CHAPTER 413

SUBMISSION OF SEXUAL ASSAULT CASES FOR REVIEW FOR PROSECUTION

§3871. Submission of sexual assault cases for review for prosecution

A law enforcement agency in possession of a complaint for an alleged sexual assault under Title 17-A, chapter 11 shall within 60 days of receiving the complaint inform the appropriate prosecutor of any evidence and submit the complaint for review and a decision by the prosecutor regarding further investigation and commencement of prosecution. Failure of a law enforcement agency to inform the appropriate prosecutor of any evidence and submit a complaint to the appropriate prosecutor within 60 days as required by this section does not affect the validity of a later submission and prosecution. [PL 2019, c. 80, §1 (NEW); RR 2019, c. 1, Pt. A, §29 (RAL).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 2019, c. 80, §1 (NEW). RR 2019, c. 1, Pt. A, §29 (RAL).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the Second Regular Session of the 131st Legislature and is current through October 15, 2024. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.