§873. Advisory committee

(CONTAINS TEXT WITH VARYING EFFECTIVE DATES)

There is established a Franklin County Budget Advisory Committee comprised as follows. [PL 1991, c. 495 (NEW).]

1. (TEXT EFFECTIVE UNTIL 11/5/24) Municipal officers. Municipal officers within each commissioner district shall caucus and shall elect municipal officers from that district to fill vacancies as they arise, for terms as provided in paragraph A.

A. Members shall serve for 3-year terms, except that initially each district caucus shall select one member for a one-year term, one member for a 2-year term and one member for a 3-year term. There must be 3 members from each commissioner district. If a committee member ceases to be a municipal officer during the term of membership, the committee member shall resign the membership and the next district caucus shall elect a qualified municipal officer to fill the membership for the remainder of the unexpired term. [PL 1991, c. 495 (NEW).]

[PL 1991, c. 495 (NEW).]

1. (TEXT EFFECTIVE 11/5/24) Municipal officers. By April 1st of each year, municipal officers within each commissioner district shall caucus and shall elect municipal officers from that district to fill vacancies for terms as provided in paragraph B.

A. [PL 2023, c. 262, §1 (RP); PL 2023, c. 262, §5 (AFF).]

B. Each commissioner district has 2 permanent members. Members serve for 3-year terms. There is a rotating member who serves a one-year term, selected in 2025 by commissioner district one, selected in 2026 by commissioner district 2, selected in 2027 by commissioner district 3, selected in 2028 by commissioner district 4, selected in 2029 by commissioner district 5 and selected in 2030 and succeeding years in the same order as the first 5 years under this paragraph. If a committee member ceases to be a municipal officer during the term of membership, the committee member shall resign the membership and the next district caucus shall elect a qualified municipal officer to fill the membership for the remainder of the unexpired term. [PL 2023, c. 262, §1 (NEW); PL 2023, c. 262, §5 (AFF).]

[PL 2023, c. 262, §1 (AMD); PL 2023, c. 262, §5 (AFF).]

2. Legislative member. The Franklin County legislative delegation shall select one of the delegation's members to serve as a nonvoting member on the committee. [PL 1991, c. 495 (NEW).]

3. Committee chair. The committee shall select its own chair each year. [PL 1991, c. 495 (NEW).]

SECTION HISTORY

RR 1991, c. 1, §39 (COR). PL 1991, c. 204, §2 (NEW). PL 1991, c. 495 (NEW). PL 2023, c. 262, §1 (AMD). PL 2023, c. 262, §5 (AFF).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the Second Regular Session of the 131st Legislature and is current through October 15, 2024. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.