§5165. Vote to redeem prior mortgage and assessments

If any part of the property or franchise is subject to a prior mortgage, the new corporation, at a legal meeting called for that purpose, may vote to redeem the property or franchise and make an assessment on all holders of stock, certificates for fractions of stock, bonds or coupons in the corporation in proportion to their amounts. The directors shall immediately assess the sum and fix a time and place for the payment of it to the treasurer, who shall publish notice accordingly 6 weeks successively in some newspaper, if any, in each of the counties where the road extends, the last publication to be at least 2 weeks before the time fixed for payment. [PL 1987, c. 141, Pt. A, §4 (NEW).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 1987, c. 141, §A4 (NEW).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the Second Regular Session of the 131st Legislature and is current through October 15, 2024. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.