CHAPTER 619

LIME, LIMEROCK, GRANITE AND SLATE

§3651. Lien for wages; preference

A person who digs, hauls or furnishes rock for the manufacture of lime has a lien on the lime for that person's personal service, and on the rock so furnished, for 30 days after the rock is manufactured into lime or until the lime is sold or shipped on board a vessel. A person who labors in quarrying or cutting and dressing granite in a quarry has a lien for that person's wages on all the granite quarried or cut and dressed in the quarry by that person or that person's co-laborers for 30 days after the granite is cut and dressed or until the granite is sold or shipped on board a vessel. A person who labors in mining, quarrying or manufacturing slate in a quarry has a lien for the wages of that person's labor on all slate mined, quarried or manufactured in the quarry by that person or that person or that person's co-laborers for 30 days after the slate arrives at the port of shipment and until it has been shipped on board a vessel or laden in a car. The liens take precedence over all other claims and may be enforced by attachment within the times in this section. [RR 2023, c. 2, Pt. C, §90 (COR).]

SECTION HISTORY

RR 2023, c. 2, Pt. C, §90 (COR).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the Second Regular Session of the 131st Legislature and is current through October 15, 2024. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.