CHAPTER 309

DAMAGES

§1451. Protests of bills

Damages on protests of bills of exchange of \$100 or more, payable by the acceptor, drawer or indorser of a bill in this State are, if payable at a place 75 miles distant, 1%; if payable in the state of New York or in any state northerly of it and not in this State, 3%; if payable in any Atlantic state or territory southerly of New York and northerly of Florida, 6%; and in any other state or territory, 9%.

§1452. Actions on covenant; encumbrance as dower; assignment and measure of damages

In an action for breach of covenant against encumbrances contained in a deed of real estate, when the encumbrance is a right of dower, if such dower has been assigned and not released, the value thereof shall be the measure of damages; but if it has been demanded and not assigned, the court, on application of the plaintiff, shall cite the claimant of dower to appear and become a party by personal service made 14 days before the date set for such appearance. If she does not appear or if she appears and refuses to release such right, the court shall appoint 3 commissioners to assign the same, who shall proceed in the manner provided for commissioners appointed under chapter 719 to make partition. When their report is made and accepted by the court, it is a legal assignment of dower and the value thereof is the measure of damages in said action.

§1454. Cost of replacement motor vehicles

In any action where recovery is sought for the destruction or damage of a motor vehicle, the owner of such motor vehicle shall be entitled to recover reasonable rental costs actually expended for a replacement motor vehicle during such time, not to exceed 45 days, as the damaged motor vehicle could not be operated or during such time, not to exceed 45 days, as is required to obtain a replacement motor vehicle for the destroyed motor vehicle. [PL 1989, c. 623 (AMD).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 1969, c. 263 (NEW). PL 1989, c. 623 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the Second Regular Session of the 131st Legislature and is current through October 15, 2024. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.