### **CHAPTER 629**

## WATCHES, JEWELRY, CLOTHES, APPLIANCES AND MUSICAL INSTRUMENTS

## §3951. Automatic lien

- 1. Lien established. A person, partnership or corporation engaged in one or more of the following activities has a lien on the item that the activity involves for a reasonable compensation for any labor or materials expended on that item:
  - A. Making, altering, repairing or cleaning any watch, clock, jewelry, electric motor, major and traffic appliance, small motor not to exceed 20 horsepower, radio, electronic equipment, musical instrument, furniture, photograph, artwork, sports equipment and photography equipment; and [PL 1991, c. 41, §1 (NEW).]
- B. Cleaning, repairing or pressing clothes. [PL 1991, c. 41, §1 (NEW).] [PL 1991, c. 41, §1 (NEW).]
- **2.** Lien priority. A lien under this section takes precedence over all other claims and incumbrances.

[PL 1991, c. 41, §1 (NEW).]

3. Exemption from attachment. The item that is subject to a lien under this section is exempt from attachment or execution until the lien and the cost of enforcing it are satisfied. [PL 1991, c. 41, §1 (NEW).]

**SECTION HISTORY** 

PL 1987, c. 63, §1 (AMD). PL 1991, c. 41, §1 (RPR).

# §3952. Sale after 6 months

The lienholder shall retain any item subject to a lien under section 3951 for a period of 6 months, at the expiration of which time, if the lien is not satisfied, the lienholder may sell the item at public or private sale, after giving 30 days' notice in writing to the owner, specifying the amount due, describing the item to be sold and informing the owner that the payment of the amount within 30 days entitles the owner to redeem the item. The notice may be given by mail addressed to the owner's place of residence if known, or if the owner's place of residence is unknown, a copy of the notice may be posted by the holder of the lien in 2 public places in the town, village or city where the item is held. [PL 1991, c. 41, §2 (AMD).]

**SECTION HISTORY** 

PL 1987, c. 63, §2 (AMD). PL 1991, c. 41, §2 (AMD).

### §3953. Disposal of residue

After satisfying the lien and the reasonable costs and expenses accrued, the residue must be disposed of according to Title 33, chapter 45. [PL 2019, c. 498, §6 (AMD).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 1979, c. 641, §1 (RPR). PL 2003, c. 20, §T5 (AMD). PL 2019, c. 498, §6 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the Second Regular Session of the 131st Legislature and is current through October 15, 2024. The text is

subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.