§752-E. Crime victims; profits from crime

1. Limitation period. Actions based upon a criminal offense in which, as that offense is defined, there is a victim, as defined in Title 17-A, section 2101, subsection 2, brought by or on behalf of a victim against the offender must be commenced within the limitation period otherwise provided or within 3 years of the time the victim discovers or reasonably should have discovered any profits from the crime, whichever occurs later.

[PL 2019, c. 113, Pt. C, §27 (AMD).]

- 2. Notice to victims. A person or organization that knowingly pays or agrees to pay any profits from a criminal offense in which, as that offense is defined, there is a victim to a person charged with or convicted of that crime shall make reasonable efforts to notify every victim, as defined in Title 17-A, section 2101, subsection 2, of the payment or agreement to pay as soon as practicable after discovering that the payment or intended payment constitutes profits from the crime. Reasonable efforts must include, but are not limited to, seeking information about victims from court records and the prosecuting attorney and mailing notice by certified mail to victims whose address is known and publishing, at least once every 6 months for 3 years, in newspapers of general circulation in the area where the crime occurred a legal notice to unknown victims or victims whose address is unknown.

 [PL 2019, c. 113, Pt. C, §27 (AMD).]
- **3. Definition.** As used in this section, "profits from the crime" means any property obtained through or income generated from the commission of a crime; any property obtained by or income generated from the sale, conversion or exchange of proceeds of a crime, including any gain realized by such a sale, conversion or exchange; and any property that the offender obtained by committing the crime or income generated as a result of having committed the crime, including any assets obtained through the use of unique knowledge obtained during the commission of, or in preparation for the commission of, the crime, as well as any property obtained by or income generated from the sale, conversion or exchange of the property and any gain realized by such a sale, conversion or exchange. [PL 1997, c. 320, §1 (NEW).]
- **4.** Construction. Nothing in this section may be construed to expand civil liability or to restrict any defense to civil liability except as specified in subsection 1 with respect to the limitation period. [PL 1997, c. 320, §1 (NEW).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 1997, c. 320, §1 (NEW). PL 2019, c. 113, Pt. C, §27 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the Second Regular Session of the 131st Legislature and is current through October 15, 2024. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.