§1303. Vision test requirements

- 1. Test requirement. A person must pass the vision portion of a license examination:
- A. At the time of the first license renewal after attaining 40 years of age; [PL 1993, c. 683, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 1993, c. 683, Pt. B, §5 (AFF).]
- B. At every 2nd license renewal after the renewal in paragraph A until attaining 62 years of age; and [PL 1995, c. 482, Pt. A, §22 (AMD).]
- C. At every license renewal after attaining 62 years of age. [PL 1995, c. 482, Pt. A, §22 (AMD).] [PL 1995, c. 482, Pt. A, §22 (AMD).]
 - **2. Exceptions.** In lieu of a test, a person may submit:
 - A. An acceptable certificate signed by a doctor, optometrist, registered nurse or other person approved by the Secretary of State, setting forth the person's visual acuity in each eye and field of vision. The certificate must indicate that it is based on an examination completed within one year of the date of application; or [PL 2017, c. 229, §20 (AMD).]
- B. Satisfactory evidence of a valid Interstate Commerce Commission driver's license issued within the past year. [PL 1993, c. 683, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 1993, c. 683, Pt. B, §5 (AFF).] [PL 2017, c. 229, §20 (AMD).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 1993, c. 683, §A2 (NEW). PL 1993, c. 683, §B5 (AFF). PL 1995, c. 482, §A22 (AMD). PL 2017, c. 229, §20 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the Second Regular Session of the 131st Legislature and is current through October 15, 2024. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.