§2093. Snow and ice; duty of care

The operator of a vehicle with a registered weight under 10,000 pounds shall take reasonable measures to prevent snow or ice on the vehicle from falling off the vehicle while it is being operated on a public way. [PL 2023, c. 107, §1 (NEW).]

A violation of this section that causes damage or injury is a traffic infraction subject to a fine of not more than \$50 for a first offense and for which a fine of not less than \$150 and not more than \$250 may be adjudged for each subsequent offense. [PL 2023, c. 107, §1 (NEW).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 2023, c. 107, §1 (NEW).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the Second Regular Session of the 131st Legislature and is current through October 15, 2024. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.