§2384-A. Advisory organization filing requirements

- 1. Filing. Every advisory organization shall file with the superintendent every pure premium, manual of rating rules, rating schedule and change, amendment or modification of the foregoing proposed for use in the State at least 30 days prior to the proposed effective date. [PL 1991, c. 885, Pt. B, §12 (NEW); PL 1991, c. 885, Pt. B, §13 (AFF).]
- **2. Effective date.** The superintendent may extend the proposed effective date for an additional period not to exceed 60 days if the superintendent gives written notice to the advisory organization that made the filing that the superintendent needs additional time for consideration of the filing. The superintendent may require any additional information necessary to evaluate the filing. [PL 1991, c. 885, Pt. B, §12 (NEW); PL 1991, c. 885, Pt. B, §13 (AFF).]
- **3. Disapproval.** The superintendent may disapprove, without hearing, an advisory organization filing that has not become effective if the pure premiums are excessive, inadequate or unfairly discriminatory or if the rating rules or rating procedure would produce premiums that are excessive, inadequate or unfairly discriminatory. If the pure premium rates, rating rules or rating schedule has been disapproved, the advisory organization must be notified of the reason for disapproval and must be given a hearing upon a written request made within 30 days after the disapproval order.

[PL 1991, c. 885, Pt. B, §12 (NEW); PL 1991, c. 885, Pt. B, §13 (AFF).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 1991, c. 885, §B12 (NEW). PL 1991, c. 885, §B13 (AFF).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the Second Regular Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through October 15, 2024. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.