§1906. Clearance lights

1. Requirements for vehicle 7 feet or more in width. A vehicle 7 feet or more in width must have a green or amber light attached to the extreme left of the front, adjusted to indicate the extreme left lateral extension of the vehicle or load and at least one red light on the extreme left lateral extension of the rear.

[PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. Q, §22 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. X, §2 (AFF).]

2. Requirements for closed body vehicle 8 feet or more in height. A vehicle with a closed body 8 feet or more in height must display 2 green or amber lights attached to the extreme left of the front of its body, one at the top and the other at the bottom. The vehicle must also display at least one red light on the extreme upper left lateral extension of its body.

[PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. Q, §22 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. X, §2 (AFF).]

3. Visibility. Body width lights and height lights must be visible not less than 200 feet in the direction towards which the vehicle is proceeding or facing.

[PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. Q, §22 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. X, §2 (AFF).]

4. **Reflector alternative.** In place of body width lights and height lights, a vehicle may be equipped with an adequate reflector conforming as to color and location to the requirements for the light.

[PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. Q, §22 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. X, §2 (AFF).]

5. Application. This section does not apply to unregistered farm tractors. [PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. Q, §22 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. X, §2 (AFF).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 1993, c. 683, §A2 (NEW). PL 1993, c. 683, §B5 (AFF). PL 2003, c. 452, §Q22 (RPR). PL 2003, c. 452, §X2 (AFF).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the Second Regular Session of the 131st Legislature and is current through October 15, 2024. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.