## §2959. Injunctions and civil penalties

1. Injunction. In addition to any other remedy set forth in this chapter for the enforcement of this chapter or any rule, order or decision of the commission, the Superior Court has jurisdiction upon complaint filed by the commission, or any person duly authorized to act for the commission, including, but not limited to, its executive secretary, to restrain or enjoin any person from committing any act prohibited by this chapter or prohibited by any rule, order or decision of the commission. If it is established upon hearing that the person charged has been or is committing any unlawful act under this chapter or is in violation of any rule, order or decision of the commission, the court shall enter a decree enjoining that person from committing further such violations. In case of violation of any injunction issued under this section, the court shall summarily try and punish the person for contempt of court. The existence of other civil or criminal remedies is no defense to this proceeding. The commission or its authorized agent may not be required to give or post a bond when making an application for an injunction under this section.

[PL 2005, c. 382, Pt. F, §19 (AMD).]

- **2.** Civil penalties. Any person who violates any provision of this chapter or of any rule, order or decision of the commission shall be subject to the following civil penalties, to be collected by the commission in a civil action:
  - A. For the first violation, a civil penalty not to exceed \$1,000; and [PL 1985, c. 717, §4 (NEW).]
  - B. For each subsequent violation, a civil penalty not to exceed \$2,000. [PL 1985, c. 717, §4 (NEW).]

All penalties collected by the commission shall be paid to the Treasurer of State for deposit to the General Fund.

[PL 1985, c. 717, §4 (NEW).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 1985, c. 717, §4 (RPR). PL 2005, c. 382, §F19 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the Second Regular Session of the 131st Legislature and is current through October 15, 2024. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.