
Comparing FML, EPL and F&MLA 

 

Maine Family Medical Leave 

• Provides up to 10 weeks of unpaid leave in any 2 years 

• Applies to worksites with 15 or more employees 

• Employee must be employed by same employer for 12 consecutive months to be eligible for 

leave 

• Employee must give at least 30 days’ advance notice of intended use 

• Employer may require doctors note or equivalent from a recognized church or spiritual leader 

• Leave must be for 

o Serious health condition of the employee, employee’s child, domestic partner, domestic 

partner’s child, grandchild, domestic partners grandchild, parent, sibling, or spouse 

o Birth of employee’s child or domestic partner’s child 

o Adoption of child 16 years of age or less with the employee or employee’s domestic 

partner 

o Organ donation of that employee for human organ transplant 

o Death or serious health condition of employee’s spouse, domestic partner, parent, 

sibling, child if event occurs while on active duty as a member of the state military 

forces 

MDOL has no enforcement authority for Maine’s FML.  Employee must pursue private right of action if 

they feel their rights under this law were violated. 

 

Maine’s Earned Paid Leave 

• Provides up to 40 hours of paid leave per year 

• Accrued leave may be taken by the employee for any reason 

• Applies to employers (as defined in 26 MRS 1043 (9) that employ more than 10 employees for 

more than 120 days in any calendar year 

• Employee must be employed by same employer for 120 days during a one-year period before 

they are entitled to use the accrued leave 

• Employer must allow use for emergencies, illness, sudden necessity, or planned leave 

• Employer can require 4 weeks advance notice for planned leave and notice as soon as practical 

for emergencies, illness, or sudden necessity. 

• Employer cannot require doctor’s note unless leave is for 3 or more consecutive days 

Employee is entitled to use accrued EPL for an emergency, illness, or sudden necessity whether eligible 

for FML or not. 

MDOL has sole enforcement authority regarding EPL. Employees cannot pursue a private right of action. 
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Federal Family and Medical Leave 

• Provides up to 12 weeks of unpaid leave in any 12-month period 

• Applies to worksites with 50 or more employees 

• Employee must be employed by same employer for 12 consecutive months and have at least 

1,250 hours of service to be eligible for leave 

• Employee must give at least 30 days’ advance notice of intended use 

• Employees do not have to share a medical diagnosis, but must provide enough information to 

the employer so it can determine if the leave qualifies for FMLA protection. 

• Leave must be for 

o The birth of a child or placement of a child for adoption or foster care 

o To bond with a child (leave must be taken within one year of the child’s birth or 

placement) 

o To care for the employee’s spouse, child, or parent who has a qualifying serious health 

condition 

o For the employee’s own qualifying serious health condition that makes the employee 

unable to perform the employee’s job 

o For qualifying exigencies related to the foreign deployment of a military member who is 

the employee’s spouse, child, or parent 

Employees may file a complaint with the U.S. Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division, or may 

bring a private lawsuit against an employer. 

 

 

 

 

 


