 6% of all
payments made to an out-of-state entity known as a loan-out corporation or
personal service corporation, created to hire out the services of one individual,
including an actor or artist, to a 3rd party.

To qualify for a visual media production certificate, a visual media production
company must demonstrate to the satisfaction of the commissioner that the visual
media production company has met, or will meet, the requirements of this
subsection. If the department determines that the applicant does not qualify for a
visual media production certificate, it must inform the applicant of that determination
in writing within 4 weeks of receiving the application. As soon as practicable, the
department shall issue a visual media production certificate for a visual media
production that qualifies. The department shall include with the certificate
information regarding the tax credit report under subsection 4 and procedures for
claiming reimbursement under Title 36, chapter 919-A and the credit under Title 36,
section 5219-Y.

Sec. 4. 5 MRSA 813090-L, sub-84, as amended by PL 2011, c. 285, 81, is
further amended to read:

4. Certified visual media production repert reports. No later than 4 8 weeks
after completion of principal photography for a certified visual media production, the
visual media production company shall report, in a format specified by the Maine
State Film Office or the department, its compliance with the requirements of
subsection 3 with respect to the certified visual media production to the Maine State
Film Office. No later than 8 weeks after completion of the postproduction period for
a certified visual media production, a visual media production company seeking




credit for visual media production expenses incurred in the postproduction period
shall can report to the Maine State Film Office, in a format specified by the Maine
State Film Office or the department, its compliance with the requirements of
subsection 3 with respect to the certified visual media production.

Sec. 5. 36 MRSA 85219-Y, as amended by PL 2011, c. 240, 837, is further
amended to read:

§5219-Y. Certified visual media production credit

1. Credit allowed. A visual media production company, as defined in Title 5,
section 13090-L, subsection 2-A, paragraph E, is allowed a credit against the taxes
imposed by this Part in an amount equal to 5% 25% of its nonwage visual media
production expensesas-defined-inTitle 5. section-13090-L-subsection 2-A;
paragraph-F- incurred with respect to a certified visual media production as defined
in section 6901, subsection 1, if the visual media production company has visual
media production expenses of $75;000 $25,000 or more with respect to that certified
visual media production. For purposes of this section, "nonwage visual media
production expenses" means visual media production expenses as defined in Title 5,
section 13090-L, subsection 2-A, paragraph F, except that "nonwage visual media
production expenses" does not include certified production wages as defined in
section 6901, subsection 2 or any amount that would be included in certified
production wages but for the $506,000 $75,000 limit provided by section 6901,
subsection 2.

A visual media production company is allowed the following additional credits
against the taxes imposed by this Part if it demonstrates in the certified visual media
production report required under Title 5, section 13090-L, subsection 4 that it has
satisfied the requirements for the additional credit:

A. A 3% credit if a portion of the filming occurred in Aroostook County, Franklin
County, Kennebec County, Oxford County, Penobscot County, Piscataquis
County, Somerset County or Washington County;

B. A 2% credit if the screenplay or story is set in the State; or

C. A 2% creditif the lead cast member, writer or director is a resident of the
State.

The increase under this subsection may not exceed 5% in the aggregate of the

visual media production expenses for a certified visual media production and the
cumulative credit allowed under this section may not exceed 30% of the visual
media production expenses incurred with respect to a certified visual media

production.
2. L|m|tat|on The credlt aIIowed by this sectlon ma%neueduee%hem

/ is nontransferable




and may not be carried forward to subsequent taxable years. The credit is
refundable in an amount equal to 95% of the amount of the credit otherwise
available for the taxable year in which the certified visual media production, as
defined in section 6901, subsection 1, is completed. Taxpayers claiming a credit
under section 5219-W are not eligible for this credit.

A visual media production company may not receive cumulative credits under this
section and section 6902 for visual media production expenses incurred and certified
production wages paid with respect to a certified visual media production in excess
of $500,000 for taxable years beqginning prior to January 1, 2023, $750,000 for
taxable years beginning prior to January 1, 2026 and $1,000,000 for taxable years
beqginning after January 1, 2026. For purposes of this section, episodic television is
considered one project, or one overall certified visual media production, per standard
televised season. A visual media production company may not receive cumulative
credits under this section and section 6902 for episodic television visual media
production incurred and certified production wages paid with respect to an episodic
television certified visual media production in excess of $1,500,000 for taxable years
beqginning prior to January 1, 2023, $2,000,000 for taxable years beginning prior to
January 1, 2026 and $2,500,000 for taxable years beginning after January 1, 2026.

Sec. 6. 36 MRSA 86901, sub-82, as amended by PL 2013, c. 546, 816, is
further amended to read:

2. Certified production wages. "Certified production wages" means wages
subject to withholding under section 5250, subsection 1 that are paid by a visual
media production company through a payroll company for work on a certified visual
media production, an amount paid to a temporary employee-leasing company for
personal services rendered in this State by a leased employee in connection with a
certified visual media production, an amount paid for the services of a performing
artist working in the State in connection with a certified visual media production and
other contractual payments for the services of individuals working in the State in
connection with a certified visual media production. "Certified production wages"
includes only the first $56,000 $75,000 paid to or with respect to a particular
individual for personal serwces rendered in connectlon W|th a particular certlfled
visual medla productlon A :

Sec. 7. 36 MRSA 86902, sub-81, as amended by PL 2011, c. 240, 846, is
further amended to read:

1. Generally. A visual media production company is allowed a reimbursement
m%heiepmeﬁerta;eepedﬁ credlt aqalnst the taxes |mposed by this Part |n an amount
equal to 0 A .




A. Twenty-five percent of certified production wages paid to or with respect to
above-the-line personnel who are residents of Maine;

B. Twenty-five percent of certified production wages paid to or with respect to
below-the-line personnel who are residents of Maine; and

C. Twenty percent of certified production wages paid to or with respect to below-
the-line personnel who are not residents of Maine, except that this credit is
reduced to: 15% of wages paid within the taxable year beginning January 1,
2023, 10% of wages paid within the taxable year beginning January 1, 2024 and
5% of wages paid within the taxable year beqginning January 1, 2025. This credit
is not available for wages paid after the taxable year beginning January 1, 2026.

For the purposes of this subsection, "above-the-line personnel” means producers,
directors, writers and cast members and "below-the-line personnel" means
individuals who are not above-the-line personnel, including production and
postproduction staff and background performers.

The credit allowed by this section is hontransferable and may not be carried forward.
The credit is refundable in an amount equal to 95% of the amount of the credit
otherwise available for the taxable year in which the certified visual media production
is completed. Taxpayers claiming a credit under section 5219-W are not eligible for
this credit.

A visual media production company may not receive cumulative credits under this
section and section 5219-Y for certified production wages paid and visual media
production expenses incurred with respect to a certified visual media production in
excess of $500,000 for taxable years beginning prior to January 1, 2023, $750,000
for taxable years beginning prior to January 1, 2026 and $1,000,000 for taxable
years beginning after January 1, 2026. For purposes of this section, episodic
television is considered one project, or one overall certified visual media production,
per standard televised season. A visual media production company may not receive
cumulative credits under this section and section 6902 for episodic television visual
media production incurred and certified production wages paid with respect to an
episodic television certified visual media production in excess of $1,500,000 for
taxable years beqginning prior to January 1, 2023, $2,000,000 for taxable years
beqginning prior to January 1, 2026 and $2,500,000 for taxable years beginning after
January 1, 2026.




