§4851. Notice of sale

When judgment is recovered against a bridge, canal or other incorporated company with power to receive toll, its franchise may be sold on execution at public auction by giving notice of the time and place of sale by posting a notification in any town in which the treasurer, clerk or any officer thereof, if there are any officers, and if not, where any stockholder resides, for 30 days at least before the day of sale, and by causing an advertisement, naming the creditor thereon, to be inserted for 3 weeks successively in a newspaper of general circulation in a county where either of said officers, or, if the company is without officers, where any stockholder resides, the last publication being at least 4 days before the day of sale. [PL 1987, c. 667, §10 (AMD).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 1987, c. 667, §10 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the Second Regular Session of the 131st Legislature and is current through October 15, 2024. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.