## §551. Examination and licensure

An individual, before engaging in the practice of chiropractic in this State, shall submit an application for a license to practice chiropractic together with the license fee as set under section 558. Each applicant must be at least 18 years of age and present proof of 2 years' satisfactory attendance at a college of liberal arts. A candidate for licensure shall present a transcript from an accredited college or university certifying that the candidate has completed 2 years of preprofessional work, 2 subjects of which must be English and biology, or otherwise satisfy the members of the board that the candidate has acquired sufficient prior academic education. The applicant shall present a diploma granted by a legally chartered chiropractic college, school or university in good standing and having the power to confer degrees in chiropractic, which diploma must show that it was granted on personal attendance of the applicant and completion of a course of 4 school years of not less than 8 months each and of a total of 4,400 60-minute school hours. If an applicant matriculated in a chiropractic college on or after January 1, 1984, the diploma must show that it was granted by a chiropractic college accredited by a chiropractic educational accrediting agency approved by the United States Department of Education or its successor agency or, if no accrediting agency exists, approved by the board, or the applicant must have evidence of having successfully passed a licensing procedure from another state having similar requirements. If an applicant matriculated in a chiropractic college before January 1, 1984, the diploma must show that it was granted by a chiropractic college accredited as set out in this section, or the applicant must present evidence of having become a diplomat of the National Board of Chiropractic Examiners or of having successfully passed a licensing procedure from another state having similar requirements. Each applicant shall demonstrate trustworthiness and competence by such means as the board may require in its application form. [PL 2007, c. 402, Pt. H, §10 (AMD).]

## SECTION HISTORY

PL 1969, c. 433, §78 (AMD). PL 1971, c. 598, §68 (AMD). PL 1973, c. 405, §1 (AMD). PL 1977, c. 220, §1 (AMD). PL 1983, c. 176, §A10 (AMD). PL 1987, c. 74, §1 (AMD). PL 1991, c. 392, §7 (AMD). PL 1993, c. 600, §A48 (AMD). PL 2005, c. 262, §A3 (AMD). PL 2007, c. 402, Pt. H, §10 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the Second Regular Session of the 131st Legislature and is current through October 15, 2024. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.