#### **CHAPTER 505**

### **TEACHERS' SALARIES**

# §13401. Equal pay

In assigning salaries to teachers of public schools, discrimination may not be made between male and female teachers with the same training and experience employed in the same grade or performing the same kinds of duties. [PL 1981, c. 693, §§ 5, 8 (NEW).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 1981, c. 693, §§5,8 (NEW).

## §13402. Minimum salaries

1. Minimum salary schedule.

[PL 1985, c. 505, §2 (RP).]

2. Increase.

[PL 2005, c. 635, §3 (RP).]

- **3. Substitute teachers.** Substitute teachers must be compensated at the rate of not less than \$30 for each day of service. Any substitute teacher under contract with the Maine Educational Center for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing and the Governor Baxter School for the Deaf is deemed for the purposes of civil liability to be an employee of a governmental entity under the Maine Tort Claims Act. [PL 2005, c. 279, §12 (AMD).]
- **4. Annuity contract premiums.** Money paid by a school administrative unit as a premium for an annuity contract for the benefit of an employee shall, for purposes of minimum salaries for teachers, be considered part of that employee's salary.

[PL 1981, c. 693, §§5, 8 (NEW).]

- **5. Reimbursement for additional professional training.** When a certified teacher completes, within any 2-year period, 6 credit hours of additional professional work approved by the superintendent, the school administrative unit shall pay that teacher not less than \$100. [PL 1981, c. 693, §§5, 8 (NEW).]
- **6. Permits or special licenses.** If the employment of teachers under permit or other special license is authorized by the commissioner, the commissioner may prescribe minimum salaries and other rules for this class of teachers.

[PL 1981, c. 693, §§5, 8 (NEW).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 1981, c. 693, §§5,8 (NEW). PL 1983, c. 520 (AMD). PL 1985, c. 505, §2 (AMD). PL 1995, c. 676, §7 (AMD). PL 1995, c. 676, §13 (AFF). PL 2005, c. 279, §12 (AMD). PL 2005, c. 635, §3 (AMD).

§13403. Recommended minimum salaries for 1986-87

(REPEALED)

**SECTION HISTORY** 

PL 1985, c. 505, §3 (NEW). PL 2005, c. 635, §4 (RP).

**§13404.** Minimum salaries for 1987-88

## (REPEALED)

SECTION HISTORY

PL 1985, c. 505, §3 (NEW). PL 2005, c. 635, §4 (RP).

§13405. Minimum salaries for 2006-2007

### (REPEALED)

SECTION HISTORY

PL 2005, c. 635, §5 (NEW). PL 2013, c. 506, §15 (RP).

# §13406. Minimum salaries for 2007 to 2019

Each school administrative unit shall establish a minimum salary of \$30,000 for certified teachers for the school year starting after June 30, 2007 and before July 1, 2020. [PL 2019, c. 343, Pt. UU, §1 (AMD).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 2005, c. 635, §6 (NEW). PL 2019, c. 343, Pt. UU, §1 (AMD).

## §13407. Minimum salaries beginning in 2020-2021 school year

Each school administrative unit shall establish a minimum salary for certified teachers and career and technical education teachers as follows: [PL 2021, c. 441, §1 (AMD).]

**1. School year 2020-2021.** For the school year starting after June 30, 2020, the minimum salary is \$35,000;

[PL 2019, c. 343, Pt. UU, §2 (NEW).]

- 2. School year 2021-2022. For the school year starting after June 30, 2021, the minimum salary for certified teachers and career and technical education teachers is \$37,500; and [PL 2021, c. 441, §1 (AMD).]
- **3. School years beginning in or after 2022.** For the school year starting after June 30, 2022, and in each subsequent school year, the minimum salary for certified teachers and career and technical education teachers is \$40,000.

[PL 2021, c. 441, §1 (AMD).]

A school administrative unit shall provide to the department annually on or before October 1st the number of certified teachers and career and technical education teachers eligible for incremental salary increases as defined in section 15689, subsection 7-A, paragraph A. [PL 2021, c. 441, §1 (AMD).]

#### SECTION HISTORY

PL 2019, c. 343, Pt. UU, §2 (NEW). PL 2021, c. 441, §1 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the Second Regular Session of the 131st Legislature and is current through October 15, 2024. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.