§2504. Plaintiffs

- 1. Persons who may bring suit. Except as provided in subsection 2, any person who suffers damage, as provided in section 2508, may bring an action under this Act, against a server for negligently or recklessly serving liquor to an individual.
- [PL 1987, c. 45, Pt. A, §4 (NEW).]
- **2. Persons who may not bring suit.** The following may not bring an action under this Act against a server for negligently serving liquor to an individual:
 - A. The intoxicated individual if the intoxicated individual is at least 18 years of age when served by the server; [PL 2021, c. 658, §281 (AMD).]
 - B. The estate of the intoxicated individual if the intoxicated individual was at least 18 years of age when served by the server; and [PL 1987, c. 45, Pt. A, §4 (NEW).]
 - C. Any person asserting claims arising out of the personal injury or death of the intoxicated individual if the intoxicated individual was at least 18 years of age when served by the server. [PL 1987, c. 45, Pt. A, §4 (NEW).]

[PL 2021, c. 658, §281 (AMD).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 1987, c. 45, §A4 (NEW). PL 2021, c. 658, §281 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the Second Regular Session of the 131st Legislature and is current through October 15, 2024. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.