§2696. Preexisting conditions

1. Exclusion based on preexisting condition limited after 12 months. Notwithstanding the provisions of section 2706, subsection 2, division (b), if an insurer elects to use a simplified application or enrollment form, with or without a question as to the prospective insured's health at the time of application or enrollment but without any questions concerning the prospective insured's health history or medical treatment history, the policy must cover any loss occurring after the policy has been in force for 12 months from any preexisting condition not specifically excluded from coverage by terms of the policy, and, except for such specific exclusions, the policy or certificate may not include wording that would permit a defense based upon preexisting conditions, other than rescission for affirmative misrepresentations, after it has been in force for 12 months.

[PL 2001, c. 410, Pt. C, §1 (NEW).]

2. Exclusion based on preexisting condition limited after 6 months. Notwithstanding the provisions of subsection 1 and section 2706, subsection 2, division (b), an insurer that issues a specified disease policy or certificate may not deny a claim for any covered loss that begins after the policy or certificate has been in force for at least 6 months, unless that loss results from a preexisting condition that was diagnosed by a physician before the date of application for coverage or that first manifested itself within the 6 months immediately preceding the application date. Other defenses based upon preexisting conditions are not permitted except for rescission for misrepresentation. This subsection applies regardless of whether the policy or certificate is issued on the basis of a detailed application form, a simplified application form or an enrollment form.

[PL 2007, c. 199, Pt. G, §1 (AMD).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 2001, c. 410, §C1 (NEW). PL 2007, c. 199, Pt. G, §1 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the Second Regular Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through October 15, 2024. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.