
1 

OPLA RESEARCH REQUEST MEMO 

 

To: Karen Nadeau, Legislative Analyst, Commission to Increase Housing Opportunities in Maine by Studying 

Land Use Regulations and Short-term Rentals 

From: Kristin Brawn, Legislative Researcher 

Date: September 22, 2022 

RE: Other States’ Short-Term Rental Laws 

 

 

Hi Karen, 

 

You asked me to find out what states have enacted laws that apply to the regulation of short-term rentals (STRs) 

statewide. Several states, including Arizona, California, Colorado, Florida, Florida, Idaho, Indiana, 

Massachusetts, New York, Tennessee, Virginia, Washington and Wisconsin have enacted laws regarding STRs. 

In these states, the type of legislation that has been enacted includes the statewide registration/licensure of STRs, 

other statewide requirements of STRs, prohibitions on local bans of STRs, authorization of local regulation of 

STRs, prohibition of certain STRs and taxation of STRs. 

 

I. Statewide Registration/Licensure of STRs 

 

A. Massachusetts 

In 2019, Massachusetts enacted Acts of 2018, Chapter 337, which requires all STR properties to be registered 

with the state’s Executive Office of Housing and Economic Development, and directs the Office to oversee 

and implement the regulations for the statewide registry. The law also requires STR hosts to have at least $1 

million of liability insurance for each STR, unless a third-party platform already maintains equal or greater 

coverage for the host. 

 

B. Florida 

Florida law (Fla. Stats. §§509.013, 509.241 and 509.242) requires a “transient public lodging establishment,” 

which is rented to guests more than 3 times in a calendar year for periods of less than 30 days or one calendar 

month, or which is advertised or held out to the public as a place regularly rented to guests, to obtain a license 

from the Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation, Vacation Rental and Timeshare Project 

Licensing Division. These licenses fall under two main categories: Vacation Rental – Condominium, which is 

issued for a group of units or a singular unit in a condominium complex or a cooperative; or Vacation Rental 

– Dwelling, which includes single-family, two-family, three-family or four-family house or dwelling units 

that are not a timeshare project.   

 

C. Wisconsin 

Wisconsin law (Wis. Stat. §66.1014) requires any person who maintains, manages or operates an STR for 

more than 10 nights each year to obtain a license as a tourist rooming house from the state Department of 

Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection.  

 

II. Other Statewide Requirements of STRs 

 

A. Washington 

Washington law (RCW 64.44.010 and 64.44.020) includes transient accommodations as property subject to 

reporting hazardous chemical contamination to the state Department of Health. 

 

III. Prohibitions on Local Bans and Authorization for Local Regulation of STRs 

 

A. Arizona  

Arizona law (A.R.S. §9-500.39) prohibits a city or town from banning STRs or for restricting the use of or 

regulating STRs based on their classification, use or occupancy. However, the law does allow local regulation 

https://malegislature.gov/Laws/SessionLaws/Acts/2018/chapter337
http://www.leg.state.fl.us/Statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&URL=0500-0599/0509/0509.html
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/66/x/1014
https://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=64.44.010
https://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=64.44.020
https://www.azleg.gov/ars/9/00500-39.htm
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of STRs for the protection of the public’s health and safety; adopting and enforcing residential use and zoning 

ordinances, including ordinances related to noise, protection of welfare, property maintenance and other 

nuisance issues; limiting or prohibiting the use of an STR for the purposes of housing sex offenders, operating 

or maintaining a sober living home, selling illegal drugs, liquor control or pornography, obscenity, nude or 

topless dancing and other adult-oriented businesses; or requiring the owner of an STR to provide emergency 

contact information.  

 

Recently enacted legislation (SB 1168) further expands local regulatory authority to allow a city or town to 

require an owner of an STR to obtain and maintain a local regulatory permit or license; to require, before 

offering an STR for the first time, the owner to notify all single-family residential properties adjacent to, 

directly and diagonally across the street from the STR; to require the owner to display the local regulatory 

permit or license number on each advertisement for an STR; and to require the STR to maintain liability 

insurance of at least $500,000 or to advertise and offer the rental through an online lodging marketplace that 

provides equal or greater coverage. 

 

B. California 

California law (Gov. Code §25132) imposes fines for violation of local STR ordinances. Recently enacted 

legislation (SB 60) raised the maximum fines for violations of short-term rental ordinances. If the infraction 

poses a threat to health or safety, a county or city government may charge up to $1,500 for the first violation, 

$3,000 for the second violation of the same ordinance within one year, and $5,000 for each additional violation 

of the same ordinance within one year. 

 

C. Colorado 

In 2020, Colorado enacted legislation (HB 20-1093) that grants a board of county commissioners the authority 

to license and regulate properties advertised and rented as STRs and to fix the fees, terms and manner for 

issuing and revoking licenses. 

 

D. Florida 

In addition to requiring licensure of STRs, Florida law (Fla. Stats. §509.032) also prohibits any local law, 

ordinance or regulation from banning STRs entirely or regulating the length of stays or their frequency. 

