§2206. Renewals

The license of every registered nurse licensed under this chapter is renewable every 2 years, except as otherwise provided. At least 30 days before the date that the license expires, the board shall mail an application for renewal of license to each professional nurse who holds a valid license. The application must be mailed to the most recent address of that individual as it appears on the records of the board. That individual shall complete the renewal application and return it to the board with the renewal fee designated by the board, but not to exceed \$100, before the expiration date of the license. Upon receipt of the application and fee, the board shall verify the accuracy of the application and issue to the applicant a renewal of license for a period of 2 years, expiring on the anniversary of the applicant's birth. [PL 1993, c. 600, Pt. A, §129 (AMD).]

A registered nurse who fails to renew the license as provided may be reinstated by the board on satisfactory explanation for failure to renew the license and on payment of a reinstatement fee of \$10 in addition to the current renewal fee. [PL 1993, c. 600, Pt. A, §129 (AMD).]

An individual practicing professional nursing during the time the individual's license has lapsed is considered an illegal practitioner and is subject to the penalties provided for violations of this chapter. [PL 1993, c. 600, Pt. A, §129 (AMD).]

An individual who is not engaged in professional nursing in the State is not required to pay a renewal fee for as long as the individual does not practice but shall notify the board of inactive status in writing. Prior to resumption of the practice of professional nursing, that individual is required to notify the board and remit a renewal fee for the current period. [PL 1993, c. 600, Pt. A, §129 (AMD).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 1965, c. 206, §1 (AMD). PL 1969, c. 26, §§1,2 (AMD). PL 1975, c. 114, §§1,2 (AMD). PL 1983, c. 176, §A13 (RPR). PL 1985, c. 724, §§20,21 (AMD). PL 1989, c. 609, §§3,4 (AMD). PL 1991, c. 153, §2 (AMD). PL 1991, c. 153, §5 (AFF). PL 1993, c. 600, §A129 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the Second Regular Session of the 131st Legislature and is current through October 15, 2024. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.