§1761. Certified inspection mechanics

- 1. **Performance of inspection.** No person other than a holder of an inspection mechanic certificate may perform an inspection or issue or sign a certificate of inspection. [PL 1993, c. 683, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 1993, c. 683, Pt. B, §5 (AFF).]
- **1-A. Application and examination.** A person may submit an application with the required fee under subsection 3 for an inspection mechanic certificate to the Department of Public Safety, Bureau of State Police and complete the examination up to 6 months prior to the person's 18th birthday. The Bureau of State Police may process the application and test the applicant up to 6 months prior to the applicant's 18th birthday but may not issue the certificate until the applicant is 18 years of age. [PL 2003, c. 222, §1 (NEW).]
- **2.** Requirements for inspection mechanic certification. To receive an inspection mechanic certificate, an applicant must:
 - A. Pass a written or oral examination that is designed to test knowledge of motor vehicle inspection and the method of inspecting and testing motor vehicle equipment; and [PL 1993, c. 683, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 1993, c. 683, Pt. B, §5 (AFF).]
 - B. Be a person of honesty, integrity and reliability. [PL 1993, c. 683, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 1993, c. 683, Pt. B, §5 (AFF).]

[PL 1993, c. 683, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 1993, c. 683, Pt. B, §5 (AFF).]

- **3. Examination fee.** Applicants for inspection mechanic certification must pay to the Chief of the State Police a fee of \$1 for an application for examination or for renewal of a certificate. [PL 1993, c. 683, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 1993, c. 683, Pt. B, §5 (AFF).]
- **4. Term of certification.** An inspection mechanic certificate is valid for a period of 5 years from the date of issue.

[PL 1993, c. 683, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 1993, c. 683, Pt. B, §5 (AFF).]

5. Renewal. An examination is not required if application for a renewal is made within one year of expiration.

[PL 1993, c. 683, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 1993, c. 683, Pt. B, §5 (AFF).]

- 6. Remission of certificate. [PL 2009, c. 251, §5 (RP).]
- **7. Notification of change in place of employment.** Prior to inspecting vehicles for a new employer, the holder of an inspection mechanic certificate shall notify the Chief of the State Police of a change of place of employment.

[PL 1993, c. 683, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 1993, c. 683, Pt. B, §5 (AFF).]

8. Testing in parking area. Notwithstanding sections 1251, 1252 and 1253, a certified inspection mechanic who has a valid operator's license of any class may operate a motor vehicle in a parking area adjacent to an official inspection station for the purpose of testing equipment as required by the rules adopted pursuant to this chapter.

[PL 1993, c. 683, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 1993, c. 683, Pt. B, §5 (AFF).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 1993, c. 683, §A2 (NEW). PL 1993, c. 683, §B5 (AFF). PL 2003, c. 222, §1 (AMD). PL 2009, c. 251, §5 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the Second Regular Session of the 131st Legislature and is current through October 15, 2024. The text is

subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.