However, the law does allow local governments to conduct inspections of public lodging establishments for 

compliance with state building and fire prevention codes. The law also allows regulations exclusively relating 

to property valuation as a criterion for vacation rental if the regulation is required to be approved by the state 

land planning agency because the rental is located in an area with a critical state concern designation.  

 

E. Idaho 

Idaho law (Idaho Stat. §67-6539) prohibits a county or city from enacting or enforcing an ordinance that “has 

the express or practical effect” of prohibiting STRs. However, the county or city may implement regulations 

necessary to safeguard public health, safety and general welfare in order to “protect the integrity of residential 

neighborhoods” in which the STRs operate. The law also prohibits a county or city from regulating “the 

operation of a short-term rental marketplace.” 

 

F. Indiana 

Indiana law (IC 36-1-24) prohibits bans on owner-occupied STRs by any zoning ordinance or classification of 

a unit that permits residential use, as well as certain bans on non-owner-occupied STRs. The law does allow a 

local law or plan that regulates, prohibits or limits STRs only for the following primary purposes: protection of 

the public’s health and safety related to fire and building safety, sanitation, transportation, traffic control and 

pollution control if enforcement applies to similar properties that are not STRs; residential use and zoning 

related to noise, protection of welfare, property maintenance and nuisance issues; to limit or prohibit the use of 

STRs to house sex offenders, to operate a structured sober living home, to manufacture, exhibit, distribute or 

sell illegal drugs, liquor, pornography or obscenity, to operate an adult entertainment establishment; to limit or 

prohibit STRs located within a conservancy district; and to provide an emergency contact for an STR. The law 

also allows for a locality to require an owner to obtain a permit for each STR property. 

 

https://www.azleg.gov/ars/9/00500-39.htm
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=GOV&sectionNum=25132.
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/billNavClient.xhtml?bill_id=202120220SB60
https://leg.colorado.gov/sites/default/files/2020a_1093_signed.pdf
http://www.leg.state.fl.us/Statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&URL=0500-0599%2F0509%2FSections%2F0509.032.html
https://legislature.idaho.gov/statutesrules/idstat/title67/t67ch65/sect67-6539/
https://law.justia.com/codes/indiana/2021/title-36/article-1/chapter-24/


3 

G. Tennessee  

Tennessee law (Tenn. Code §13-7-603) states that an ordinance, resolution, regulation, rule, or other 

requirement that prohibits, effectively prohibits, or otherwise regulates the use of property as an STR does not 

apply if the property was being used as an STR by the owner of the property prior to the enactment of that 

ordinance, resolution, regulation, rule, or other requirement by the local governing body. The ordinance, 

resolution, regulation, rule, or other requirement in effect at the time the property began being used as an STR 

is the law that governs the use of the property until the property is sold, transferred, ceases being used as an 

STR for a period of 30 continuous months or has been in violation of a generally applicable local law three or 

more separate times. 

 

H. Virginia 

Virginia law (Code of Va. §15.2.983) authorizes any locality, by ordinance, to establish an STR registry and 

require operators within the locality to register annually. 

 

I. Wisconsin 

In addition to requiring licensure of certain STRs, Wisconsin law (Wis. Stat. §66.1014) prohibits local 

governments from banning the rental of an STR for a period of time of seven consecutive days or more. 

However, if a residential dwelling is rented for periods of more than six but fewer than 30 consecutive days, a 

political subdivision may limit the total number of days within any consecutive 365-day period that the 

dwelling may be rented to no fewer than 180 days. 

 

IV. Prohibition of Certain STRs 

 

A. New York 

New York law (MDW §4) prohibits individuals from renting out non-owner-occupied apartments for fewer 

than 30 days, and prohibits any advertising of these units as STRs. 

 

V. Taxation of STRs 

According to information from the National Conference of State Legislatures, many states’ laws provide for the 

taxation of STRs. According to the Bloomberg Tax 2018 Survey of State Tax Departments, 25 states require 

owners of STRs to collect sales tax, while 14 states require the third-party facilitator, such as Airbnb or VRBO, to 

collect sales tax. Some states also allow local tax of STRs. For example, Wisconsin enacted legislation in 2021 (S 

198), which allows municipalities to enact ordinances imposing a tax, not to exceed 8% of the sales price, from 

selling or furnishing of rooms or lodging by owners of STRs. 

 

More state-specific information regarding taxation is not provided in this memo, as the main focus was to identify 

laws that concerned statewide regulation of STRs; however, if the Commission would like to have more detailed 

information regarding how other states approach state and/or local taxation of STRs, that information can be 

provided at a future meeting.  

https://law.justia.com/codes/tennessee/2021/title-13/chapter-7/part-6/section-13-7-603/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/15.2-983/
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/66/x/1014
http://public.leginfo.state.ny.us/lawssrch.cgi?NVLWO:
https://www.ncsl.org/Portals/1/Documents/legisbriefs/2018/September/ShortRentals_Sep2018_35_v01.pdf
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/2021/related/acts/55.pdf
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/2021/related/acts/55.pdf

