§2706. Time limit on certain defenses

There shall be a provision as follows: [PL 1969, c. 132, §1 (NEW).]

Time limit on certain defenses: (a) After 3 years from the date of issue of this policy no misstatements, except fraudulent misstatements, made by the applicant in the application for such policy shall be used to void the policy or to deny a claim for loss incurred or disability, as defined in the policy, commencing after the expiration of such 3-year period. [PL 1969, c. 132, §1 (NEW).]

1. The foregoing policy provision shall not be so construed as to affect any legal requirement for avoidance of a policy or denial of a claim during such initial 3-year period, nor to limit the application of sections 2717 through 2723 in the event of misstatement with respect to age or occupation or other insurance.

[PL 1969, c. 132, §1 (NEW).]

2. A policy which the insured has the right to continue in force subject to its terms by the timely payment of premium 1 until at least age 50 or, 2 in the case of a policy issued after age 44, for at least 5 years from its date of issue, may contain in lieu of the foregoing the following provision, from which the clause in parentheses may be omitted at the insurer's option, under the caption "Incontestable:" [PL 1969, c. 132, §1 (NEW).]

After this policy has been in force for a period of 3 years during the lifetime of the insured (excluding any period during which the insured is disabled), it shall become incontestable as to the statements contained in the application. [PL 1969, c. 132, §1 (NEW).]

(b) No claim for loss incurred or disability, as defined in the policy, commencing after 3 years from the date of issue of this policy shall be reduced or denied on the ground that a disease or physical condition not excluded from coverage by name or specific description effective on the date of loss had existed prior to the effective date of coverage of this policy. [PL 1969, c. 132, §1 (NEW).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 1969, c. 132, §1 (NEW).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the Second Regular Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through October 15, 2024. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.